We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Well presented property by the sea”
other travellers have booked this property
Master Bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Master Bedroom
Twin Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
Master Bedroom
Twin Room
Bathroom
Dining Room
Kitchen
Single Bedroom
Promenade
Boat Yard
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Newbiggin-by-the-Sea, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jreedoliv...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well presented property by the sea”
Reviewed 21 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A basket of goodies, a welcoming smile heralded the beginning of our stay. The Mules is a lovely cottage, spotlessly clean and well located - shops, pubs, golf course, restaurants and seaside prominard,all within easy walking distance. I would strongly recommend the Mules as a wonderful base for exploring the north east, we will be back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review....We really appreciate it. Looking forward to seeing you again ! Best wishes, Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne G
1 review
“Best of the best !”
Reviewed 15 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Beautiful house, extremely clean, lovely comfortable bed's, the welcome basket was fantastic, the best holiday home that we have ever stayed in, the owner's karen and david are lovely people, the beach is a couple of step's from the house, we loved everything and did not want to leave, and we will be back, newbiggin-by-the-sea is the place for me.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2015
Thank you for your kind review. We are very glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Newbiggin, and found The Mules comfortable. We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resa2201
Morecambe
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful cottage”
Reviewed 21 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

It is always such a relief to walk into a holiday cottage that is immaculately clean and tidy, but the icing on the cake is when it is also beautifully decorated and extremely
comfortable, and The Mules certainly lived up to expectations. Karen was very welcoming and the special extra touches of milk in the fridge and goodies in a basket were much appreciated.
We really loved being seconds away from the beach in one direction and shops in the other.
Wished we could have stayed longer than our three nights, will plan for a longer stay next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2015
I am very grateful for your lovely review. It was a pleasure having you stay at The Mules. I am delighted that you found the accommodation comfortable, and looking forward to you visiting us again x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anelaine
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very well appointed, extremely comfortable, Highly recommended accomodation”
Reviewed 26 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

have spent a fabulous weekend with friends in excellent accomodation. Extremely comfortable house, furnished and decorated to a very high standard with everything we could possibly need. Situation is perfect with only minutes from the beach. Newbiggin is quiet , but well situated for exploring the Northumberland coast. We would highly recommend the mules. Thank you, Karen, for the personal welcome and we will be back. You have made us so welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jan 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and found The Mules comfortable. It was a pleasure, and I hope to see you all again. Best wishes, Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carrowe
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“So good, we are booking again next year !”
Reviewed 12 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

It's not often you look at photos of a property and then when you get there find out the photos did not do it justice ! Well not until you visit The Mules !!
This is a beautiful house, very tastefully decorated with just the right mix of modern and period touches. It was spotlessly clean, very warm and inviting.
It's a bit like Doctor Who's tardis, a lot bigger on the inside ! The lovely open lounge/diner is roomy but still feels cosy.
The master bedroom is very large and very comfortable with beautiful furniture, as are the other bedrooms.
The owner, Karen, is very accommodating and is excellent at communication both before arrival and during the stay. The bedding and towels are changed weekly by the owner and she left us treats, biscuits or chocolates whenever she came !
The property is virtually seconds walk from the beach and there are several takeaways right on your doorstep, along with shops, chemist, cashpoint etc
Staying at this property you will want for nothing !
In fact, I'm in second mind whether to post this review, I may just keep this little secret gem all to myself !!

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Dec 2014
What a lovely review, thank you so much. I am really glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you next year. Best wishes Karen x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing