We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home”
other travellers have booked this property
Front entrance and parking/patio area.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front entrance and parking/patio area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Front entrance and parking/patio area.
Dining area
Master bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Newbiggin-by-the-Sea, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mwastell
Fairfield Glade, Tennessee
1 review
“Home from home”
Reviewed 23 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We stay in this beautiful little cottage at the weekend. The owners take very good care as the property was excellent in every way . The decor was perfect and the whole house was immaculate . Everything required for our stay was provided beautiful comfy bed soft towels and everything we needed for an enjoyable break . A welcome basket was also provided which was a nice touch . Going out of the front door to the right you were a yards from shops , pubs restaurants and carry out food shops . To the left yards from the lovely beach . Can't rate this cottage high enough and will definitely return soon .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2017
Thank you so much for this lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swlucas
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“New year”
Reviewed 1 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We decided to spend New Year in newbiggin and found the Fishermans cottage, when we walked through the door I was immediately impressed by the quaintness of the cottage, all the decor and furnishing are based on a fishing theme, this cottage is a stones throw from a lovely beach and a short walk from the marime centre,.
New biggin is a nice little town with a good array of shops, a wonderfull beach plenty of welcoming pubs, but if you want slot machines and kiss me quick hats dont come.
I would highly recommend a stay in the fishermans cottage, for its cleanliness and location, parking is available at the cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole cottage
Liked least: Not being able to stay longer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Loody
St Helens
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“An Amazing Break!!!”
Reviewed 23 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The photos for this lovely cottage just don't do it justice. The house is extremely well located just one minute from beach and town. It is very beautifully kept and is immaculate throughout. The cottage is surprisingly spacious - there is a large living room, lovely kitchen and upstairs a bathroom with both bath and shower, and two well sized bedrooms. Linen and towels were in excellent condition. It was wonderful to sleep at night with fresh air and sounds of the sea from the window.
Outside, there is place to park the car and two comfy seats to enjoy a glass of wine or two in tranquility. Our children enjoyed being able to go to the beach which was very clean.
The owners were extremely accommodating, and it is great to see the added touches of milk in the fridge and a welcome basket. A very warm welcome greeted us with some good advice as to where to eat.
A fantastic place to stay - cannot recommend it highly enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2016
Thank you for writing this glowing review. Sounds like you had a really nice holiday. I agree the pictures don't do it justice but it's difficult to show what you actually see.
Thanks again Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pineapple...
cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage by the sea.”
Reviewed 27 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I were lucky enough to rent this beautiful cottage for 4 nights. Everything about this experience was excellent. From the easy online booking and payment process, throught to confirmation from the owners. We were met at the property by the owner Lesleys husband. He was very welcoming and gave us lots of useful information about the area and places to visit. He gave us a quick tour of the cottage and even told us the history of it, which was fascinating. We loved the black and white prints on the walls of the families who had lived there for the previous hundred tears, The cottage itself exceeded our expectations. We've stayed in a lot of holiday lettings but this one was up there with the best of them. Beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean, they had literally thought of everything you might need. The location couldn't have been better for us. 30 seconds walk and you were on a stunning sandy beach, what else could you want. Newbiggin is not a big town, but that's why we liked it. Quaint little shops & cafes that had everything you needed for a self catering stay. Ideally situated for exploring Northumberland. Lovely little gem of a cottage, we really did not want to come home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homely feel of the cottage and the location.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2016
Thank you for this wonderful review of our cottage. I'm sorry I was unable to greet you myself on your arrival, but it seems my husband did a good job.
I'm glad everything was to your liking and you put us up there with the best.
Thanks again. Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing