We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“beautiful location but rooms barely 3 star” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Club Balai Isabel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Club Balai Isabel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Talisay
Coos Bay, Oregon
Level Contributor
44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“beautiful location but rooms barely 3 star”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

This resort is on beautiful grounds right on Lake Taal. The newer pool is lovely, the other one is right in front of the diners....choose the newer one to swim.
Service and reception are friendly and accomodating....that wonderful Phillipine smile. Don't expect your room to be 4 star. Bathroom very basic....lighting very poor and little space to put your things.
We had a "hotel" type room. It had a kitchen with nothing in it. We asked about that and they said that we cannot use it ...that it was just for "show" as those rooms were for sale. OK....but, it sure used up a lot of space. We were given a room right up in front of the lake and had beautiful sunrises and sunsets there on the spacious terrace.
Beware, though....no one is on or in the lake....it is so polluted from open sewers from the villages draining into it that it would definately be ugly to swim in it. The only ones on the lake are the boats going to the volcano and local fisherman. So, the lake is only for show....not to be on or in!
The food is dismal looking and tasting. Breakfast is the same.
Do try the mangoes and pineapples from the market easy walk into Talisay.
Maybe this was the best place on the lake, but don't expect 4 star room or food.
Oh....do not try to drive from the airport here! Figure out another way.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fisches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    194
    132
    41
    47
See reviews for
245
71
5
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Decided to get out of the busy city for the weekend... with recommendations from friends this resort was chosen.
Travelling to Batangas is as smooth as silk... no traffic. The new tollway really made the difference.
The accommodation we got for a 5 adults and 3 kids was at the Orchard Lane... 2 double beds and 2 pull out beds is very good for the family.
The small kitchen really helped. The resort provides kitchen utensils, flatwares, glasswares..just bring the items you need to cook..
Food at the restaurant is good, serving has enough for the family. Service attendants are very good.. they were right on their recommendations.
Three pools are available ... just choose the one that suit your needs.
The resort was full during our visit. I have no objections on accepting company accommodations.. but it would be good to have some rules for big groups... they where running all around the resort ..
Suggest to place additional clothes hanger or towel rack inside the bathroom... no area to hang clothes while bathing.
The weekend was a good experience for the family!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blue_eyes07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Pinas, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We checked in at the hotel December 30 and check out on January 1st, 2012. The location of the hotel is okay if you want a respite from the traffic in Metro Manila. You can either use SLEX-Star Tollway or go via Tagaytay. However, we were advised to go via SLEX-Star Tollway because the Tagaytay route is kind of "stiff.".

The hotel is nice. You have many choices as to your accommodation: lakefront, lakeside, or you can stay in the villas.We stayed at the Balai Agoncillo, hence our room, with a veranda, has a front view of Taal Lake. The view, either in early morning or evening, is magnificent. It is worth the price we paid!

As to activities- there are two swimming pools - the Infinity Pool or the Terraza Pool. We enjoyed swimming at the Infinity Pool! The Taal Lake is a "no swimming" area! We also had a massage at the Adol Ya Linawa Wellness Center. The price for the massage is reasonable. There are other activities to do: go on a boat ride to Taal, etc., but we preferred to stay at the hotel and had a quiet rest.

The only thing which bothered us was the hotel service. FIRST, we booked for a lakefront room but were given a different room; the reason- lakeview rooms only have single beds and we were 3 in the group! They gave us a room at the Balai Mabini. We agreed at first but when we found out that the room has no telephone, the comfort room has no exhaust fan...well, our being patient run out! Fortunately, when we went again to the front desk, a different staff, Ms. Grace, was on duty. When she learned about our concerns, she immediately transferred us to Balai Agoncillo and gave us the room which we originally booked and paid in advance. She also told us to open the window of the comfort room because the hotel rooms have no exhaust fan. It was okay with us as long as they would tell us beforehand. SECOND, on our 2nd day, we requested that our room be cleaned at the toiletries be replenished. We have run out of toilet paper! We were 3 in the room and they provided us with 1 roll of toilet paper. Our room was cleaned late afternoon. We noticed that while the room was cleaned, the veranda was not. The table and chairs in the veranda is full of cobwebs. The same, with the railings.

The food is okay but not that special.

I really hope that the management would take note of the maintenance of the hotel. I even noticed that the lights in the corridors of the 1st floor was still lighted at 10:00am! We even saw an empty box near the stairway at the 2nd floor when we checked in; it was still there, when we checked out! It seems as if nobody is assigned to clean the corridors.

To sum it up, the hotel is okay but it has to improve its services.

Room Tip: the lakefront rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank normita072960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

What I like about Club Balai Isabel is that there is always room for improvement.
My First visit was 2 years ago, the hotel service was slow (like doing a dry-run), food is not so good, but the view of Taal Lake up-close was exceptional. What we enjoyed as a family was the beautiful lakefront suite (with a veranda facing Taal Lake), and the swimming pool right beside the hotel.
My Second visit a year ago gave me a few surprises, a chapel was built and a new bigger pool was under construction, there were also new hotel buildings being built. A new Japanese restaurant was also around to serve sushi and and our favorite shrimp tempura meal. What made this trip special was when we witnessed a couple getting married before sundown. It looks so romantic, and of-course complimentary music was played through-out the night. Club Balai Isabel was magical and festive the second-time around.
My Third visit to Club Balai was a week ago, I've decided to bring my 77 year-old dad to experience the beauty of Taal Lake. We were booked in two separate rooms, 101 & 201 Lakefront Suite of Balai Mabini. It was the perfect set-up right in front of the lake and right beside the pool and clubhouse. The hotel staff was kind and very accommodating, they took good care of us since my dad had special needs being on a wheelchair. The food was a big surprise, this time they offered a buffet set-up with home-cooked quality food which was very satisfying. The 3rd swimming pool (which was also the newest & biggest) was so beautifully shaped and offered a big kiddie pool for kids which my daughter enjoyed so much. New sport amenities, Spa services, family cottages are also welcome additions.
Overall, I think Club Balai Isabel is worth going back to... my family & I looks forward to the many new surprises and more happy memories.

Room Tip: Choose the Lakefront Suites, it comes with a veranda and perfect Lake Taal view. They also offer lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WowMom_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

We stayed here with family last December 21, 2011 for an overnight stay and this is my second visit here this year. There were not too many guests during our stay but I prefer it that way since my real intention is just to relax and enjoy the scenic view of Taal volcano while sitting in the viewing deck. I love the infinity pool and you can say that it is very well maintained, the water is clear and there is no smell, perfect for kids. This time we did not dine in the restaurant, instead we brought our own raw foods and cooked it in the room (the room has a kitchenette with electric stove and a mini ref) and for those items we do not have, we brought it nearby the resort.

Room Tip: If you want to fully enjoy the lake and tall view, stay in lakeside or lakefront suite either in 3rd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert_Jarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talisay
43.6 km away
Coral Beach Club
Coral Beach Club
#1 of 3 in Lian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
42.6 km away
Eagle Point Resort
Eagle Point Resort
#1 of 7 in Mabini
3.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
40.6 km away
Canyon Cove Beach Club
Canyon Cove Beach Club
#2 of 4 in Nasugbu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
44.5 km away
Pico Sands Hotel
Pico Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Nasugbu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
62.0 km away
Palm Beach Resort
Palm Beach Resort
#1 of 6 in Laiya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
62.0 km away
La Luz Beach Resort
La Luz Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Balai Isabel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Balai Isabel

Property: Club Balai Isabel
Address: Taal Lake | Banga, Talisay, Luzon 4220, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Batangas Province > Talisay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Talisay
Price range (per night): $110 - $168
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Balai Isabel 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right on the shores of the world-famous Taal Lake and across from its volcano is a place where you can relax, connect and be with nature. Club Balai Isabel offers an option for an active lifestyle with all the comforts of city living. A mere fifteen minutes from the Tagaytay ridge, it offers an up-close and personal view of the lake and its world-famous volcano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Club Balai Isabel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Balai Isabel Hotel Talisay
Hotel Balai Isabel
Club Balai Isabel Talisay, Batangas, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing