We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable and homely.”
other travellers have booked this property
'Langton's View' has beautiful views over the peaceful private marina and onto the River Bure.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'Langton's View' has beautiful views over the peaceful private marina and onto the River Bure.
The beautiful view of the peaceful River Bure from the private balcony at 'Langton's View'.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
'Langton's View' has beautiful views over the peaceful private marina and onto the River Bure.
The beautiful view of the peaceful River Bure from the private balcony at 'Langton's View'.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Horning, Norwich, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bradleys...
Hitchin, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable and homely.”
Reviewed 13 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Drive in - Park The Car - Open the front door and you are home !

We were met By Amanda and shown around, the place was immaculate and spacious. A new table and chairs in the garden area were the first to be used with a bottle of Red and snacks. Then our whole week was centred around the cottage.

The whole place looked like it had just been renovated and was in A1 Condition with lovely leather 2 seaters around the big telly. The kitchen was well equipped and certainly big enough to cook in and well designed.

The bedrooms were spacious and plenty of storage. The beds were ok but when you are used to memory foam topped beds the spring type mattress were a little hard but that is certainly a matter of personal opinion.

If we had to wish for something extra then it would be a wireless connection as in this day and age wireless is a must.

I was the only person with 3g connection (On EE) Three had no signal at all. (Certainly not the owners fault)
all in all a very nice place to centre your holiday around would certainly recommend it. Thank you John & Amanda.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2018
Hi Bradleys !! Thank you so much for your fantastic review !! We are delighted you enjoyed the cottage so much, we do our absolute bet to keep it to a very high standard.

You will be pleased to know that we have installed wifi since your stay for the convenience of our visitors.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guests !

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
9321nicol...
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“A hidden gem in the heart of the Norfolk Broads”
Reviewed 3 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Langton's View is a lovely cottage in the village of Horning. A lovely warm welcome from Amanda on arrival and a bottle of bubbly which was a nice surprise. The cottage was immaculately clean. We are a family of four with two teenage boys (one of which is over 6ft tall!) and the cottage was more than adequate in size for us all. The cottage is well equipped with a huge tv with DVD player in the living room which was perfect for the one day of rain that we had. Also there are tv's in the bedrooms which was a nice addition. The bedrooms are a good size with plenty of storage . The kitchen also well equipped. Also parking literally outside the front door which was ideal. The view down to the river Bure is stunning and it was really easy to hire a boat from their boat yard next door and go and explore the broads. It was also nice to be able to sit in the patio area in the evening sun and relax. The peace and quiet was lovely! There is also a pontoon belonging to the cottage that is perfect for fishing. Horning itself has lots of places to eat, The Ferry does excellent food and has Wi-Fi with a nice view over the river, there are also 2 other pubs. Also a few little cafes . We visited a cafe called County Treats which was friendly, not over priced and really good food. We can recommend the cooked breakfast there! There's also a post office and off licence and Chinese takeaway. Horning itself is very central for getting around with Wroxham just four miles away with lots of restaurants and takeaways. The Golden fish Chinese does really good food. Also Roys of Wroxham department store and supermarket does pretty much everything you need and is reasonably priced or alternatively there is a Tescos about 20 drive away from Horning. Wroxham Barns is about 10 minutes drive away from the cottage, Bewilderwood about 5 minutes away, Great Yarmouth about half an hours drive. There is definitely plenty to do in the area including some nice walks. We had a lovely week, helped of course by the good weather but Langtons View is the perfect base to explore the broads as it is comfortable, homely and a place we looked forward returning to to relax in at the end of a busy day. Thank you Amanda and John for your hospitality and hopefully we will get an opportunity to come back and stay in the cottage again in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2017
We are flattered by your wonderful review !! We are so pleased you had a lovely week based in our cottage " Langton's View " it is ideally situated to explore the Broads and surrounding area and we try very hard to keep it up to a very high standard and immaculately clean.

Thank you for leaving it so clean and tidy it really is appreciated.

It is always nice to meet nice people and your family was exceptional and we wish your Son well with his new venture !!

We look forward to seeing you again some time in the future.

Many thanks,

Amanda & John.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samroz3
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Ok cottage”
Reviewed 28 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

I went here with my parents and joined them for their holiday. The place itself was on the small side, the room with the twin beds was on a slant so the floor wasn't straight. The furniture was uncomfortable, the dining chairs sank in and the twin beds were exceptionally hard. Additionally, the place does not provide towels.

The pontoon at the back of the property was relaxing and nice to sit out on and the location is only a few minutes walk away from Horning.

I feel in comparison for the price there are better places with better amenities that you can get for a holiday for a cheaper price than my family paid and with more comfortable surroundings and furniture. Therefore, I would say the cottage was ok but the main selling feature is the pontoon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2017
We are rather surprised at your review as we have never received one like it before. The cottage is very comfortable for 4 people, the mattresses on the twin beds are brand new and are of medium hardness grade which is usual for holiday accommodation , it is clearly stated that towels are not provided in the property details.
The cottage was left in a disgraceful condition after you departed. The kitchen was absolutely filthy, the shower was broken, the toilet seat and the bathroom bin was also broken. The keys were not returned and the property was left unlocked.

We have never had it left in such a condition, your party would not be welcome back as guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony W
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good position overlooking a side cut of the river Bure.”
Reviewed 27 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The rear of the hutted accommodation is nicely situated overlooking a side shoot of the river Bure. The accommodation is OK but a tad expensive (the immediate rear river view probably accounts for that). The price did not include electricity and towels not provided. The town of Horning is nearby and this is a good location in relation to travel around the Norfolk Broads. We rented a day boat from the owner which was useful in exploring the river Ant. We also went on the Bure Valley railway from Wroxham which was novel but views from the train restricted by the banks either side of a lot of the track. The fishing from the property was disappointing because of the shallow water having a lot of water weeds. Weather was good - an enjoyable week.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2017
The property is certainly not a hut !! In the property details it is clearly stated that electricity and towels are not provided.

The cottage was left in a disgraceful condition, the kitchen was filthy, the shower, toilet seat and the bathroom bin was broken.

The keys were not returned and the property was left unlocked.
We have never had it left in such a state and your party would not be welcome back as guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBigGuy...
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent little holiday house”
Reviewed 31 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

What a lovely little place to stay. Handily located for the various pubs and cafes in the pretty village of Horning, and situated right on the river Bure, it was the perfect escape for our family.
The hosts couldn't have been more welcoming, and the place was very clean and tidy and well equipped. And there's car parking right next to the house.
Plus it was excellent value for a week's stay right in the middle of the Norfolk broads in the school holidays.
I'm not sure we could have asked for anything more!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2017
Thank you very much for such a nice review !! Horning is a beautiful village with great amenities.

We pride ourselves on keeping the cottage immaculately clean and to a very high standard.

We hope to see you in the future !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing