We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable base for exploring Mungo National Park”
Review of Mungo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mungo Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2015

We are not campers so Mungo Lodge is the comfortable alternative for an overnight stay to get the most out of a visit to Mungo National Park. The Lodge is very close to the park. It provides very comfortable accommodation. The restaurant is OK - should not expect too much at such a remote location, but they offer a small selection of good meals. There is no mobile phone or internet connection. It's more expensive than similar motel accommodation in larger centres, but the cost of providing such accommodation in such a remote location can't be cheap. The management were very flexible with our travel plans which were dictated by whether the road to Mungo was open.

Room Tip: The cabins are located in a crescent, all convenient to the main lodge building.
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LindsayMann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
There are newer reviews for Mungo Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 67 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2015 via mobile

Called in for a coffee after spending the day at the Sandhills. The dining area was gorgeous, spotlessly clean and so comfortable. It would be lovely to go when the big fires were roaring. Dinner menu sounded lovely but we were camping at the adjoining campground so didn't stay.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Racandtac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2015 via mobile

We spent the weekend at Mungo Lodge as part of a flying trip with 6 other couples..(strip is conveniently located next to the accommodation)
The dining area/licensed restaurant is impressive - especially if you consider how remote the location. Beck and Glen were amazing hosts, as was young Lillian. We were made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much bother.
Accommodation was clean, showers hot and food delicious and plentiful. A thunderstorm even provided a spectacular lightning display.
Hiring the small bus enabled us to tour the lake and Walls of China.
Would recommend this location to other aviators looking for a weekend away

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
Thank KymPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2015

Our Probus Club last week visited Mungo National Park and stayed overnight at the Lodge. Apart from the lodges and dining area being so high in quality, the managers were very welcoming and put on a great meal at night and breakfast. Congratulations to this couple for doing such a great job and answering all our curious questions about how they manage out there. Service was fantastic. Thankyou.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank turoar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2015

Mungo NP is a long way out (>90 km of dirt road) and to find a lovely lodge is great. Obviously it is not 'inexpensive'. The physical facilities are lovely. They are complete with 240v power, fridges, even air con.

There is a licensed restaurant that can provide breakfast lunch and dinner, and even a private (dirt) airstrip for those able to fly in. All this just 2km from the (dried) lake bed and visitors centre.

Unfortunately the welcome we received was 'some what dry' as well. To be greeted by a 'No we don’t have any booking for you' – blank stare and silence ! was a little off putting. Having retrieved the paper work to prove the booking plus the booking adjustment did nothing to improve the reception. “you were due yesterday and did a no show” was the response. No mention of, 'we might be able to find a room' or asking what went wrong – just dead silence. Fortunately I held my composure and we sorted it all out. One just has to be prepared for the driest welcome in Australia.

Having settled in, we found it an absolutely delightful place and the restaurant was one of the best in western NSW.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sbadert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Mungo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mungo Lodge

Address: Arumpo Road | Via Mildura, Buronga, New South Wales 3500, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Buronga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Buronga
Price Range: $241 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mungo Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated next to World Heritage Mungo National Park, but only 1.5 hrs drive from Mildura. Mungo Lodge offers a perfect base for you as you discover Mungo's ancient history. A real oasis in the outback, with deluxe accommodation or campsites and shearers quarters available, cafe, restaurant and bar, park information and wall of china tours into restricted areas of the park with the Lodge's own aboriginal guides, gift shop and a warm outback welcome. Daily pickup from Mildura, either day trip or overnight stays, please call the lodge for details or see our website. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, lastminute.com.au and Cancelon so you can book your Mungo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing