We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect rental cotage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Swan Cottage

Swan Cottage exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Swan Cottage exterior
Swan Cottage garden Swan Cottage in the snow
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
Swan Cottage exterior
Swan Cottage garden
Swan Cottage in the snow
Living Room
Dining Room
Kitchen
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 4
Horning Village
The River Bure at Horning
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Horning, Norwich, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mavis526
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect rental cotage”
Reviewed 18 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Wonderfully located on the Norfolk Broads, swan cottage is a lovely rental home. Perfectly equipped with everything you could need for a large family stay. We stayed with our children and grandchildren. Good pubs nearby if you don't want to cook and a lovely butchers and deli. Would visit again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise G
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“lovely house”
Reviewed 29 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Really good location and lovely house.

Things didn't go to plan at first and we found them a bit frustrating, particularly after a long drive. We had problems getting into the property as there was a 'knack' of opening the key lock which we weren't aware of. (the buttons should stay in and some didn't without holding them) and the spare key didn't work either. But the owner tried to resolve this as soon as she could.

And there were just a few other things missing that we'd expected: dvd player, dryer and welcome pack.

The car parking was also very tight. We couldn't fit our two cars into the space and there is limited parking on the street - so could be a problem at peak season.

But saying all this, the property itself was very clean and tidy. Well proportioned and a well equipped kitchen. We would stay again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavenSueS...
Suffolk
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent base to explore the Boards”
Reviewed 30 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed at Swan Cottage for three nights in late September and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The cottage is situated between two pleasant riverside pubs and perfectly located to enjoy all the facilities that Horning has to offer. The house was very clean, comfortable and well equipped and coped with six adults easily, none of ever felt cramped. The kitchen has everything you need if you fancied baking a cake or cooking a roast dinner, there was plenty of cutlery and crockery. There is BT Wifi in the cottage that provides broadband throughout the house and worked admirably throughout our stay.

There are three double rooms (one has the benefit of an en-suite) and one twin room, one of the double rooms has only very limited storage space. Outside there is a small courtyard garden which gets the morning sun, although a pleasant place to sit we felt more could have been made of the space. There is only parking for two cars, but there is street parking nearby and the village hall also has free parking if groups have more than two cars.

For a short break or a longer stay of a week or more Swan Cottage provides a home from home and an excellent base to explore the Boards and the North Norfolk Coast.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jhotman12...
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed 29 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Beautiful place, had a lovely stay and we would most definatley reccomend to anyone! Also such a lovely area to be in

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2016
Many thanks for taking the time to review Swan Cottage. We really appreciate your booking and your comments.
Leigh & Nigel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann R
1 review
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed 29 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Comfortable cottage in good location.. Parking space tight. Ensuite tiny.
We where in the area for a family wedding. We would stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Parking
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2015
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review on Trip Advisor.
Regards
Leigh & Nigel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing