We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home away from home (on the beach).”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Discovery Bay, Saint Ann Parish, Jamaica

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Molly6147
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Home away from home (on the beach).”
Reviewed 2 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The perfect place to do everything or nothing. The little cove is perfect for snorkling as my two girls spent hours doing. Hubby enjoyed taking his thermos of Blue Mountain coffee freshly made by Deanoe each morning down to the gazebo and watching the fishermen going out or the freighter across the harbour unloading and loading then subsequently being led out to sea by the tugs. Miss Casita's amazing cooking skills and warmth reminds you of your childhood if you grew up in Jamaica. The garden and beach area were lovingly maintained by Paul (who can also source freshly caught fish for you if you ask). Dawn kept the villa extremely sparkling clean and also the linens and any laundry you needed doing. Deanoe is exceptionally good at his job and does his best to make sure everything goes smoothly for you.
We drove ourselves around quite a bit but knowing that we would be coming home to Miss Casita's dinner made us want to hurry to get back. We were invited to a restaurant one evening in Kingston but we said thanks but no; we have to get back because Casita was preparing dinner for us.
We felt safe and secure in this villa and staying here gives you a level of relaxation that you will never find in a hotel.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Having our meals prepared for us and having the beach and pool at our doorstep.
Liked least: croaking lizards
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric r
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best cook in Jamaica”
Reviewed 16 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Linga Awile Cottage Is our top pick for the best cook in Jamaica. We go back for the food this was our 7th time going here out of the 23 trips we have made to the island. Casita can cook anything you want but for the Best tell her to pick what she want to make. You will not be disappointed. Paul the gardener is there everyday to rake the yard. This keeps the grounds clean, the beach has nice white sand that is also so clean. The pool is just right for a nice dip before supper oh and doctor birds fly around the pool and buzz your head. I plan to hand feed them next time we go there with 50% sugar & 50% water mix.
The AC was the best we have had I had to keep it at 25 most places have old units that you have to keep at 19 just to cool the room. The butler Deano was always there to keep our drinks full and help us with any needs. He does a good Barbeque Rib out on the outdoor grill. It is also nice to have a generator as Jamaican’s drink a lot of rum and tend to run into the utility poles. What is also nice and new, Is a Tasty Patties Bakery just 3 minutes away these are like heaven in a crusty taco shell made of pie dough cooked to a flake. The snorkeling at Linga Awile has also been the best. We have seen Octopus, Eels and Turtles just off the dock a few 100 feet out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We loved it all, best house we have ever stayed in
Liked least: Nothing to dis like it was all good Mon
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dahn C
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beyond our expectations!”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My sister-in-law who has lived in Jamaica for 35 yrs said I would not be disappointed at Linga Awile. And she was right! We told the cook (who has been there 30 yrs) we only wanted Jamaican food and we were thrilled with everything. The house has a lovely sitting/dining area where we ate and had cocktails looking out at the bay. We spent all our days sitting in the gazebo on the water. My friends just wanted to stay on the property. The staff, the service,the food, the beach,the gazebo, all wonderful!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: great beach for kids
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013 for a stay in January 2006
2
people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
England
Reviewed 23 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing