We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful venue for a family holiday or a quiet...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private heated pool Lounge with magnificent Normandy fireplace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Private heated pool
Lounge with magnificent Normandy fireplace
Spacious twin room 2
Beamed dining room seats 12
The South facing terrace is a real suntrap
Fully equipped kitchen
Ensuite bedroom 1
Spacious lounge with fabulous beamed ceiling
Double bedroom 3
View to the private pool
Bedroom 4
La Germainiere from the fields
One of the amazing, unspoilt beaches nearby
Gavray calf market
Reigneville estuary
Coutances cathedral
Granville harbour
Beautiful Normandy countryside
One of the many colourful markets
Mont St Michel is a popular tourist destination
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Gavray, Manche, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Road10292...
1 review
“A wonderful venue for a family holiday or a quiet get away.”
Reviewed 27 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

A spacious and well equipped farmhouse, the heated pool is a great asset; the grandchildren were swimming at every opportunity. The nearby zoo is well worth a visit. Good bakery in Hambye - only a few minutes on the back roads, the bar / restaurant in Grimesnil saved us with a lovely take away meal when everywhere else was closed for a fete day.
We could have done with a few more indoor toys and board games for the children. We were a bit disappointed that Estelle & Thierry arrived at 0915 to clean the house & pool, we were planning to be away by 1000 and would have just squeezed in a final swim.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2017
Thank you so much for your review of your holiday at La Germainiere. I'm so glad you and your family had such a good time and your grandchildren loved the heated pool.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan R
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We had a wonderful time.”
Reviewed 18 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This beautiful house was perfect for our party of two families. Each family had 3 children and there was plenty of room. It had all the facilities we needed, and was located well for some beautiful day trips.
We stayed for 9 nights and could have easily stayed longer.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2017
Thank you so much for your review of your holiday in our Normandy farmhouse La Germainiere. I'm so glad that you had a wonderful time and enjoyed your stay so much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BackPacke...
1 review
“very good”
Reviewed 23 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

a good location and a very nice house for familly . clean and quiet with swimming pool and games for kids .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: a very nice house
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Oct 2016
Thank you so much for your review of La Germainiere. I am so pleased you really liked the house and enjoyed your stay in Normandy. We hope to welcome again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve F
Brockholes, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Trip to see TdF”
Reviewed 1 October 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We were a party of 7 'Senior Cyclists' (all 60+ years old) looking for a house to spend a holiday in Normandy and see the first 3 stages of the Tour de France. La Germainiere was our first choice - by some margin - and it did not dissapoint at all! The house is in a brilliant location. Peacefull, secluded and superbly equipped. The pool is superb and the Grandads amongst us remarked on the useful safety features that would keep small children from gaining unaccompanied access. As cyclists we travelled light and appreciated the washing and drying facilities, particularly as the first part of the week was a little damp!
The house is a great place to stay and I would heartily reccomend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Plenty of internal space and the pool.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2016
Thanks so much Stephenfor your review. I'm so glad you had a great time staying in La Germainiere and seeing the Tour de France. As you say it is such a brilliant location and so peaceful and great for all ages. I hope we can welcome you all again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob j
1 review
“Perfect accommodation for our Ruby Wedding Celebrations”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We took our extend family of 3 couples and 4 grandchildren to La Gernainiere to celebrate our Ruby wedding. It could not have been better. It was spacious, clean and well equipped.
The pool was very warm and used every day, the weather was perfect, The area is so family friendly with coast, small towns, walks all in close proximity and all just over an hours drive down from Cherbourg ferry port. The booking process was trouble free with very good comms from the owner. Everything was as described on the comprehensive website. We will definitely be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the pool anf the homely accommodation
Liked least: nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I'm so glad your celebrations went so well and you all loved the house and pool. We look forward to welcoming you again sometime soon. Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing