We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you love gardening you will love this cafe...”

The Walled Nursery Cafe
Ranked #3 of 18 Restaurants in Hawkhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 9 - USD 13
Description: A beautiful cafe set within a Victorian Vinery.., breakfast served from 8.30 to 10.30 mid week, 9 - 12pm Saturday and 10 - 12pm Sunday, fresh daily lunch specials served from 12pm - 3pm and afternoon teas and cakes. Closed on Mondays.
Restaurant details
Description: A beautiful cafe set within a Victorian Vinery.., breakfast served from 8.30 to 10.30 mid week, 9 - 12pm Saturday and 10 - 12pm Sunday, fresh daily lunch specials served from 12pm - 3pm and afternoon teas and cakes. Closed on Mondays.
Reviewed 26 February 2018

An amazing location in one of the 13 glasshouses they are restoring in their 2 acre walled garden nursery. So wonderful to see such a rare collection of Victorian glasshouses finally being restored to their former glory. The cafe was a lovely warm oasis on a cold February day, when really it’s too early to be able to get out into your own garden. A really nice quirky design layout of the interiors of their glasshouses being used for their lovely nursery, shop and cafe. We stopped for afternoon tea and cake, finding the cafe busy with log burning stoves keeping everyone snug and a great choice of excellent cakes. We would definitely visit again anytime we are in that area.

2  Thank purplemyrtles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WalledNursery2010, Owner at The Walled Nursery Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Thank you for your lovely review, we pass all of the reviews on to our team and it really gives us a boost so we appreciate you taking the time to write this. All the best, Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2018 via mobile

Having stopped for tea and cake earlier in the week, we decided to return for breakfast yesterday (Friday). And we’re very glad we did.

The cafe is great - based in a converted hothouse, with gravel underfoot and old garden implements adorning the walls. Great atmosphere.

I had homemade granola with fruit and yogurt while my husband had baked eggs with chorizo and potatoes. Both dishes were delicious.

The service was friendly and charming.

All in all, a wonderful experience.

Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WalledNursery2010, Owner at The Walled Nursery Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2018

Thank you for your lovely review, we're so pleased that you returned for breakfast and enjoyed it. The baked eggs with chorizo is a new item and my firm new favourite as well. We look forward to welcoming you back one day. all the best, Monty and Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017

I came across this little treasure whilst lost on the way to Tonbridge Wells.
What an absolute find!
I tried the Beetroot and Spinach Wellington which was delicious. I followed it with the excellent stick toffee pudding - yum!
The staff were knowledgeable, friendly and attentive.
I’ll definitely be back.

Thank phelgess0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WalledNursery2010, Owner at The Walled Nursery Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Hello, thank you for taking the time to leave us this review. We're really pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us. The Beetroot Wellington that we have on at the moment is indeed delicious! We wish you all the best, Monty and Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017

Take a wander into the potting shed and find yourself transported like Alice in Wonderland into a delightful glazed atrium of a greenhouse and a very cosy spot for breakfast, brunch or afternoon tea. Beautifully decorated for Christmas, offering all items displayed for sale along with their regular gardening gifts, tools, books and plants.

The greenhouses have been turned into a lovely unusual spot to eat, with two large woodburning stoves giving a welcoming feel, ample parking outside and great service within.

I only wish we had arrived earlier to sample breakfast/brunch as lunch was quite limited but that said, the Leek Soup was delicious.

Off the beaten track but a treat to discover.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bellhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WalledNursery2010, Owner at The Walled Nursery Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Hello, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we're really pleased that you enjoyed your visit. All the best, Monty and Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017

Called into The Walled Nursery Café as we see this advertised. Was quite surprised at the layout , quirky.
looked at the menu and was very disappointed at the lack of choice.
Ordered Pancakes with maple syrup with bacon, Pouched eggs with bacon on toast and toast on the side
Pancakes came up without the bacon, told the waitress., she went away to get bacon.
Pouched eggs and bacon was on 1 piece of toast .Pancakes were lovely
Toast on side arrived 10 minutes after our breakfast .which was not very good service.
We finished our breakfast and then the bacon arrived , which we refused as we had eaten our breakfast . Must admit the food was very nice but the waitress service was very poor,
All in all the breakfast wasn't worth £20.10p. When we paid there was not even a explanation why there was such a terrible service.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank fugglestom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WalledNursery2010, Manager at The Walled Nursery Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

As the Cafe Manager, I thank you for your detailed feedback above and for the positive note on the quality of the food. I've reviewed the situation with our team and understand that there was an issue which we have discussed and hopefully rectified for the future.
While we try to maintain an excellent reputation, I know that mistakes can be made once in a while and hope that you'll visit again and enjoy a warm welcome.
Once again, thanks for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Walled Nursery Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Walled Nursery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing