We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderfully welcoming owners of superb 5* holiday...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Slade Barn Gower

Front parking
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front parking
Front lawn and decked area Level lawn and decking enclosed by stock proof fencing.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
84 reviews
Front parking
Front lawn and decked area
Level lawn and decking enclosed by stock proof fencing.
Master bedroom
Master bedroom showing en suite
Seating area viewed from kitchen
Seating area towards kitchen
Three cliffs bay 10 minutes drive from cottage
Slade sands 5 minutes walk from cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Oxwich, Swansea County, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 84 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Eggweena
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderfully welcoming owners of superb 5* holiday cottage”
Reviewed 7 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a short three night break here with our dogs on the recommendation of a friend who'd previously visited.
Everything exceeded our expectations, from the warmest of welcomes from Martin, down to the attention and detail of everything in the cottage designed with guests' comfort in mind including prosecco in the fridge, very naughty toffee waffle biscuits (melt them on top of your coffee mugs, mmm!!!), fresh flowers, personalised welcome folder, the gorgeous bathrooms with Ren toiletries - just heavenly.

The walk down to the coastal path is right opposite and took just minutes to walk down and there's a lovely sandy cove to explore or perhaps continue along the path and just drink in the amazing views.

We've had a fabulous time and Martin and Jamie deserve all the accolades for this gem of a rental - thanks guys!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2017
Hi Both , Thanks for staying with us ! so glad you enjoyed , it was a real pleasure welcoming you both , and we are delighted you enjoyed all the Barn and Area has to offer ...and thanks so much for the smashing review !! all best wishes , Martin and Jamie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edchris
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Cosy base for coastal exploration”
Reviewed 24 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We visited for a week with friends and their two boys. The barn was comfortable, clean and very well equipped. The under floor ground source heating kept us very cosy, so we didn't need to light the wood burner, though this would be a lovely feature in the winter.
Martin made us feel really welcome and provided comprehensive information, guide books and local maps. The welcome gifts of wine, flowers, bread and biscuits were a nice touch.
There are many footpaths, including the coast path, just a few minutes walk from Slade Barn, so it was possible to explore extensively without using the car. A short journey by car took us to the magnificent Rhossili beach and Downs.
A great spot for quiet relaxation, fresh air, flowers, birds, walking, beach.... we hope to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2017
Hello All ! So glad you all enjoyed the barn and all that our area in Gower has to offer ! it was great to meet you all and it would be lovely to welcome you back if you fancy another stay ! thanks fotr the review , Martin .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz B
barry island wales
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“no where else like it !!”
Reviewed 4 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

our second stay at the barn, initially before our wedding which was at a local hotel, and this year for our third anniversary. I cannot say enough about this place, although I would rather keep it a hidden gem. it's got a 5 star award any way, and it is truly deserved.
as well as being beautifully furnished and fitted to the highest standards, there is not one thing you could ask for. you could stay for a week and eat out all day long with wonderful restaurants and bars in the surrounding areas, but if you decide to make anything from a cup of tea to a full roast, everything you need is provided.
the surrounding area is nothing short of beautiful and walks and local beaches are accessible. basically its a little bit of heaven
Martin has clearly worked and planned this whole place with incredible eye for detail. its a complete pleasure to stay here -- thanks again guys xx love to you both -- hoping next time we will bring ours to enjoy those wonderful walks xx

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2017
Liz ...and co ! Thanks so very much for the lovely review !! It was a pleasure to welcome you back for your third Anniversary ..and the sun shone for you too !! let us know if you fancy a return anytime ...all the very best both ... M
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annej869
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Slade Barn”
Reviewed 20 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We stayed here for a long weekend with friends. The barn is excellent and has everything you need and more for a comfortable stay. Lovely touches like fresh flowers, prosecco in the fridge, milk and bread. The barn is beautifully decorated warm and cosy despite the cold windy weather. The area is beautiful with lots of opportunities to walk right from the door. We hope to return. Thank you Martin.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shorttrip...
Knighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Barn Envy!”
Reviewed 12 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Short break with 3 generations and 2 dogs.
Fabulous stylishly executed barn conversion with three en-suite bedrooms set at the end of a quiet lane - child and dog friendly,well presented,warm and spotlessly clean with loads of extra nice touches to set it apart.Friendly and welcoming host.
Within easy reach of everything The Gower has to offer and with undiscovered and deserted Slade Beach just minutes down the lane.
Not the cheapest in the area but quality counts and you get what you pay for.
Highly recommended.
Thankyou Martin

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Mar 2017
Thanks all !! so glad you enjoyed , It was a real pleasure to meet you all, thanks for your custom , and lovely review !!

Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing