We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“a gem of a cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
The Coach House is situated in two acres of woodland on a private lane that leads up to the moors
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Coach House is situated in two acres of woodland on a private lane that leads up to the moors
the views from the Coach House over the surrounding countryside are stunning the Coach House is surrounded by decking on 3 sides with great views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
The Coach House is situated in two acres of woodland on a private lane that leads up to the moors
the views from the Coach House over the surrounding countryside are stunning
the Coach House is surrounded by decking on 3 sides with great views
The interior is bright and airy with fantastic views, especially from the bay.
The view from the cottage of the Cheviot Hills
The garden at the rear extends to over 2 acres
Level access via the garden gate, secure parking for cars. Garage parking for mobility scooters
We also take winter bookings!
fabulous sunsets
Horizon of the Otterburn ranges
On the hill behind the cottage
The Farne Islands
Bamburgh Castle
Coach House floor plan
New Year 2015 at the Coach House - Nuthatch
Roebuck in velvet 11.1.15.  Roe Deer graze on the lawns most days
We love our deer, but they are not supposed to do this!
The doe who will hopefully produce a couple of fawns around June time
May time
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Thropton, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
doosra201...
rotherham
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“a gem of a cottage”
Reviewed 19 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This is a lovely place to stay. You get a warm welcome from Graham the owner and his wife. Everything is thought about to make your stay better. The cottage is well maintained and the views are simply beautiful. There are comments about it overlooking the owners house, it does but does not spoil your stay as the owners are unobtrusive. The garden is lovely and the decked areas are lovely to sit out out on.
We had a lovely stay here and the dogs did too. We will certainly return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M
1 review
“Ideal 2 Person Get Away”
Reviewed 16 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Up a very quiet lane, own parking, large garden and decking areas with fantastic views. The house is well equipped and makes a great base for exploring the Northumberland coast and Hadrians wall. Sunsets at this time of year over Cheviots are superb on clear nights.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham E
1 review
“Northumbrian delight”
Reviewed 12 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Beautiful set in its own nature reserve,the Coach house is an unusual property which gives the impression of being in a treehouse. Clean, attractively furnished and well equipped,the studio and conservatory have a fantastic view over countryside towards the Cheviots. With extensive decking area it is ideal for solitude,relaxation or touring the attractive countryside and coast of Northumberland.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretG...
1 review
“Perfect escape”
Reviewed 13 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Perfect cosy retreat with well thought out accommodation. Tranquil location and amazing views. Loads to do nearby or just enjoy relaxing in the beautiful garden. The dogs loved it too!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David J
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Another fantastic stay at The Coach house”
Reviewed 12 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We've enjoyed five fantastic breaks at The Coach house over the past few years, but this recent stay was probably the most enjoyable and relaxing time we've spent. This was largely due to the recent upgrades and additional outdoor balcony space, which allows you to enjoy every aspect of the stunning view from morning to night. There just simply isn't enough time in a week to pack in all the places to see when staying in this great location, but we did enjoy time in the very nearby Rothbury; with it's plenty shops, restaurants, cafes and pubs. We also took full advantage of nearby walks; including the Simonside hills, which has a number of beautiful walks for all levels of walker. Thropton itself also has two pubs in very easy walking distance and although we didn't dine out here during this stay, we know from past experience that the Three Wheats heads pub serves lovely Sunday lunches. The Coach house itself is the perfect place to just get away and simply relax, which we certainly took full advantage of! It is always amazingly well equipped with everything that you could possibly need to enjoy a perfect get away. The owners (who live nearby) are wonderful and have thought of everything to help make every aspect of your stay perfect! We will certainly be returning again and again. Highly recommend!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing