We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great place to stay in IOM”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Looking onto the garden and driveway from the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Onchan, Isle of Man

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jimmorris...
Derry Hill, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great place to stay in IOM”
Reviewed 2 December 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the Old Stable for the umpteenth time this summer - and, as ever, we can't speak too highly of it. The accommodation is superb with great facilities and the location is excellent. Far enough away from the bustle of Douglas but near enough for either a quick drive into town, or, even better, a slow walk through Onchan down to Port Jack for a bracing stroll along the waterfront. Heaven! Karen is the perfect host - she lets you get on with your holiday without interference but is always available in case of emergencies (not that we've ever had any of those in all the years we've been visiting (touch wood)!!! Finally, the cherry on the cake.......the welcome basket that Karen provides is great and a lovely surprise upon arrival, especially her home-made goodies!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2016
Thank you so much for a lovely review hope to see you back with us soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
305Lisa
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our home away from home!”
Reviewed 29 November 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We have stayed at the Old Stable four times over the years during our semi-annual visits to the Isle of Man from our home in Vancouver, Canada and absolutely love it! The Old Stable feels like our home away from home - very welcoming after a long overseas flight! The living room/kitchen area are cozy and have everything we need to set up housekeeping. The bedrooms are very comfortable with luxuriously soft and warm bedding. We greatly appreciate the gift basket with the homemade goodies and seasonal garden produce. Of course being Canadian, we love the red and white colour scheme too! Ideal location, great hosts! Can't wait to visit again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Nov 2016
Thank you for a lovely review and we hope to see you and the family soon Lisa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol M
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic Awesome Place to stay”
Reviewed 29 November 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We have been staying at the Cottage for the last ten years for the Manx GP Week its a fabulous place to stay nothing has been over looked a home from home Karen and Gavin are perfect hosts nothing is too much trouble

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: good location but its private tucked away in a quiet peaceful place but close to everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Nov 2016
Thank you Carol hope to see you again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
j_winsley
Keynsham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous home away from home”
Reviewed 29 November 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a wonderful stay during August. Being without a car we were concerned getting around may be difficult but the location of the cottage was perfect, with the bus route being within two minutes walk. The cottage is beautiful, and has everything you could need, from wifi, sky tv, hairdryers, towels and even a fabulous welcome hamper of Manx produce and homemade goodies. The island was beautiful we made time to take the electric tram over to Ramsey, visited Peel castle and went to the wildlife park, but still didn't manage to get to see everything we wanted to so we will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcome hamper and property location.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Nov 2016
Thank you for such a great review, Gav and I would love to see you again at The Old Stable
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ted_Ha
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Charming cottage and great hospitality”
Reviewed 28 November 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Had a delightful stay in this lovely cottage. Karen and Gav were lovely hosts and made us feel so welcome. A great location from which to explore the island, and within easy reach of Douglas. Will definitely be. back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Nov 2016
Thank you for your review we would love to welcome you back in the future. Gav & Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing