We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mungo Lodge
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (234)
Filter reviews
234 results
Traveller rating
146
67
9
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
146
67
9
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunset tourlamb shankopen firerear deckno mobile phone receptionbunk roomrestaurant mealswarm hospitalitycomfortable cabininternet connectiona great place to staytwo nightsrecommend staying herewonderful hostsself containedoutback experienceair con
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 234 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2015 via mobile

Called in for a coffee after spending the day at the Sandhills. The dining area was gorgeous, spotlessly clean and so comfortable. It would be lovely to go when the big fires were roaring. Dinner menu sounded lovely but we were camping at the adjoining campground so didn't stay.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Racandtac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2015 via mobile

We spent the weekend at Mungo Lodge as part of a flying trip with 6 other couples..(strip is conveniently located next to the accommodation)
The dining area/licensed restaurant is impressive - especially if you consider how remote the location. Beck and Glen were amazing hosts, as was young Lillian. We were made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much bother.
Accommodation was clean, showers hot and food delicious and plentiful. A thunderstorm even provided a spectacular lightning display.
Hiring the small bus enabled us to tour the lake and Walls of China.
Would recommend this location to other aviators looking for a weekend away

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
Thank KymPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2015

Our Probus Club last week visited Mungo National Park and stayed overnight at the Lodge. Apart from the lodges and dining area being so high in quality, the managers were very welcoming and put on a great meal at night and breakfast. Congratulations to this couple for doing such a great job and answering all our curious questions about how they manage out there. Service was fantastic. Thankyou.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank turoar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2015

Mungo NP is a long way out (>90 km of dirt road) and to find a lovely lodge is great. Obviously it is not 'inexpensive'. The physical facilities are lovely. They are complete with 240v power, fridges, even air con.

There is a licensed restaurant that can provide breakfast lunch and dinner, and even a private (dirt) airstrip for those able to fly in. All this just 2km from the (dried) lake bed and visitors centre.

Unfortunately the welcome we received was 'some what dry' as well. To be greeted by a 'No we don’t have any booking for you' – blank stare and silence ! was a little off putting. Having retrieved the paper work to prove the booking plus the booking adjustment did nothing to improve the reception. “you were due yesterday and did a no show” was the response. No mention of, 'we might be able to find a room' or asking what went wrong – just dead silence. Fortunately I held my composure and we sorted it all out. One just has to be prepared for the driest welcome in Australia.

Having settled in, we found it an absolutely delightful place and the restaurant was one of the best in western NSW.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sbadert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2015

What a delightful slice of luxury in the middle of the desert! An exceptional experience of beautiful food, stunning fit out & style, friendly people & amazing park just next door. After having extensively toured our remote desert regions I was really impressed by the genuinely high standard of everything on offer at this property. It felt like I'd scored a bargain as most luxe remote hotels charged like wounded bulls! Bravo guys - keeping the desert accessible & appropriately priced so all of us mere mortals can enjoy it!

Room Tip: All were fantastic, well spaced cabins so noise & privacy not an issue.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victorian_Visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryn H, Manager at Mungo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2015

Thank you for your review. It is always a delight to hear feed back, especially great ones.
Thanks Again Bec & Glen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews