We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Birthday weekend in the snow.”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bishop Thornton, Harrogate, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
poppyfiel...
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Birthday weekend in the snow.”
Reviewed 5 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for a long weekend Friday to Monday.
We found the cottage very comfortable and clean with most things you would need for a short break.
We stayed on an an unusually cold weekend and it took a while for the cottage to warm up but once it did it was lovely and snuggly.
Loved that we could bring our dog with us and that the owners seem very dog friendly.
Some really beautiful walks very close by, we had the bonus of fresh crisp snow to walk in which just enhanced the beauty of the place. It's also a very short drive into Harrogate where we enjoyed the parkrun on Saturday morning.
We had our meal out on Sunday at the Station hotel in Birstwith, highly recommended! The food was really delicious, staff were friendly and our dog was welcome.
All in all a great little place to stay and would defiantly return.
The only niggle was the cold start, it would have been nice after the drive to arrive to a warmed up cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curious52...
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location ”
Reviewed 4 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is in a great location, close to some really nice walks and not too far from Harrogate for a day out. It’s pet friendly which we required and has a nice feel to the place and is decorated very tastefully.

However, during our stay we noticed the place wasn’t very clean at all. The shower head was mouldy and down the side of the toilet was covered in black mould. Under the bed was full of dust, my husband cleaned it as it was making us sneeze. The hob was greasy, the microwave was pretty filthy as well, it didn’t look like it had been cleaned for a while. The grill pan in the oven had dried on food on it. All of these are fine when it’s your mess but when you’re renting somewhere to stay for a few days, you expect the owners to have checked. Oh and the worst bit was the kettle. I have literally never seen a kettle so filthy. It was MONTHS if not years of lime scale.

After walking around in my socks for about 10 minutes when we arrived, they were covered in dust/dog hairs so I wore shoes at all times during the rest of our stay!

The owners were lovely however but I wouldn’t have felt comfortable saying this to them with the rental being in their garden so we decided to suck it up and make the best of it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2018
Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments. I am sorry to hear you have had this experience. We would love to speak with you directly, and kindly request that you contact us directly to discuss this further.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dmcc45
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A pleasant week”
Reviewed 27 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

The accommodation was comfortable, bright, clean and quiet. Having the owner in the adjacent house was an advantage as we were made very welcome and were given suggestions for places to visit. There were several places worth a visit nearby - Fountains Abbey, Harrow Garden, Caste Howard and Brinham Rocks so it was easy to fill a week.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harmonyin...
Bracknell, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ideal for relaxing getaway”
Reviewed 14 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Comfortable bed-sit detached bungalow. Plenty of room inside for two people. Quiet location and nice and central for visiting places around Harrogate/NIdderdale such as Fountains Abbey and Brimham rocks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet, clean, and comfortable.
Liked least: Closeness to owner's house.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ratchetga...
Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good base near Ripley castle”
Reviewed 11 May 2013 for a stay in June 2012

Great little studio just up the road from Ripley castle and Harrogate, ideal for business or for couples who want their own space rather than a hotel room, comfortable double bed, compact kitchen and dining area and double doors that go out to peaceful stables to the back and your own mini garden, we were very comfortable here and just under a mile from a very good pub The New Inn with excellent food.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: location
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing