We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“New Year Getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
Charming 19th Century Cottage with vast range of period features, sea views and heated private pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Charming 19th Century Cottage with vast range of period features, sea views and heated private pool
Outdoor breakfast terrace and lower patio area with Roman End Heated pool, Gas BBQ and sea views Charming Cottage with vast range of original features such as beamed ceiling and inglenook fireplace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Charming 19th Century Cottage with vast range of period features, sea views and heated private pool
Outdoor breakfast terrace and lower patio area with Roman End Heated pool, Gas BBQ and sea views
Charming Cottage with vast range of original features such as beamed ceiling and inglenook fireplace
Lounge Area with inglenook fireplace, log burner, beamed ceilings and original ledge & brace doors
Lounge with seating for 10 people
Large Conservatory with patio doors opening onto the breakfast terrace overlooking coastal views
Traditional cottage bathroom with large roll top bath and vanity unit
Cottage Kitchen with Rayburn Aga, Granite worktops, built under oven, fridge freezer and dishwasher
Welsh Dresser with crockery to enjoy an afternoon tea at poolside or in the cosy lounge
Bedroom 2 dressed with Laura Ashley soft furnishings, kingsize bed, dressing table & wardrobe
Master bedroom with Laura Ashley décor, kingsize bed where you can enjoy the sea view whilst in bed
Each window has a sea view looking over to the North Devon Coast
Beach themed twin room with vanity unit boasting country & sea views
Bedroom 4 has a small double, vanity unit and superb sea views
Downstairs W.C and wash basin for your convenience whilst sunbathing at the pool
Ground Floor bedroom suitable for ages 6 and over.
View From Oxwich Bay Hotel and Restaurant Gardens located down the road from Windyridge Cottage
Slade Bay and coastal path - few mins walk from cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Oxwich, Swansea County, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Andy H
1 review
“New Year Getaway”
Reviewed 30 March 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Thanks to Claire for renting us her lovely house over new years.

The house is very tasteful and modern, we had 3 couples and 2 children, Claire's communication was amazing throughout and she even installed baby gates and cots prior to our arrival. It is such a lovely cosy house, but still very spacious.

I really don't have anything bad to say about the rental, we didn't find we needed anything throughout the stay.

there's also lots of nice walks along the coast line which are easily accessible from the front door.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2017
Hi Andy, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. We really appreciate your feedback and are very happy you enjoyed your stay at the cottage. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best wishes Claire
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunmoonst...
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful family holiday with magnificent pool”
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a wonderful family holiday in this beautifully rennovated cottage in a very pretty village. There were plenty of very cosy bedrooms and large living rooms for all of our extended family to sleep and live comfortably together for a week; and the huge outdoor space with split level terracing by the pool made it feel more like a villa. The pool itself was a great size and depth for all of us; and as it was solar heated it was always a great temperature (even for evening swims after the kids bedtime, which was nice. For cold evenings we just put our wetsuits on so we didn't shiver when we got out!!!). There was plenty of parking and the cottage was just a short stroll from the coastal trail and Oxwich Castle. Gower itself is a wonderful place for a holiday with some amazing beaches and attractions and the cottage provided a great base to access them. The owners are also really lovely and helpful and have done a fantastic job in rennovating this cottage. We'd love to come back, thank-you so much!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2016
Hi Andrea Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review, it is very much appreciated. We're so pleased you all enjoyed your holiday and would love to welcome you back to Windyridge in the near future. Kind regards Claire
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imi K
1 review
“Pure Heaven”
Reviewed 25 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I don't usually write reviews but on this occasion I just had to go out of my way. The sheer level of care and meticulous attention to detail is astounding. Everything is thought of and the cleanliness of the cottage is second to none. We had a wonderful time with friends and spent most of the time at the cottage. We had a wondrous time just because the cottage was so well maintained and the facilities were just brilliant.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review, it is very much appreciated, we try our best to make your stay as enjoyable as possible and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future, many thanks Claire
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan703
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Gower experience”
Reviewed 6 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Our family of grandparents, parents, four children (8-15 yrs) and Aunty stayed Windy Ridge for a week at the end of May. The house is well equipped and high quality in every aspect - a delightful location and place to stay. The property is stunning and the owners had thought of every detail to make our stay relaxing and hassle free. The house really catered well for 9 people with more than enough tableware, cutlery, large pans, extra freezer space etc. The owners warmly welcomed us on arrival and ensured we had everything we needed. The house has enough room for everyone to 'do their own thing' and space to gather round/in the pool which is a good size and kept at a perfect temperature for swimming and splashing about. There are sun loungers (much used) and lots of outdoor furniture which is great in the daytime or for enjoying a glass of wine as the sun sets. Oxwich is tranquil and the views over the bay from the house are just lovely. The icing on the cake was the Gower microclimate which meant we enjoyed a whole week of very warm sunshine while back home in the Midlands was shivering at 11 degrees! We would thoroughly recommend Rhossilli (20 minutes drive away) which has the most fabulous beach and national Trust coastal walks - spectacular scenery. We have already booked a return visit to Windy Ridge next year - can't wait to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A lovely property and superb pool.
Liked least: Having to leave to come home!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2016
Hi Alan, Thank you for taking the time to give such a lovely review of our cottage, it was lovely to meet you and your family and we are delighted you had such a wonderful time at Windyridge, we very much look forward to welcoming you back next year.
Best Regards Claire
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing