We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Flavor of Korea” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Korean Folk Village

Korean Folk Village
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 55.00*
and up
Korean Folk Village Afternoon Tour from Seoul
Ranked #2 of 38 things to do in Yongin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
219 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great Flavor of Korea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

We went on a crowded weekend day, but it was still worth it. You get a real sense of "old" Korea.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank lncclc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    218
    53
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
seattle
Level Contributor
152 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Still beautiful BUT don't go midweek if you want to avoid large school groups”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

I had not been to the Korean Folk Village in over 25 years but it is still a wonderful place to visit and worthy the 20,000 KRW entrance fee for adults. I went midweek and the place was over run by groups of preschoolers and elementary students. They are adorable and the place was filled with laughter. To get there, I took the subway to Gangnam station(line 2) and then took exit 3 out of the station and walked straight for 3 minutes to the front of "Worri" bank (you cab't miss it) . At Worri bank you cross the street to the halfway point where the bus island is. The second bus stop to your left is the stop for bus #5001-1. The number is on the front of the bus and there is an electric monitor at each bus stop telling you which buses depart and how long until the next bus. (bus#5001-1 comes by about every 10 minutes). The fare is 1,800 KRW and the trip takes about 50 + depending on traffic. I had the hotel concierge write out "Korean Folk Village" in Korean and I showed it to the bus driver. Put your money in the plastic receptacle as you board and grab your change if needed. Enter bus from the front and depart from the rear. The approaching bus stops are announced in English. Get off at the Korean Folk Museum stop and you will see a huge parking lot across the street. Cross over to the parking lot and go right. Walk all the way down to end of lot and you will see ticket window. To return to Seoul, just go to the bus stop opposite where you got off and look for same bus number 5001-1.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
12 Thank travelmutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Culture and history appreciation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

Travellers / Visitors to korea will get a better understanding and appreciation of Korean culture and tradition after going to Korean Folk Village. We think it is value for money.It is a good place to explore and see the an old korean village and some of its traditional equipment.. There are 4 performance depicting the various activities in the korean tradition such as the farmers' dance, acrobatics act, equestrian feats and the traditional wedding show. At certain houses and station, you may also interact with the village folks for a Q & A session if you wish to know more. Non korean speaking visitors may wish to engage a guide. Overall, it is a good attraction. We were there on the 16th of July inspite of the drizzle.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank JerryThirteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
394 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“This was the highlight of my trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

I had a half day tour with my conference to the Korean Folk Village. We benefited by having a Korean translator to help us understand what we were looking at. I loved it. You get to see the way a village would have looked in the past. They have music and dance performances that are awesome. We also bought many hand crafted gifts there. The place is huge so plan to spend the whole day there!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
6 Thank Columbus9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“DON'T GO LATE!!! YOU NEED A FULL DAY THERE TO ENJOY THE PLACE AND SHOW!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2011

If you want to go to Korean Folk Village(KFV), take a KTX from Seoul Station direct to Suwon Station... go out from the station building, turn left, walk about 50m, you will see a tourist info centre, you may buy the KFV entrance fee(15,000 won) there and get the ticket for free shuttle bus service to KFV. Go early so that you will have enough time there to enjoy and see their show... the last free shuttle bus back to Suwon Station is 4.30pm... dont miss it! ENJOY!!!

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
21 Thank cyleong14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Korean Folk Village also viewed

 
Seoul, South Korea
 

Been to Korean Folk Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing