We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as it gets”
Review of Mungo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mungo Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“As good as it gets”
Reviewed 18 March 2017

Upon arrival, greeted by Lou who explained the workings of the lodge, and booked us into the 'included' guided tour of the Wall.
Cabin 3 was clean, spacious and well appointed, with a private covered deck at the rear. With near perfect north/south orientation, great passive solar design, although with 38 degrees, it fortunately also had a ceiling fan and aircon.
All meals were delicious and hosts John and Lou couldn't do enough whenever an opportunity presented itself.
Only slight negative is no internet or mobile cover, but only a couple of days so could be seen as a blessing.
Had some unexpected rain our last night.
When checking out, we asked John about the state of the roads. He gave an update (slightly greasy) and suggested we phone him when we reached the bitumen. If no call within a couple of hours, he volunteered to send out a search party. How good a service is that. Top marks.

Room Tip: All rooms seem pretty good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2sailram2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MungoLodge5113, Front Office Manager at Mungo Lodge, responded to this review, 24 March 2017
Thank you for your review, so glad you enjoyed you stay with us. Our pleasure to look after you, hope to see you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    57
    7
    8
    4
See reviews for
37
96
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2017

What a nice place. On a hot day, somewhere to relax. We did not sleep there, just pop in for a cup of coffee. Ending up have a lunch and a coffee. Very clean bathroom facility, nice & cool dinning area. Staff are friendly, food ok. Priced in mid range.
Satisfied with the service. Recommended to everyone go past.

Stayed December 2016, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sandor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MungoLodge5113, Guest Relations Manager at Mungo Lodge, responded to this review, 8 January 2017
Our pleasure to look after you hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 26 December 2016

Amazing location, silence, really friendly staff, top service, really exceptional and for tourists who love nature and fine accomodations. Be careful with road conditions. The tracks are absolutely impassable when wet, even with 4WD. Have a good weather forecast and enjoy one of the best locations in New South Wales.

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 69Joerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MungoLodge5113, Manager at Mungo Lodge, responded to this review, 8 January 2017
Thankyou for your feedback and informative review, it was our pleasure to look after you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2016

We stayed four days. We received exceptional service every day. The facilities were modern, comfortable and clean. The host makes a great coffee to order. We dined there every night and the food was really good. The lodge provides informative tours by local indigenous guides. We walked every day and saws heaps of roos, birds and lizards. The walks are well-marked and have great information about fauna, flora and history. We recommend the foreshore walk and the grasslands walk.

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EveAandJohnL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MungoLodge5113, Manager at Mungo Lodge, responded to this review, 26 November 2016
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thankyou for your kind review, it was our pleasure looking after you

Mungo Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2016

I spent a day and a night here. I wish it could have been much, much longer, it is so peaceful and enjoyable. The hospitality, room comfort, cleanliness and food quality is outstanding, really five star and in such a remote location. I also took a guided tour offered by the Lodge and this was also a high quality and memorable experience. I cannot wait to get back and do it all again. Thoroughly recommended; one of the very best travel experiences I have had anywhere in the world.

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MungoLodge5113, Manager at Mungo Lodge, responded to this review, 14 November 2016
Our pleasure to look after you and so glad you enjoyed your stay, look forward to seeing you again next time with your family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Mungo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mungo Lodge

Property: Mungo Lodge
Address: Arumpo Road | Via Mildura, Buronga, New South Wales 3500, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Buronga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Buronga
Price range (per night): $244 - $322
Hotel Class:4 star — Mungo Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated next to World Heritage Mungo National Park, but only 1.5 hrs drive from Mildura. Mungo Lodge offers a perfect base for you as you discover Mungo's ancient history. A real oasis in the outback, with deluxe accommodation or campsites and shearers quarters available, cafe, restaurant and bar, park information and wall of china tours into restricted areas of the park with the Lodge's own aboriginal guides, gift shop and a warm outback welcome. Daily pickup from Mildura, either day trip or overnight stays, please call the lodge for details or see our website. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mungo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing