We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place fro relax but room very dirty” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Celestial Resort Pulau Ubin

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pulau Ubin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Celestial Resort Pulau Ubin
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pulau Ubin
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice place fro relax but room very dirty”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

The resort is very nice for relax after work just only 15 minutes by boat from Changi Village and another 10 minute by Van, the first time i saw the room so interesting but after 5 minutes i found a lot of dusting and facility with very poor maintain, the bathroom very dirty, TV could not see the picture, AC very loud, No water supply after 12 AM at night, breakfast set were very poor cook.

The staff were friendly, It is good for a short stay.

Room Tip: Prefer the room with bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DaraUng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    33
    27
    16
    30
See reviews for
22
42
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

I thought that the place was just decent. Bought the deals voucher at $50 each from my friend. If it wasn't on sale, i don't think I'll ever pay $120+ just for a night stay because I don't think it's worth it. The staffs were alright but the service was quite slow because there were limited staffs cleaning out the rooms and there were many people waiting for rooms to be available. Breakfast at Hornbill Restaurant was even slower. We waited for 1 hour for our breakfast to be served. -_- The "free bicycles" that deals voucher holders are entitled to have to redeem it at the jetty itself which is like 3km away? I think it is better to rent a bicycle first before going to the resort. One important thing to take note is that just keep smiling and staffs will generally be nicer to you.

On the brighter side, the activities were fun. Fish spa, snorkelling and kayaking. Also, you can get up close with the stingrays and other marine fishes and feed them too! If you're lucky enough you can spot other animals around the resort. Overall, the environment is pretty nice as they have their own private jetty for you to fish for free if you have your own rod and bait. On their beach there're alot of hermit crabs etc.

Room Tip: Come earlier to get a room faster
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank healthykiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

I got a voucher to go there from my brother as a Birthday gift, whom had already been in Pulau Ubin but didn't stay at night on the island. The facilities could be way better if it was better kept: the lagoon is quite interesting to watch and feed the fishes, but if you really think about kayaking or snorkeling, you shouldn't step there. The water activities area is so small, and actually snorkelling is in the same water than kayaking, so not very clear water...
Then you have the rooms: not very clean, not enough pressure to be able to shower, lots of bugs and spiders, but clean sheets where you could want to sleep in. But the worst part is coming after sunset, when the doors of the resort are closed (after 9.00 PM), since it sems there are keeping several dogs around the area, and they bark and fight all night long!!!
So you end up with rage and fury, but still no sleep... And around 2.00 PM, a group of young locals where singing and whistleling, adding again to the whole concerto of annoying noise.
We seriously thought to leave at night, but since we had to give our bikes back on the next morning and that there were probably no shuttle services at this late hour, we had to stay in the room, watching TV to spend the time. We left the island at 8.00 AM just after giving the bycicles back, and we had to pay extras for the shuttle since there were not 12 px onboard yet. But honestly, it wasn't very expensive if you consider our willing to come back home...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Divineaziatik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pulau Ubin hotels

Florence
Level Contributor
59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

It could have been so much better.

Pulau Ubin actually has its own rural, laidback charm especially if you love cycling in nature like me, without the noise and stress of being around vehicles. Stray dogs, chickens with their chicks following, wild boars are all permanent residents on this Singaporean island.

The resort itself has none of this charm. The service staff, especially the receptionists, have a lot of attitude. Not in a good way.

Lagoons are quite dirty, and the place where you kayak/snorkel is so small you can cover it in 1 minute. I don't recommend snorkelling or swimming in the lagoon. You'll see why.

Rooms are tiny, furnishings are of questionable quality, beds are narrow and uncomfortable, and toilets tiny and quite disgusting. Not even a place to put a vanity bag in the toilet.

The foot fish spa has humongous fishes and you're going to be tickled pink by them if this is your first time. It was alright.

Bicycle rental at the jetty area is a long humid wait, and the bicycles are awful. No gears (which are useful for riding up hills), not oiled, and extremely rigid. They are ok for cycling on flat terrain and downhill slopes, but if you're not Lance Armstrong you might find yourself struggling up the many treacherous slopes and having to dismount and push.

We got all the activities and the accomodation at a really good price on an online deals website, but if you're thinking of paying the full price, DON'T. It just ain't worth your money, especially because the charges for the activities are all excluded!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kittykyky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

Went on 25th Feb as a group outing with 21 pax. Bought this at deal.com at $49.90. To redeem your bicycle, u need to redeem it at Ubin Jetty and not at the resort itself. If you go to the resort first, u need to travel 2.4km out to the jetty. It is stupid but it is the way it is.

We did the fish spa, kayaking and marine fish playing the next following morning as there were hugh crowds at the lagoon & spa area. (There were actually 3 company groups in the resort)

The hornbill restaurant was nothing to shout about. It was very shorthanded and the kitchen only have 2 cooks! We ordered BBQ items from them for our BBQ dinner, the uncooked item was not even ready at 630pm...and the items came out was ridiculously slow and we constantly keep asking " we still have beef, lamp & meat items not out yet" and they "will check". In the end, they short-changed us by not giving us the fruit platters and brownies cakes which we ordered and was charged & paid for! We only recalled the missing items the following morning and there is nothing much we can do anyway.

Rooms were reasonbly comfortable. The bonus was they gave us extra mattresses and pillows for the duplexes without extra charges! Some chalet areas, during 3-4am, please be expected to be serenaded by the howlings of the dogs that are living in the chalet as well!

Breakfast was decent with eggs, hotdogs and ham sandwiches, which kept all the kids and big kids happy.

All in all, it is a reasonably good place to spend your weekend in if you are not fussy over some hipups here and there.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JutterBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Ubin
Changi Cove
#110 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Raintr33 Hotel Singapore
#211 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#33 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20,713 reviews
Siloso Beach Resort Sentosa
#12 of 13 in Sentosa Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celestial Resort Pulau Ubin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celestial Resort Pulau Ubin

Property: Celestial Resort Pulau Ubin
Address: 1000 Pulau Ubin MCC Resort, Pulau Ubin 508419, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Pulau Ubin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pulau Ubin
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celestial Resort ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Celestial Resort Pulau Ubin Hotel Pulau Ubin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing