We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A WONDERFUL HOLIDAY COTTAGE”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of BANKWELL COTTAGE

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
61 reviews
NEWLY FITTED KITCHEN
MAIN DOUBLE
TEA FOR 6
SPACIOUS DOUBLE BEDROOM
DOWNSTAIRS SHOWER ROOM AND WC
NEWLY RENOVATED BATHROOM
SETTLE GOLF COURSE CLOSE BY
FAMOUS RAILWAY
LOCAL SCENERY
THE LOCAL TUCK SHOP
DOGS WELCOME
DOG FRIENDLY
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Giggleswick, Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jo S
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A WONDERFUL HOLIDAY COTTAGE”
Reviewed 22 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed with our dog for a week at Bankwell Cottage and invited parents to come along for a weekend and had the best time. The cottage is lovely, a real home from home and definitely spacious enough for 6 people. It is a very well equipped cottage. Carol the owner provided a welcome pack as well as towels and treats for the dog!
The village of Giggleswick has some good pubs serving excellent food and Settle is just a 15 minute stroll away providing a good range of shops and other places to eat and drink.
Thanks very much Carol.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage was just as good as the pictures and as described.
Liked least: Cannot find fault with the cottage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2014
Thank you very much for your review and I am delighted you all had a great time!
I really hope we see you again?

Take care,

Carol (the owner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul T
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Simply outstanding!”
Reviewed 19 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Bankwell Cottage is well located as a base for exploring the Yorkshire Dales and also centrally located to allow either a short walk or drive to the village of Giggleswick or the larger Settle.

From the outside it looks like an old traditional Yorkshire cottage of 100+ years with loads of character. Amazingly it is only about 16 years old - a credit to the builder and owner. Inside it is superbly decorated and fitted out to a high standard making it very comfortable.

The owner Carol met us on arrival and was able to advise us on local facilities and made sure that all was well and that we were comfortable and enjoying our stay a day or so later.

Bankwell is well located and ideal for couples, families or a small group that wants somewhere central to either walk, cycle or drive out from. It certainly provided us with an excellent base and very comfortable stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and its high standard of decor/facilities.
Liked least: Nothing it was faultless
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Bankwell cottage and I really hope we see you all again and your goegeous doggies!

Regards

Carol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmj2013
cambridge
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

My family and I (6 of us plus baby and dog) spent a wonderful week in Bankwell Cottage. Carol, the owner, was extremely helpful and accommodating and the cottage was spotlessly clean, spacious and very well equipped. Giggleswick is a very pretty village with great local pubs and the town of Settle is a 15 minutes' walk. There's lots to do in the area; one day we took the scenic train to Carlisle, stopping at Appleby on the way back. Other days we walked the Ingleton Waterfalls trail and to Malham Cove and Tarn. We were all very sad to leave. Thank you Carol.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review and I really hope we see you all again one day?

Take care

Carol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baldrick7...
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Wonderful Bankwell Cottage in Giggleswick”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

My wife and I stayed here for week with my daughter and her husband, their 4 year old daughter and their 12 year old Jack Russell and we all had a wonderful time!
We were met by Carol, the owner and shown around this wonderful property that is exactly as it appears in the photographs and contains every convenience, appliance and utensil that anyone could ever need! It even had several children's games, soft toys and a selection of DVD's that we found very useful.
Carol was very keen for us all to enjoy our stay and provided us with loads details of the local area and also gave us lots suggestions for days out and excursions in the area, which was much appreciated.
The cottage is situated in the little picturesque village of Giggleswick, which has two lovely country pubs each serving lovely food and a well equipped children's play park for the kids but is also within 10 minutes easy walking distance of Settle, which has all the additional facilities of a busy Market town.
We had a wonderful time and would be pleased to recommend this cottage to groups of adults and families alike.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everyting
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review and for taking the time to comment, it is much appreciated. I really hope you make it back to see us again in the future?

Take care,

Carol (the owner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWey
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage in beautiful and peaceful location”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We visited the area to watch the Tour De France depart from Yorkshire and the cottage was the perfect property for six adults. It is beautifully fitted and spotlessly clean. The two bathrooms were essential for the four girls in the party and the lovely garden - and very good weather - also gave us some extra living space. The owners were very helpful and accommodating. We would thoroughly recommend both the cottage and the charming area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a few words about your stay and I really hope we see you all again?

Regards

Carol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing