We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Bankwell in gorgious Giggleswick”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of BANKWELL COTTAGE

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
NEWLY FITTED KITCHEN
MAIN DOUBLE
TEA FOR 6
SPACIOUS DOUBLE BEDROOM
DOWNSTAIRS SHOWER ROOM AND WC
NEWLY RENOVATED BATHROOM
SETTLE GOLF COURSE CLOSE BY
FAMOUS RAILWAY
LOCAL SCENERY
THE LOCAL TUCK SHOP
DOGS WELCOME
DOG FRIENDLY
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Giggleswick, Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Digbydog2...
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful Bankwell in gorgious Giggleswick”
Reviewed 7 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Have just returned from a week staying at Bankwell Cottage - two adults, 21 year old son & girlfriend and 19 year old son. The cottage was pretty near perfect. Beautifully decorated; well kitted out; the bonus of two decent showers and never ending hot water. Carol met us on arrival which was lovely and had left us a little hamper of bread, cheese, milk - the essentials after a long journey in the heat! Even Digby the terrier had bowls, towels, leads - nothing was too much and not thought of. We were blessed with fabulous weather - and visited Bolton Abbey - a beautiful 5-ish mile walk along the river and abbey ruins; other recommended trips: Ribbleshead Viaduct; Ingleton Falls trail (another beautiful river walk with amazing waterfalls); Drive up to Malham Tarn for some fabulous views, visit Giggleswick school chapel which is stunning or walk in to Settle and climb up to the Castleberg (where the flag is flying) for some great views over Settle and beyond. Really can't recommend this cottage and area enough. We will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfort of cottage and location
Liked least: can't think of anything
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and for your lovely comments! We really do hope to see you all again and the weather is as kind on your next visit?

Take care,

Carol (the owner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie M
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage and everything you need for a great holiday.”
Reviewed 24 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We travelled with two small children to Bankwell and found it to be spacious and comfortable with everything we needed. It's a great location for all different kinds of activities. One of our children was under the weather while we were there, so we were grateful to be in such a pleasant holiday home!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Layout of the cottage is great and it's really nicely decorated and furnished.
Liked least: Very hard to find something - A bit more power in the shower would be good!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2013
Thank you taking the time to write a review and I'm sorry your children were poorly, but we do hope to see you all again soon?

Take care

Carol (the owner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Jun 2013
Thank you for your kind review, and I hope to see you all again in the near future?

Carol ( the owner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Louise S
Tadcaster, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Attractive children and dog friendly cottage in a great location”
Reviewed 8 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Carol was there to meet us on arrival and left us a welcome basket which had a wonderful sticky toffee pudding in it amongst other things! The house is clean, cosy and up to date. The beds were very comfortable and there was plenty of storage space.
Annie our dog was made to feel welcome too with use of doggy towels, leads and toys.
A few minutes away was the local playing fields which was perfect for walking the dog and the children made full use of the large playground.
A short walk over the river and we were into Settle. It was so nice to be able to walk to a range of places rather than rely on the car.
There are a number of attractions close by, Malham Cove, White Scar Cave and the Settle railway to name a few. A very enjoyable break was had by all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and I'm pleased you all, including Annie had a great time! I really hope to see you again?

Regards

Carol The owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc G
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“super cottage in a beautiful part of the world”
Reviewed 3 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Bankwell Cottage was perfect for our family of 5 (2 adults and 3 children aged 19, 16 and 11). The cottage is superb, the 3 bedrooms are of good size, kitchen is perfect, lounge very relaxing, and having a bathroom + a shower room meant we did not have to fight with our teenage children in the morning :). And Carol is a wonderful host, making sure everything goes well, quick to answer any txt message or emails.
The location is truly spectacular, there are many many beautiful walks nearby. We absolutely loved the area. We will definitely come back!
Thank you Carol!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2013
Thank you for your great comments and taking the time to write this review. I hope to see you in the near future?
Carol, the owner.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing