We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far from hospitable!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Burnt House Farm

Burnt House Farm
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Burnt House Farm
Ranked #1 of 2 Mark B&B and Inns
Derbsyhire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Far from hospitable!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Owners were very rude. I can't believe they have chosen to open their home as a guest house. I would never stay there again or recommend it to anyone. We arrived at 4pm and when owner answered door she was rude to us because we had arrived 30 minutes early for check in. She showed us our room and when we enquired about the pool we were told it was only open for an hour at 6pm and she wanted to know there and then if we wanted to use it. We decided not to stay the planned extra night because of how unwelcome and uncomfortable she had made us. She decided to talk to us about this as we were eating our breakfast, she made it apparent that she was most unhappy about this and decided to hassle us about the cancellation while we were still eating. We finished breakfast as fast as we could. When I tried to offer my comments and how dissappointed we were with the service, she stood and argued with us as we were leaving. Not willing to take on board our comments or make amends. Experience totally ruined my weekend.

Room Tip: Tip: stay clear of this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hazel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    12
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
33
10
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

Our room was lovely and the breakfast was great. It wasn't the most relaxing of stays though, as we have Children! I wouldn't of said it was the most child-friendly bed and breakfast we have stayed in. The owners were very worried about the children making too much noise by stamping on the floor and running upstairs!! Our children were very well behaved and it did make us feel uneasy considering we were paying for the experience! If you have children, I would find an alternative bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zoe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

I was one of the studying pilot we stayed here for 2 weeks all I can say about this place that is is a perfect place to stay if you like the country side this place is for you the view from your rooms is outstanding and Carmen and Steve me you all very welcome. Dont forget your Fishing Rods perfect little stream in there padocks I caught plenty of fish.... I WILL be recomending it to everyone..

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pilot_Simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
174 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

Sounded lovely from the website. Firstly would not take credit card for deposit so had to write and post cheque. On arrival the place smelled of damp dog. Pool and jacuzzi covered up and unavailable. Room comfortable but very small. Shared bathroom with allocated time which we were unaware of. Good breakfast although no time choice. Arrived 5 mind too early for breakfast and were sent away. Would not go back to this place.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnboy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

Lovely setting in the heart of Somerset, Made to feel welcome straight away from the owner who couldn't do enough for us, Breakfast-plenty of choice.
Negatives - Owner's son rude (a cross between Basil Fawlty and Victor Meldrew), room a bit grubby.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D_DIXON1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Burnt House Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burnt House Farm

Property: Burnt House Farm
Address: Burnt House Yarrow Road, Mark TA9 4LR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Mark
Amenities:
Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mark
Price range (per night): $115 - $146
Hotel Class:3 star — Burnt House Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burnt house farm is in the Country side But only 5 miles from J22 M5. We have 3 en-suite rooms 1 with a private bathroom and 1 standard room. We also have a newly Converted Large Holiday Cottage which can sleep 5 people. We have a swimming pool which is open between end of May to September(limited open times). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Expedia APAC, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Burnt House Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing