We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Third Stay at Barnfield”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
5-bedroom 4-bathroom country house with 2-acre garden View southwards, from the deck and house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
5-bedroom 4-bathroom country house with 2-acre garden
View southwards, from the deck and house
Large drawing room with comfortable seating and wood-burning stove
Dining hall with table that extends to seat 10 comfortably.
Well-equipped kitchen
Breakfast area in the kitchen
Looking into the study
Master bedroom with super-king bed, walk-in wardrobe and ensuite bathroom
Guest bedroom with king bed
Guest bedroom with twins
Master bedroom ensuite bathroom
One of three family bathrooms
another of 3 family bathrooms
Corridor linking the bedrooms
3rd floor landing library
Lots of private parking space for all guests
Al fresco dining pergola
Wisteria-covered pergola with teakwood dining table for alfresco eating
A stunning Spring garden
Fab views in autumn!
Fab views in winter!
Stunning five-bedroom country home set in 2-acre gardens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Hawkhurst, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
SueWeller...
2 reviews
“Third Stay at Barnfield”
Reviewed 13 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We have just had our third stay at Barnfield House and as ever it was perfect. We are a group of six ladies and it works beautifully, plenty of bedrooms and bathrooms, we love sitting in the spacious lounge chatting or cooking in the lovely large kitchen. The views are spectacular and Hawkhurst and surrounding areas are beautiful but to be honest we enjoy staying in the comfort of the home socialising. We are already planning our 4th trip back.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2016
We're thrilled that you're staying for a fourth year running, Sue ? Barnfield House really is your home-from-home now, and we feel like family! I hope we'll finally get to meet at your 2016 reunion.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochelle...
New York City, New York
1 review
“Idyllic Vacation”
Reviewed 27 April 2015 for a stay in December 2014

My family and I spent an idyllic week at Barnfield House over the Christmas period. The house is spacious with all of the amenities we required for a party of eight. The views are breathtaking. We were extremely lucky with the weather and were even able to enjoy a Christmas breakfast on the terrace! The village with two supermarkets and a cinema/coffeehouse was just a short walk from the house. We have some wonderful memories of being all together in a comfortable, beautiful, and relaxing home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2016
Thank you for your kind words, Rochelle....am so happy you have some wonderful memories of your time at Barnfield House. The views are indeed breathtaking, whatever the season, especially from the dining deck...but a Christmas day breakfast alfresco is a rare event in England!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete W
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Wonderful place for a get-together with friends or family”
Reviewed 13 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Spent 4 delighted nights at Barnfield House during half term.

The house is large with 5 good sized double or twin bedrooms upstairs, 3 reception rooms and a kitchen downstairs. Plenty of room for a large group to spend time together without feeling on top of each other. Excellent water pressure in bathrooms and the kitchen is extremely well-equipped.

I personally loved the decor with its oriental inspiration. Reminded me of happy times in South East Asia.

The garden is huge and perfect for exploring (and exercising small children).

Lots of good walks or running routes direct from the front door.

We visited the Black Pig and Queens Inn in the village; both excellent although I think the Black Pig was our favourite.

Camber Sands only 30 mins away. Perfect for kids in any weather. Aquarium in Hastings worth a visit if indoors is the only option.

Overall, really excellent accommodation with all the comforts of home. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2016
We're delighted your family enjoyed their half term break., and really appreciate your lovely review. WE love having multi-generation families to stay, and as you say, there's plenty of room for a large group to spend time together without feeling on top of each other! And kids love playing ball games and exploring the gardens. I wonder if it was your kids who created a wonderful 'den' by the pond...it looks wonderful and the wild ducks seem to like it too!
(Sorry for the late reply...I have only just realised I can reply on Trio Advisor!)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
russelljb...
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic house with amazing views”
Reviewed 14 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We had a lovely stay at the house over New Year with friends; the owners were very welcoming and the house was everything we hoped for with plenty of living space and good size bedrooms and bathrooms. The views are stunning and the local area has lots of nice walks and great country pubs. We would definitely visit the property again.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LukePeter...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Enchanting idyll with brilliant hosts!”
Reviewed 14 January 2015 for a stay in June 2013

From the moment we arrived at Barnfield House, the serenity and warmth of this beautiful spot won us over. The house is spacious and comfortable, with everything needed to accommodate our large group of friends with three toddlers, who loved exploring the gardens, spotting bunnies and searching for the elusive ducks. The kitchen is the best-equipped we've encountered. A great stay – thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing