We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mungo Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Reviews (234)
Filter reviews
234 results
Traveller rating
146
67
9
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
146
67
9
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunset tourlamb shankopen firerear deckno mobile phone receptionbunk roomrestaurant mealswarm hospitalitycomfortable cabininternet connectiona great place to staytwo nightsrecommend staying herewonderful hostsself containedoutback experienceair con
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 234 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2016

I spent a day and a night here. I wish it could have been much, much longer, it is so peaceful and enjoyable. The hospitality, room comfort, cleanliness and food quality is outstanding, really five star and in such a remote location. I also took a guided tour offered by the Lodge and this was also a high quality and memorable experience. I cannot wait to get back and do it all again. Thoroughly recommended; one of the very best travel experiences I have had anywhere in the world.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MungoLodge5113, Manager at Mungo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2016

Our pleasure to look after you and so glad you enjoyed your stay, look forward to seeing you again next time with your family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2016 via mobile

I stayed for one night in the dorms witch where great for what they are,
The food was amazing,
Very welcomed by Kerry and Brant,
Highly recommend the lodge to stay and a bite to eat.
The tour was amazing learnt so much about the history to this amazing place.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
Thank coopertyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MungoLodge5113, Manager at Mungo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2016

Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, thankyou for your feedback it was our pleasure to look after you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016

I was impressed with this place. I flew in in a light aircraft, parking within 200 meters of reception. The dining area was bright and clean. The food was nice. The bungalows were very modern with air conditioning and nice beds. There are tours out to Lake Mungo. Definitely worth spending a night here whether it be in a group or for a couple.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MungoLodge5113, Manager at Mungo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2016

Thankyou for your feedback, happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

We decided to camp at Mungo Lodge because it was the closest dog friendly accommodation to Mungo NP.
We arrived at around 3 pm and booked for 2 nights but stayed for one for a number of reasons.
The amenities were the worst we have ever encountered. The hand basins were filthy, covered in red mud and had not been cleaned that day. There was no soap, paper towel, toilet brushes or mirrors (in the men's).
The following morning at 9am, we informed the front desk about the state of the bathrooms. John the owner apologised but had done nothing about it by the time we left at 1pm.
The camping area was totally covered in bindii or something similar. Not at at all dog friendly!
This place has a lot of potential but we can't recommend it.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank catherine1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MungoLodge5113, Manager at Mungo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2016

Apologies for your unhappy stay but after investigating the problem we found that the group of 30 school kids staying with us had departed and the amenities block was cleaned. Unknown to us the bus returned to pick up baggage and the amenities block was used by the kids again. The cleaning staff had finished for the day but we were able to source another housekeeper to re do the Block that afternoon.
The Bindi's are a problem for us and we do our best to control them.
Thankyou for your feedback, if you travel this way again we can offer you a complimentary stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

Fantastic venue, we arrived to two days rain but the lodge has enough to do to keep one occupied, add to that the friendly and capable staff and everybody's stay was enjoyable in what was a very busy week for the lodge.
Mungo National Park is a wonderful piece of history
Will be back
Dan and Keegan

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank DDono18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MungoLodge5113, Front Office Manager at Mungo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2016

Our pleasure to look after you, amazing how you survived camping through the rain and wet conditions, look forward to catching up with you again in sunny weather.

Thankyou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews