We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A comfortable and cosy cottage. Perfect to come...”
other travellers have booked this property
Carpenter's Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Carpenter's Cottage
Comfy recliner sofa and underfloor heated quarry tiles Well-equipped kitchen and dining
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Carpenter's Cottage
Comfy recliner sofa and underfloor heated quarry tiles
Well-equipped kitchen and dining
Utility room with new washer/dryer
Bedroom with pretty stained glass window
View from bedroom to church
En suite bathroom
Cosy wood burning stove
Cottage private courtyard
Built in 1850 and beautifully renovated in 2010
Secure cycle store
Free use of shared garden
Help yourself to home grown herbs and veg
Our free range hens
York Minster - a short drive from Pocklington
Pocklington Arts Centre - a short stroll from the cottage
Burnby Hall Gardens - another short stroll from the cottage
Beautiful Yorkshire Wolds accessible by footpath from Pocklington
Kilnwick Percy Hall - a stunning walk from the cottage
Woodland walks at Kilnwick Percy
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Pocklington, East Riding of Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Judy Z
Aylesbury, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A comfortable and cosy cottage. Perfect to come back to after a busy day sight-seeing”
Reviewed 22 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We had a warm welcome from Helen and Patrick. The cottage was clean and had everything we needed. Easy to find and ideally located for getting into York and exploring the surrounding area. Pocklington itself is a lovely town where you can get everything you need and lots of choice for places to eat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian P
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Top Cottage”
Reviewed 13 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

A lovely warm welcome from Helen &Patrick on our arrival to their great little cottage which is ideally positioned in Pocklington.
An ideal location for visiting them surrounding area.
Would certainly recommend and hope to have further visits.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CQtourist
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A brilliant place to stay in Yorkshire”
Reviewed 8 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We just loved the six days we spent in this wonderfully planned little unit right in the heart of Pocklington village. It was great to be able to stroll to the shops to get our groceries and really feel part of the town. Helen and Patrick were excellent hosts and very welcoming and helpful. The unit is perfect for a couple, with a lovely bedroom and very well planned bathroom upstairs, and living areas downstairs. We loved being able to drive to the Park & Ride to travel very cheaply into York, where there is so much to do. I really can recommend this as a perfect place to stay in Yorkshire.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, friendly welcome, Victoria Plums!
Liked least: Nothing. Even the weather was great!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnLouWes...
West Midlands
1 review
“A LITTLE GEM OF A PLACE”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Stayed here for a long weekend this past weekend and it was lovely. From the assistance Helen provided on booking to the wonderful welcome we received from her and Patrick, we were very impressed. Fresh flowers from their gorgeous garden in the vase on the window sill were also a nice touch. The cottage itself is immaculate and spotlessly clean - no doubt as a result of hard work and vigilence! It's a proper little gem, as is Pocklington itself - a quaint village with a vast array of gift shops, nice pubs and lovely restaurants - we liked Sonali (Indian) and The Feathers (pub food). It's an ideal place to base yourself for touring the area and a lot more reasonably priced than many of the places closer to York. We visited the Humber bridge and nature reserve on our way up, Castle Howard the next day (well worth it!) and Bridlington on our last day (won't recommend it unless you like cheap food, cheap novelties, fairgrounds and amusement arcades!). Helen and Patrick will do well with this venture and if you book with them, you certainly won't be disappointed. We highly recommend this cottage and Pocklington!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy sofa and comfy bed
Liked least: Slight noise from the road, but nothing significant
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjmac65
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great relaxing break in a spacious 1 bedroom cottage in lovely Pocklington”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Thank you for letting us stay in your lovely little cottage.We had a lovely relaxing couple of days its location is ideal for short bus trip into York and Hull.The cottage is perfect everything you need is at hand its lovely and cosy and spotlessly clean.I would recommend Judsons for Sunday lunch its well worth the visit.A big thank you to Helen and Patrick for the lovely welcome pack as requested.Will be returning for longer next time

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing