We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful and relaxing beach front studio”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of studio pinel

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
view from the studio reserve naturelle
studio by the sea
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cul de Sac, Saint-Martin, St Martin / St Maarten

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
nurse_kar...
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful and relaxing beach front studio”
Reviewed 12 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here with our family of four. It was a nice, relaxing home away from home. We really enjoyed kayaking out to the nearby islands with the provided kayaks and barbecue on the beach. Our stay was a little short, but accommodations made by owners. Very friendly and helpful owners. We would definitely stay here again.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ailsa F
Ottawa
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Three weeks in St-Martin”
Reviewed 29 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017
4
people found this review helpful

We booked our 3-week holiday (late Feb to mid March) in St-Martin last summer, as we wanted to get the best spot for such a long vacation. We have visited St-Martin three times before this, and so know the island quite well. We favour the French side because of its European character, the smaller, quainter accommodation and the lower key lifestyle. This property did not disappoint.

First, I'll list the almost insignificant short-comings.

CONS:

If you're particular about your bed, the mattresses here could use an upgrade. I found the king size mattress relatively thin and quite firm. The fitted sheets also kept shifting off the mattress, exposing it almost every night.

The beach in front of the studios is *very* shallow, still and sticky. It is still beautiful, but is not that perfect Caribbean blue and definitely not swim-able. There are a lot of "upside down" jellyfish, which are not the stinging kind but can irritate your skin if you are sensitive and touch them. We would go out in the morning and put the 'beached' ones back into the water, hence my itchy hands.

There can be power outages, but they are usually resolved within 5-10 minutes.

We found the tv controls a little tricky, but mastered them over time. If you watch tv and speak English only, the only option really is CNN (Channel 45).

PROS:

The place is very quiet and peaceful. On a Friday or Saturday night, we could hear faint music thumping from across the bay, but only outside until about 11 or 12, and not in the bedroom.

There are dogs! (and a cat, if you're a cat person) Hera (female black dog) and Zeus (male blonde dog) will be your best friends if you are receptive -- otherwise, they'll leave you alone. We loved them and they often spent the evening hours keeping us company and wrestling with each other. They followed us along the shoreline and then across the ocean waves when we kayaked to Isle Pinel, about a 15 minute paddle, but we feared for their safety, especially on their return (they wanted to ride in the kayak back home, but there wasn't room), so we didn't make the trip again. Bruno said they were around 5-6 years old and I think Zeus has a bit of wonky back leg so after their adventure, they spent the next 24 hours recovering from such a tiring outing. Of course, we are "dog people" so are extra sensitive and wouldn't want any harm to come to them. They do not come into the bedroom so no worries if you fear they might want to sleep on the bed with you!

The studios (we stayed in the first studio adjacent the driveway) are well equipped: an older but serviceable fridge, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, blender and two burner gas stove (we used a lighter to activate it - there may be a gas lighter there that we didn't find). The double sinks are only partially covered by a pergola-type roof so if it rains, it will not be protected. There is a table with four chairs, an l-shaped rattan sofa with cushions (we were happy that Zeus slept here) and a hanging egg-shaped swing chair/lounger (that I loved!). You are also provided with beach towels, info about the area, beach loungers, beach umbrella (which we were encouraged to take with us if we visited a swimming beach) -- Bruno also brought us life jackets and a water resistant beach bag for our kayak trip. There are two single kayaks and two doubles; a paddle board; a hot tub; and a barbeque.

The immediate area (Cul de Sac), within about a 10 minute walk, has at least three good restaurants: Pancho Villa (Mexican, run by an ex-pat Canadian from Ottawa!), Jam Rock and Le Grain de Poivre. There are others but these are the most conspicuous. A local groceteria (Coccia Market, I recall) is well-stocked but expensive. Better to drive to Marigot and shop there.

You'll need a car, but this is not a bad thing. Bruno helped orchestrate our rental, as he has with other clients, and this was helpful. They picked us up at the airport and took us back on our last day. For three weeks it was about $1400 CAN; don't know if bigger companies would have given a better deal, but we were satisfied with the car (Kia Picante), even driving along some pretty harsh roads.

There are a lot of things to do in St-Martin and this is a lovely place to retire to after a day out exploring and eating. We used the kitchen several times; usually for a leisurely breakfast and snacks, but normally went out for a late lunch/early dinner around 3 or 4 p.m. We always seemed to find a place to eat at this time and were able to bypass crowds. I recommend the lolos in Grand Case and the Calmos Cafe; if you're in the area for breakfast, then the Love Hotel has a great offering.

Be prepared to eat baguettes, croissants, seafood and pretty well anything you want in St-Martin and don't shy away from the drinks. It's a holiday after all!

I definitely recommend Bruno's studios for a holiday of any length. He and his wife (who speak French and English) are incredibly friendly, hospitable and accommodating and are keen to make your stay as pleasurable as possible.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
070582WEB
Groningen
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely spot, a beautiful studio, warmhearted people: wonderfull!”
Reviewed 7 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The spot is wonderfull: at the end of a dead-end road, a nice studio with a lovely little private beach in front. Lying in the kingsize bed the bay is nearby. A well equipped outdoor kitchen and 'dining room' invite you to an endless stay. Sugarbirds and humming birds at an armlength of your table, lizards and iguanas at the palmtree-shaded beach...
But I should not tell all these things: its so beautiful at the Pinel studio, keep it a secret...! We'll certainly be back next year!!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitgriff
Nevada, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We love this place!”
Reviewed 27 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We have stayed at Studio Pinel 4 times and we are booking #5 right now. The Studio has a perfect location. You can Kayak to Pinel Island, take a walk on a private beach just minutes from the studio and reach other great beaches by a short car ride.
The Studios are clean, comfortable and I always feel very safe. If you need anything Bruno is happy to help. We really like the patio. You can easily spend your entire day just sitting on the patio enjoying a book or just watching what is happening on the water.
You can walk to Villa Pizza or Poncho Villas for an amazing dinner. The local grocery also carries a large selection of items if you want to eat at the room. We always enjoyed having breakfast on the patio watching the day get started overlooking the water.
We really enjoyed being able to Kayak to Pinel Island. Karibuni Beach Restaurant and Bar is a wonderful place to spend the day. They have nice chairs sitting next to the beautiful blue water. The service is excellent and I cannot say enough about the food - Yummy!
We also like going to Orient Beach, Friars Bay and Grand Case.
I need to mention again that Bruno and his wife have always been very attentive to anything we have needed and make booking the Studio very easy.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrixGuy
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Perfect location on St. Maarten with an excellent host!”
Reviewed 15 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

I trust TripAdvisor exclusively, when researching vacation rentals. This rental exceeded my expectations! It's located on the French side of St. Maarten. There is a nice grocery store about 3 minutes away. Pinel Island is approximately a 15 minute paddle. Kayaks are included with the vacation rental! There are an abundance of restaurants nearby. The rental itself was immaculately clean. The king-size bed was super comfortable and there were two smaller beds also, in case traveling with more than two people (it was only my wife and I). The owner Bruno was incredibly hospitable! The airport had lost one of our bags. Bruno managed to coordinate airport delivery of the bag to vacation rental. That was a huge relief for us! Orient Beach is a short drive away as well, should paddling to Pinel Island not be preferred. I HIGHLY recommend Pinel Island. It's one of the best beaches that I've ever been too in the Caribbean and we travel to the Caribbean frequently. There are mosquitos on St. Maarten, so be sure to pack bug spray. There is a super clean and nice hot tub right on the beach. There is a BBQ grill too! This place has it all and the WiFi Internet worked as well! I have nothing negative to say and will stay here again, if future travel prompt me to return to St. Maarten. If all that you want is a beach, there is likely no need to leave this area to explore other parts of St. Maarten.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Included kayaks and the paddle to Pinel Island.
Liked least: The refrigerator could use an update.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing