We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful and Relaxing”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private heated pool Lounge with magnificent Normandy fireplace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Private heated pool
Lounge with magnificent Normandy fireplace
Spacious twin room 2
Beamed dining room seats 12
The South facing terrace is a real suntrap
Fully equipped kitchen
Ensuite bedroom 1
Spacious lounge with fabulous beamed ceiling
Double bedroom 3
View to the private pool
Bedroom 4
La Germainiere from the fields
One of the amazing, unspoilt beaches nearby
Gavray calf market
Reigneville estuary
Coutances cathedral
Granville harbour
Beautiful Normandy countryside
One of the many colourful markets
Mont St Michel is a popular tourist destination
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Gavray, Manche, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jonathan...
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Peaceful and Relaxing”
Reviewed 15 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

What an amazing cottage. Beautiful place with even better surroundings, set in the middle of fields where nobody can see or trouble you it has to be one of the most relaxing places I have ever been to. I loved the location set in a very quiet area with a few cows walking around the fields next to it. A nice long drive from the road sets it back. The pool was heated and perfect I enjoyed early morning sunrise swims and the children loved it in the afternoon. The house itself was presented really well, everything you need is in the house. Kitchen has everything you need, the lounge is cosy we a nice open fire for those chilly evenings. We visited the local town's and markets around the cottage and drove to a few places such as Rennes which isn't to far away. Coutance is only 15mins away if that and has 2 huge supermarkets which stock everything you need and beyond, and lovely little town with a market. The cottage is a drive from everything you cant walk to anything (there is a pub near by up the road to the left but its never open) Theres plenty of walks around the cottage. It really is a beautiful place to stay we didn't want to come back. We have booked again and cant wait !

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen F
Twyford, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a fabulous place!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 for a stay in May 2014

La Germainiere truly was a wonderful place to stay. It is tucked away surrounded by fields (and cows) and is so peaceful. We had a fabulous time visiting local markets and exploring the local surroundings. The house itself is very well equipped and our toddler loved playing in the pool which was perfect as it was heated. We also had a very young baby with us and the house offered everything we could have wanted. The owners were incredibly easy to deal with and were very helpful. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay, we will be returning!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate12345...
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A piece of heaven for the whole family, young and old”
Reviewed 25 February 2014 for a stay in July 2013

A sensational spot, tucked in a beautiful valley with only the sound of birds to wake you up in the morning, this really is a slice of heaven. We stayed for a week with 3 families all with young children, it was perfect. The children were happy jumping in and out of the pool for hours, playing swing ball and badminton on the lawn, boule in the driveway and table tennis if the weather wasn't great. You can walk along a beautiful path and country lane to the local bar for supper. The beach is only a 15 minute drive away. The calf market in Gavray is a must, with wonderful local produce. So many great restaurants/cafes locally. The accommodation in the house is fabulous, a real treat and a home away from home. All in all a wonderful holiday for all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet location and beautiful house
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eve M
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Large farmhouse in beautiful peaceful setting”
Reviewed 30 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We stayed at La Germainiere in November for a few nights at the end of a long overseas trip. The only downside? That we didn't stay longer.

Big airy comfortable rooms, fully equipped for cooking, washing, relaxing, privacy. Everything you'd need.

The house is private and surrounded by beautiful countryside, totally conducive for a relaxing quiet stay. Hambye, a nearby village, had all of the amenities we needed, supermarket, boulangerie, butcher etc.

I couldn't recommend staying at La Germainiere strongly enough and just hope I can visit again soon,

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Churr0s
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A blissful place to relax in the heart of beautiful French countryside”
Reviewed 30 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

La Germainiere is the sort of place where you relax from the minute you arrive. It's an absolutely beautiful classic Normandy farmhouse tucked down a quiet country lane and it feels as though everything is laid on to ensure you have a peaceful and enjoyable stay. The pool area is just perfect - permanently in sun (it seemed) with a seating area, table with shade and changing hut. The water that never once felt cold and the thoughtful addition of a security gate offers peace of mind if you have toddlers. Our son was rarely out of the pool for more than an hour or two and it was in sun early enough for the grown ups to get in a very pleasant few laps before breakfast. Elsewhere, there's a big outdoor dining table with sunshade, barbeque area with sheltered seating (just in case -though we were lucky with the weather), really comfortable bedrooms with plenty of bathrooms and showers, a well appointed kitchen and a gorgeous open fire for those long summer evenings getting stuck into the Calvados. It was pretty hard to unstick ourselves from the house and its lovely gardens but when we did decide to venture out there were some pretty local walks, wild dunes and beaches no more than half an hour's drive away and a clutch of gorgeous restaurants - although eating out is a tricky call given the wealth of amazing food available at local markets and on the morning run to our favourite boulangerie at St Denis. It somehow seems a minor miracle that the journey from England is so quick and simple - a ferry to Cherbourg and a 90 minute drive south but it's one I hope we'll be doing again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and the general feel of the place
Liked least: leaving!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing