We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
23
29
5
1
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
29
5
1
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mini fridge crashing waves beach front huts camping ocean electricity
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2015

For starters, The Mayan Village Resort is located in one of the most remote and beautiful places along the Mexican coast. You walk out the front door of your cabana and you are literally ON the beach. The beach has fantastic waves for surfing and swimming, yet there is almost no one around. There is a resort attached the Mayan Village which offers foods and drinks. But be forewarned, the food and are drinks are ridiculously expensive! I suppose they can charge it though, considering the closest town is about 4 miles up the road. If you are planning on staying at the Mayan Village Resort I would recommend going to a grocery store on the way to pick up some food and beers to keep in your fridge. I would also recommend that for meals you drive up the road to Todos Santos or Los Pescaderos where you will find delicious authentic Mexican food for dirt cheap. The only other downside to this resort is the lack of AC/fans in the room. Being that it gets extremely hot, even during the night, it makes it quite difficult to fall asleep. That would be the only reason I give it a 4 instead of 5. But then again also remember that is cabana camping, not resort living. As long as you have an open mind about your experience you are going to love this place.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Taylor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2015

After reading some reviews on here, i was very hesitant about staying here. I purchased a voucher from the Clymb - $100 for 5 nights. It seemed like a great deal so I went for it. Overall we had a great experience. The beach was gorgeous and the tacos in Todos Santos/El Pescadero were on point. We went early September and basically had the resort/beach to ourselves. Didn't have any gnarly experiences with bugs..yes there were big beetles and lizards, but they seemed to stay out of our cabana. Mosquitoes got pretty bad at night. The mosquito net they provide did not keep them out. We had brought our own 'double sized' net that fit perfectly over the queen bed. Highly suggest bringing one of those if mosquitoes get to you. Like everyone else said - this is basically beach camping. Bring your own food and drinks. The only places close to eat at is the bar and at the Surf Colony restaurant.
Would go back, but probably wouldn't pay much more than I did. I would say you need to rent a car if staying here. To check in-follow signs to the Mayan Village and park next to the cabanas. Walk towards the concrete orange rooms, go past the pool and bar and the office will be on your right. (It was pretty confusing when we got there).

Suggestions - Have portable fans available for every cabana. Clean up the sticks on the beach so guests don't have to walk over sharp stick piles to get to the ocean. Make it a bit clearer how to check in..it took us 20 minutes to figure out where to go. And get some taco stands on the beach!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LindsayK640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2015

This place was horrible. Even though we had it booked for a week we left after less than 24 hours. The pool was disgusting, dead crabs and bugs were in it. You could not even seen the bottom of the pool it was so murky. The bathrooms were outdoor style, which would have been fine if they were better maintained. Doors were hanging off the hinges and half of the toilets were clogged. The showers had extremely low water pressure. Additionally the sinks were filled with all kinds of bugs. The fan in our room was not working properly so it was extremely hot. To top it all off, in the middle of the night a crab the size of my hand fell from the ceiling onto my pillow! Save your money and go somewhere in Cabo where you can find a place just as cheap and 100% better!

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Jackie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2015

We stayed there in July. We read all the reviews. We had the right expectations. This was camping. We understood what we were signing up for. We loved the beach, the staff, the restaurant was a bit pricey but so what. We had to keep everything in the fridge but again were ok with that. Sometimes the bathroom did not have water but we managed. We went swimming, went for long walks on the beach, drove around. Everyone was nice and friendly. We were having a great time till day 4 when the bugs came out. I don't believe they were mosquitoes. My next door Neighboor was being devoured as well. I have over 100 bites on one arm. They were blood stains on the sheet from where we squashed the bugs. It was hot but was sleeping with long sleeves and long pants to avoid being bitten. These were not mosquitoes. Raid plug ins did not work. We sprayed the bed to no avail. As a precaution, when we returned home we wrapped everything in black plastic bags and left them in the trunk of th car. We took our clothes off in the garage when we got home and tied them in a black plastic bag. I am petrified and watching daily to make sure we didn't bring those bugs in our house. We washed everything in not water and dried them for a long time on high. So far so good but we are still uneasy. We were told it could take up to 3 weeks to make sure the bugs did not follow us home. Our empty suitcases are still in the trunk. This place could be great but they need to fumigate. I would not return. We will not return Going to sleep was traumatic. You do need a flashlight or 2. We listen to the ocean all night and that was wonderful.

Room Tip: There aren't any good rooms. All cabins are within walking distance of open restroom. Cabin 19 is furthest away.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank NANCY F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2015

We had a great time in Mexico!

We didn't want to spend a ton of time in Cabo, so as mentioned, we headed out about 1 1/2 from the city proper to stay at the Mayan Village (next to Cerritos Surf Colony). Mayan Village consists of about 10 huts on the beach. The huts consist of a bed, two night stands, a dresser and mini fridge. The shower and toilet area are shared, and Mayan Village has its own pool. We loved it! It was quiet, peaceful and allowed time to get away from the craziness of every day life.

With Mayan's location being next to Cerritos Surf Colony, they shared a larger pool area, bar/ restaurant. The food was excellent (they serve breakfast, lunch and dinner).

During the day, we practiced yoga either on the resort (Caitlin is great) or in Todos Santos. We also invested three days of time taking surf lessons with Mario's Surf School. Having had a not-so-great experience the year before attempting to surf, Orlean, our instructor was amazing and turned us around with our surf technique and etiquette. We were glad that we took the time to learn how to surf the right way, in hopes that the skills can stick for future surfing.

This is a nice spot, as it is centrally located between Cabo proper and Todos Santos. We also took a day trip to La Paz.

Overall, we were very happy with our time in Mexico and would highly recommend the above spots!

Room Tip: Go here for a rustic, cleansing vacation.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews