We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A delightful cottage which is well equipped with...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Graig Cottage

Front of Cwmshon cottages
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of Cwmshon cottages
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Front of Cwmshon cottages
Double bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Our local nature reserve Cwm Du Glen
The valley is home to the National Showcaves, 25 mins from the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Pontardawe, Vale of Glamorgan, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Annemarie...
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A delightful cottage which is well equipped with all mod cons.”
Reviewed 21 September 2017 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed here for a weekend and were able to catch up with washing and ironing (necessary after a few weeks travelling around England) as well as visiting the Brecon Mountain Railway and Dan yr Ogof caves. We would love to stay longer next time and visit the Gower and other attractions. There is so much to see and do around here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Christmas 2013”
Reviewed 20 September 2017 for a stay in December 2015

We had a lovely stay in Cwmshon Cottage in a December 2013, on a visit to my family in Wales.
The cottage was very comfortable and Fiona our host couldn't do enough to make our stay at Christmas feel like home. She organized a beautifully decorated Christmas tree, organized cooking utilities for the a turkey the turkey and made a delicious home made cake.
The cottage is well located and close to local shops.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sespley10
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Comfy cottage in great location”
Reviewed 18 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Clean, well equipped cottage, handy for coast and Brecon Beacon attractions. We enjoyed trips to National Caves and the Gower beaches.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris_tro...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Full of character”
Reviewed 15 September 2017 for a stay in January 2015

We had a very warm welcome from the owner when we stayed at this cottage. They were really helpful and full of ideas about what to do and there was a supply of maps and tide times etc. The cottage was very cosy, spotlessly clean and well equipped. We used the location to explore surrounding area - beautiful countryside including the Gower Peninsula. We liked it so much we have stayed here twice.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise C
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Cozy Pet Friendly Cottage”
Reviewed 15 September 2017 for a stay in April 2015

This is actually the second review I've written for Graig Cottage, as sadly due to bereavement, previous review was lost. I'm delighted to be able to help by re-submitting a review for what was an absolutely fantastic cottage, in wonderful area.

The cottage itself is one of a pair, one is dog friendly, the other pet free. The garden was secure, and had off road parking, so immediate needs fully met!

The cottage itself is cozy and warm. Really well appointed kitchen (even had sharp knives which is I think the best measure of a holiday rental), meant we could cook easily and well. Utility/boot room was fantastic for all our boots and coats as yes, we did get some rain.

There was plenty of room in the cottage for our family of four and the beds were really comfortable, shower very powerful (another good rental test passed).

There are wonderful walks easily possible from the cottage, and we also climbed Pen Y Fan whilst there - a real achievement, even though we were walking in snow at times, we had a great time.

The local town of Pontardawe is well equipped with a big Tesco - but also head into the town for more local produce. The butcher in particular was outstanding!

The other thing that made our stay in Cwmshon so special was the welcome we received from the owner. We arrived to a warm bara brith and Fiona was always on hand with guidance and advice on walks. Nothing was too much trouble.

I would absolutely recommend this cottage to anyone looking for a getaway break, even more so for those who enjoy time in the kitchen - you'll have everything you need.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing