We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Luxury”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Bee's Knees

THE BEE'S KNEES
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
THE BEE'S KNEES
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
77 reviews
THE BEE'S KNEES
View of the cottage across the gardens
Garden from across the farm pond where Moorhens and ducks nest
View of the cottages across the farm pond
Across the pond in Autumn
Front door - Welcome!
I live next door!
Living area and kitchen
Double Bedroom
View towards the Gazebo
The henhouse
Peacock butterflies are regular visitors
Ducks and moorhens live on the pond
Gazebo in which to enjoy that early evening drink and the last of the suns rays
Picnic overlooking the pond
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Banham, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
David J
Heckmondwike, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxury”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Beautiful from the lovely garden and wonderful house to the charming couple who could not do enough for myself, my wife and 4 year old daughter loves this place and were sad to leave

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2015
Thank you for your kind words, it was lovely to have you to stay and we are so pleased that your daughter had such a good time - she was an absolute poppet and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Thanks also for your review in our folder - it makes us so happy when we make people's stays with us special!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FelicityH...
2 reviews
“Definitely not too good to be true. Fully lives up to expectations!!”
Reviewed 3 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

My boyfriend and I just got back from an amazing stay at Olde Farm along with our little dog.

We couldn't have been made to feel more welcome by Dalene and Alex, with a lovely friendly greeting and a full tour of our amazing cottage! We were supplied with a fabulous welcome pack of local foods, including cheeses, ham, bacon, home laid eggs, bottle of bubbly, fully stocked cupboards and delicious home made jams and scones. As it was our anniversary we also got a beautiful card and our dog even had treats she enjoyed so much we had to hide the jar from her! During our stay we barely needed to eat out as we were supplied with more than enough to live on for our 3 day stay.

The cottage has so many thoughtful touches and absolutely everything you could think of supplied. A vast selection of DVDs, games, books, every kitchen gadget you could think of, a wonderful array of toiletries and beautiful fresh flowers everywhere! We particularly enjoyed the coffee machine!!

The rooms themselves are stunning, the kitchen is beautiful, the sitting room with gas log fire was so cosy and we were even supplied with a throw so our dog could join us for cuddles on the sofa! The bedroom is glorious and the bed was the most comfortable ive ever had the joy of sleeping in! Falling asleep looking at the stars via the skylight was lovely and getting up each morning was a struggle as we were so comfortable! The gardens were also beautiful, we enjoyed visiting the resident ducks, chickens and watching the birds feed right by our back door.

This was one of few holidays where I really didn't want to come home and we will most certainly be back to visit! I simply can't stress just how lovely everything was. I almost don't want to recommend to people incase the cottage becomes fully booked all year :) but of course I most certainly will!!

Thank you so much for a wonderful stay!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2015
We are so pleased that we made your anniversary a memorable one and it was a joy to have you all to stay with us. It makes us very happy to know that we have made others happy and that you enjoyed the treats that we left you. We look forward to seeing you again here a Olde Farm. Kindest regards. Dalene & Alex
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kcms01
Ruthin, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pristine, superbly socked and equipped, thoughtful and welcoming owners.”
Reviewed 18 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

The Bee's Knees was spotlessly clean, furnished with attention to detail, supplied with a great selection of provisions, much more than a starter pack, even including home made items. Facilities to highest specifications. Every need was catered for. The owners were especially kind, efficient and welcoming- everything you could wish for from the nicest hosts. We would definitely visit again.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Mar 2015
It was our pleasure to have you all to stay and I am so pleased you enjoyed the scones and found everything that you needed. It makes my heart sing when I realise that we have made our guests' stay a welcoming and special one. Next time you come you must bring the dogs as I am sure the pugs would enjoy their company in the garden - as would we!! Until we see you again, take care and enjoy your own slice of paradise in Wales.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neilyoung...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great cottage retreat with excellent facilities”
Reviewed 16 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a lovely weekend at The Bees Knees.

Dalene and Alex made us welcome from the moment we booked and went out of their way to do those lovely things that make all the difference when you are on holiday, including picking and dropping us off at the station (we don't drive); stocking up the fridge with a welcome pack (with a vegan & veggie flavour) and making our dog, George, so welcome (special treats; bowls and there was even a throw for the sofa so he could come sit with us!)

The place is fantastic and very recently done up with a really well-stocked kitchen (lots of gadgets - you could bake if you wanted to; a larder with useful stock food items, a dishwasher and a washing machine), the bathroom/toilet are small yet all that you could need (I have to have a bath wherever I stay and they have made use of one, lots of hot water and a nice selection of products); the main bedroom was a good size and we slept well and the main kitchen/dining/lounge space is kept really toasty with a gas fire, the sofa was really comfortable and we loved having lots of trashy TV via Sky and a bunch of DVDs we could watch.

In short, this let has been really thoughtfully conceived and put together, with Dalene and Alex clearly making a real investment in the property and thinking about what people would want to have a comfortable, enjoyable stay - the big and the smaller things with a personal touch. I wish them every success and would strongly recommend this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sky TV and sofa with a very comfy blanket
Liked least: Location is not the most beautiful but if you had a car you can get to coast fairly quickly (30/40 minutes) and it is a great base
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Feb 2015
Thank you very much for your kind comments and it was lovely to meet you both and it makes me very happy that we made your stay such a good one and that you felt so welcomed. We were sorry that you were not well when you were here so could not make the best of the gardens and the surrounding areas, but pleased that you found enough easy watching trashy TV to keep you amused:) We look forward to welcoming you both and the divine George again sometime. Kindest regards, Dalene & Alex
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave T
Rawtenstall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed 19 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

This was our second visit to the Bees Knees and it was just as good as the first. Dalene and Alex are wonderful hosts and it was lovely to see them again. They even remembered that our son likes monsters university, and had a small gift waiting for him. We stayed for two nights between Christmas and new year, and the cottage was as clean, well equipped and beautiful as the first time we stayed back in July. The welcome pack was lovely (again) and the cottage is so warm and welcoming. It is a true home from home. I would wholeheartedly recommend this cottage as THE place to stay if you are visiting the area. We will again definitely be back in the not too distant future. Thank you Alex and Dalene - you have a gem of a cottage!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything-the place really is that good!!
Liked least: Leaving at the end of our stay!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2015
Thank you for your very kind review and belated Happy New Year greetings to you. It was lovely to see you all again and we are so pleased that the cottage lived up to your memory of your stay in July - we do try and it is very pleasing to realise that we are making people feel welcome. We look forward to seeing you again later in the year when hopefully the weather will be kinder!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing