We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing meal”
Review of Captain Jack's

Captain Jack's
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Portobelo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 8 - USD 23
Cuisines: Asian, French, Italian, Thai
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Reviewed 17 February 2018

I have to say I was a bit worried by the name, was afraid it would be a touristy place with blah food. Thankfully wrong! Fabulous food and an incredibly charming and knowledgeable chef/waiter. The tuna was to die for and the calamari excellent.
So sad that I will probably never be in Portobelo again. Great experience !


A quick note on the attached hotel...2 positive 1negative
Positive....nicest public bathroom I had seen in panama.. ( hey that does matter )
Great view and water for swimming and relaxing.
Negative......we weren’t staying there but the owner let us rent a spot with
“Beach chairs” for 60k pesos for a few hours ( 4 of us )
What we got was one lounge chair, one lounge with no legs
Then 2 plastic chairs. To top it off an hour or so in someone
Came back from a boat ride and got upset as they had also
Had that spot from them. C’mon...if you hav a place on the water
Make sure you have th basics like lounges.
Owner basically didn’t care...

Thank Jerry Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff B, Manager at Captain Jack's, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2018

Thanks for the nice review jerry! Glad you liked our food! Sorry the beach experience wasn’t what it could have been. We’ll pass on the note and see if they can get better!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2018 via mobile

We ate here tree nights in a row. The first night was so good that we just wated to enjoy here every evening. After one month of travelling it was a releave to eat at Jack’s. Jack and all his staff are really nice and helpfull. Even Angy the daughter of the cook (I assume) was so cute to our little baby boy Sue.

The view is amazing too. Don’t hestitate and get some real good food at Captain Jack’s.

Thank Iris_more
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff B, Manager at Captain Jack's, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Gracias! We appreciate the nice comments. We wish you well...Angie as well

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018 via mobile

Spent couple of nights in hotel and done in on site restaurant which was managed separately to hotel. Both were great. Very service minded and flexible. However, the Thai food at Jack's was a big positive surprise.

Thank Henry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff B, Manager at Captain Jack's, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Thanks how you come back food. We’ll work on more surprises!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018 via mobile

We stopped there for lunch, we were amazed how clean and confortable is this place, the meal was so good and even the owner came to us to greet us and ask us about how was the food. This place is a must if you are visiting Portobelo

Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff B, Manager at Captain Jack's, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Thanks for coming! Come back and see us if you’re in the neighborhood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

It's the epitome of the Caribbean vibe - complete with Marley in the background. Loved everything about the place - the food, the drinks, the decor, and most importantly the service. We had personal attention from Jack and loved hearing his stories. The mahi mahi tacos were fabulous and the coconut rice the best I have ever had. Would absolutley come back (if I was staying in Panma longer or came back).

Thank Kristi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff B, Manager at Captain Jack's, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Thanks Kristi! Who knows maybe we’ll see you again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Captain Jack's also viewed

Portobelo, Colon Province
Portobelo, Colon Province
 
Portobelo, Colon Province
Portobelo, Colon Province
 
Portobelo, Colon Province
Portobelo, Colon Province
 

Been to Captain Jack's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing