We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (349)
Filter reviews
349 results
Traveller rating
265
45
26
11
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
265
45
26
11
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgas firetasting menugenuine hospitalitydrawing roomsunday lunchfabulous foodduckfamily get togethercodoriginal featureswithout being intrusivean overnight stayfrom start to finishcourse dinnerboth nightsspecial thankssecond to none
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 349 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2018

Very good place - good food, very nice and helpful staff, and has a nice Irish feeling to it (not formal, a little rough at some edges in a good way). Only quibble that stopped me giving it a five-star review is that our room was really hot and we couldn't figure out why when the radiators weren't on....but a bit of a minor moan. Would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean M, General Manager at Ardtara Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Thank you for your kind review; I'm delighted you enjoyed both the food and the hospitality taht we offer here at artara and I look forwrd to welcoming you back in the future.

Seán

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018

Warmly welcomed when we arrived. House full of character. Very comfortable room with better than average tea/coffee making facilities and excellent firm bed. Bathroom fittings a little dated. Dining was an excellent experience. Breakfast of equally high quality. Little things make the difference: I asked for mustard and would have been content with any good quality jar of mustard. Instead, after a few minutes, a small pot of freshly made mustard appeared.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BelfastDubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean M, General Manager at Ardtara Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2018

Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us and hope that you make it back to Ardtara in the near future.
Seán

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018 via mobile

Stunning House. Food is outstanding and staff are very welcoming. You will not beat this as a place to stay in Derry/Londonderry. The dinner I had this evening was above and beyond the best I have had in a long time. It started with a mise bouche of deepfried cod and sauce, then a wow artichoke and mushroom soup, then a duck starter presented akin to a ancient Irish boat, and this was paired with a lovely long-legged Cab Sauv and then the beef main course was paired with a subtle Syrah which was exquisite. The dining room is like a scene from an old fashioned hunting lodge, but as the Owner and you will realize you are sitting amidst history and you must bow your longevity with a sense of Noblesse Oblige!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank Gourmand B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean M, General Manager at Ardtara Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Thank you Gourmand for your generous and wonderful review. We are very proud of our chefs here: they take a lot of time and care over the preparation and cooking of their dishes, and we have spent a lot of time investigating and trying the wines to match.....
We are blessed by having such a stunning old house with so many original features - our job is merely to preserve and prtect them.

Hopefully we will see you back in Ardtara very soon.

Seán

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2018 via mobile

We booked Ardtara House because we wanted somewhere that was equal distance from Derry and Belfast so that we could meet to celebrate our Mum's birthday. I also know Browns On The Green in Letterkenny and their other restaurants in Derry so I knew the food would be good.
We were all delighted. It was beautiful food, lovely relaxed atmosphere and we were also blessed with a beautiful day so after lunch we just chilled out on the lawn.
£24.95 for Sunday lunch is such good value for this quality. Everyone must also try the Chocolate Marquise delicious. Thanks to everyone at Ardtara for a lovely day. Next time we're going to book in for the night.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank Toni F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean M, General Manager at Ardtara Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Thank you for your generous review. I'm delighted that we were able to help you celebrate your Mother's birthday and that you had a great time at Ardtara. Hopefully we will see you soon.

Seán

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018 via mobile

We have just returned from a heavenly two night stay in Ardtara. We feel like we've been on holiday for a week.Cannot fault a single thing about our stay. The staff make the place and every one we met was genuinely welcoming and helpful. The service is five star from beginning to end.

The food is incredible.We had dinner there on both nights and lunch on the Sunday on the front lawn to take advantage of the beautiful weather.Every single thing we ate was delicious.

The cosy bar is just right for chilling out after dinner.Tried some of their local spirits which were fantastic.

Ardtara it had been ten yrs since we last stayed with you but we won't leave it as long again. We're already plotting when we get back to stay again.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank dublinboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean M, General Manager at Ardtara Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

It was lovely to be able to welcome you back to Ardtara and I'm glad that we were able to make your stay both pleasurable and memorable. You certainly picked a perfect weekend to be able to chill out on our lawn! I hope you bring the good weather with you the next time that you come to stay with us.

Take care.
Seán

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews