We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mungo Lodge ”
Review of Mungo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mungo Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

Fantastic venue, we arrived to two days rain but the lodge has enough to do to keep one occupied, add to that the friendly and capable staff and everybody's stay was enjoyable in what was a very busy week for the lodge.
Mungo National Park is a wonderful piece of history
Will be back
Dan and Keegan

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank DDono18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MungoLodge5113, Front Office Manager at Mungo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2016

Our pleasure to look after you, amazing how you survived camping through the rain and wet conditions, look forward to catching up with you again in sunny weather.

Thankyou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
There are newer reviews for Mungo Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2016

We only had one night here but could have spent much longer except for the rain coming and potentially blocking us in. All the staff were lovely and could not have been more helpful with tours meals and advice. Loved the big open fire in the dining room and the cottage accommodation was excellent. This place offers a wonderfully unique Aussie and world class experience. Loved it. Also , i drink tea. They made a great cuppa!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ManlyGriswalds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MungoLodge5113, Manager at Mungo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

Hello, thankyou for your kind words and it was our pleasure to look after you, hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

We loved the facilities, lovely welcoming dining area with a gorgeous warm fire blazing in the hearth,
The rooms were spacious, clean and well appointed with air conditioning, full ensuite and a nice outdoor area to sit and enjoy the bush environment.
Internet was accessible only in the lounge/dining area, very patchy away from there where the rooms are.
The big let down was the bed. It was comfy enough, but it had a plastic cover under the sheet so it was really slippery and very sweaty, therefore a sleepless night was had by all. We were booked for 2 nights, only stayed one because of that!
Dinner was ok, breakfast very basic, coffee terrible.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MungoLodge5113, Guest Relations Manager at Mungo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2016

Thankyou for your feedback we appreciate your comments. The internet issue will not improve and is out of our control because of our remote location.The plastic is now removed from the mattress and an underlay fitted which hopefully rectifies being slippery and sweaty. The coffee issue has been addressed with staff training in coffee making and we are now using a different brand of coffee.
Hope you can come back another day for that 2nd night and enjoy complimentary coffees during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Mungo Lodge is situated right next to World Heritage Mungo National Park providing a perfect location, the staff were very friendly and attentive, stunning restaurant and bar with amazing food, open fire and great atmosphere, they even have organised tours to the Walls of China with a local aboriginal guide who was fantastic. Spacious private cabin four star accommodation. Would stay longer next time and take advantage of the scenic plane tours as they have their own airstrip and you can fly in. Definitely worth a trip!!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank louisecostello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MungoLodge5113, Manager at Mungo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us, look forward to you coming back for a longer stay next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016

We called in for a coffee and a look see! There were no staff in sight. After waiting and wandering around hubby spotted someone on the phone and asked for service.... after another wait we were brought just about the worst cup of coffee I have ever tasted.... and ,made with long life milk (havent they heard milk does freeze if you want it fresh but cant always get it!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolynNoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MungoLodge5113, Front Office Manager at Mungo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2016

Hello,
We apologize for the lack of service poor and coffee but due to one of our staff who is the coffee maker having to leave Mungo that morning due to illness.
We are aware that milk freezes and this becomes an issue when 20 campers visit first thing in the morning for coffee and the milk is frozen.
Our staff member is back who makes sensational coffee and we like to offer you complimentary coffee and fresh home made scones if you choose to visit Mungo Lodge again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Mungo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mungo Lodge

Address: Arumpo Road | Via Mildura, Buronga, New South Wales 3500, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Buronga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Buronga
Price Range: $241 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mungo Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated next to World Heritage Mungo National Park, but only 1.5 hrs drive from Mildura. Mungo Lodge offers a perfect base for you as you discover Mungo's ancient history. A real oasis in the outback, with deluxe accommodation or campsites and shearers quarters available, cafe, restaurant and bar, park information and wall of china tours into restricted areas of the park with the Lodge's own aboriginal guides, gift shop and a warm outback welcome. Daily pickup from Mildura, either day trip or overnight stays, please call the lodge for details or see our website. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mungo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing