We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“High quality accomodation with stunning scenery”
The Stable
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Stable
the sitting room the shepherd's hut nestling below ancient oaks
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
The Stable
the sitting room
the shepherd's hut nestling below ancient oaks
a table with a view...
king sized room with plenty of space for a cot or child's guest bed
space to store a bike or two
the view over the glorious Golden Valley
the twin room
up to 2 dogs welcome
ideal for a celebration
view over ancient woodland
always sheep to see
the double bed in the shepherd's hut for 2 extra guests - has it's own wood burner
one of the neighbours!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Vowchurch, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dysondog
West Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“High quality accomodation with stunning scenery”
Reviewed 3 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The property is perched high up well away from the minor road below - so peace and quiet is guaranteed. The view from the garden over The Golden Valley towards The Black Mountains is lovely - especially when sat outside with a glass of wine. The owners Farmhouse is close by, but in no way intrusive. Ali is a friendly host, there if you need to ask anything. I would say rather than a stable the size of the property is more accurately described as converted barn. Plenty of room for four people. On my visit there were two of us and our dog Dyson. The master bedroom is a very good size with a drench shower in the en suite that once in I took some persuading to come out again. There is a good size bath in the twin bedroom's en suite if you fancy a soak. Downstairs toilet as well - so no fear of queuing! The kitchen is high tech / modern with a breakfast bar. The feel of the entire property is a good mix of traditional and to date which fits well. Linen, towels and cushions etc are of good quality - better than most 4* hotels I have stayed in. Have to mention the lemon cake that comes with the welcome pack - I don't have a sweet tooth but was converted for this treat. Adjacent the property is a fenced off area with ducks and chickens that we both found very amusing - some interesting characters amongst them (calling and running ducks I learnt were two breeds from talking with Ali). The garden of The Stable is well fenced off and our hound always remained enclosed. I have stayed in 20+ holiday rental / cottages and have to say this is definitely the best quality accommodation so far. Location wise, we took our bikes and there are some nice rides direct from the farm. The drive/track from the road to The Stables is a bit of a challenge. The Black and White villages ride is scenic easy cycling with nice pubs along the route - need to take bikes to start point. The Bridge Inn is 10 minutes drive or 25 minutes on the bike with a good climb. We stored our cycles in the utility room which is secure. To drive to Hay on Wye or Hereford is about 12 miles. Leominster, Ross on Wye and Ledbury within easy driving range. Nearly forgot to mention the shepherds hut in the garden, same standard inside as The Stable. As there is a heater it was nice to sit in there a couple of evenings with the top half of the door open - all you could hear were swallows, ducks and the occasional sheep. 7 night stay - total relaxation.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2016
Thank you so much for such a glowing review. It was lovely to meet you and Dyson the dog. You were blessed with wonderful weather in which to enjoy some of the long list of things there are to do in the area. I am glad you made use of the shepherd's hut - there is now a screech owl in the oak next to it, calling in the evenings!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina F
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautifully restored stable”
Reviewed 26 October 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at The Stable in July 2014 having stayed at the main barn at Christmas. The barns have been creatively and beautifully restored making our stay here truely enjoyable. Both barns were fully equipped and both had wonderful views of the surrounding countryside.
We could not have asked for anything more-however Ali is also a wonderful cook and provided us with cake, marmalade and chutney-yummy!
We will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen, Shower & the view
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kent, UK
Reviewed 5 August 2014 for a stay in June 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quirky little extras in the house and the view.
Liked least: Getting to the loo from the shepherd's hut
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gloucestershiire
Reviewed 6 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet, relaxing and lovely cosy feel
Liked least: There are some logs, enough for one fire but I would have liked more logs included in the price in the winter months which we have had at other properties we've rented
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing