We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage”

Review of Marlowe Cottage

Marlowe Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Marlowe Cottage
Marlowe Cottage Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Marlowe Cottage
Marlowe Cottage
Living Room
Bedroom 1
Kitchen
Bedroom 2
Small Bedroom
Bathroom 1
Living Room
Rear Garden
View from rear Garden
Front of House
Bathroom 2
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Caldbeck, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
780HelenA
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 29 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We have just spent a week at Marlowe cottage. The communication with Peter and Anne prior to our stay was excellent. On arrival we had a delicious cream tea and lovely chocolate cakes, also some other goodies.
The cottage was extremely comfortable and had everything we needed. The wood burner was fabulous on the colder evenings. There was a great selection of local information.
The local area was great for walks and was very peaceful and quiet. If you want a holiday that is near enough to the main area of the Lakes whilst still being away from the crowds then this is perfect. We would definitely recommend it

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2016
Dear Helen

Thank you for your kind review.

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Marlowe Cottage and we hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Peter & Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medwyn H
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent location and property”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Loved our week at Marlow Cottage. lovely cream tea to welcome us with a massive fruit cake which took us a few days to munch through. Peter was exceptionally helpful. The accommodation was excellent, everything you should need rain or shine. We enjoyed the location as you can walk onto the fells and there was loads of guides and maps in the cottage. Highly recommended.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2016
Dear Medwyn

Thank you for your kind review we are really glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Regards

Peter & Anne
Marlowe Cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargadeLa...
Oosterbeek, The Netherlands
1 review
“Perfect place for a holiday in the Lake District”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Very well furnished and equipped cottage for a holiday in the Lake District. We felt very welcome, the scones from Janet were delicious! Good communication with the owners about our stay, nothing to complain about!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The house is big enough and well equipped for a stay with 5 persons.
Liked least: It is quite fare away from Windermere or other typical villages in the Lake District. That is the only disadvantage.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2016
Dear Feike

Thanks you for your kind comments it was great to meet you and we hope we can welcome you back I the future.

Kind Regards

Peter & Anne
Marlowe Cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eleanore5...
Dexter, Michigan
2 reviews
“Simply perfect!”
Reviewed 9 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We have stayed in many VRBO and Air BNB properties and this was the very best of them all! EVERY detail has been thought of (even wash cloths for Americans - hardly any to be found in Europe, it seems!). We were greeted by fresh flowers in several spots, a cream tea set out, everything fresh and lovely, even on that cloudy day. All is in perfect repair though the property is authentic and old. Each room is cozy and comfy. One bathroom has tub and shower. Both have towel warming racks. The views from every window are gorgeous - either the exquisite, fairy-land garden in back (it has filled in since the photos were taken) or the distant hills out front. Sitting at the hilltop picnic table, one sees the countryside and hears only the breeze, bees and birds. Delightful. The weather precluded our using the grill and lovely patio seating area, but that would have made for a perfect evening as well. We did use the wood stove for a cozy dessert time one evening. The road is VERY quiet, and we never heard a sound from any neighbors. The village of Caldbeck is charming in every way. You can walk just down the hill to it - 5 minutes. We had a fabulous morning tea and pastry at the Old Smithy and had two of our 4 dinners at The Oddfellow Arms. Highly recommend both. The cottage has detailed information about area attractions and walks, several of which we took, enjoying them all; even one around the village along the small river - very picturesque. Do not let the northern Lake District location put you off. We could get to all main towns and points of interest on good roads and in good time. We had a perfect walk around Lake Buttermere - no crowds there - peace, quiet and beauty. We also did the steep but short hike to see the wonderful Aira Force (waterfall). Ambleside is touristy but still retains much charm. We did not get to Windermere, and the weather precluded any boat rides, unfortunately. If you're on a budget but are able even just to walk the lake shores a bit, you will get a very good idea/impression of the lakes. The admission charges for many of the residences, etc. were too steep for our family of 5 "adults" (children 23, 20 and 16), but we did go to Lowther Castle - a ruin whose skeleton offers many dramatic pictures and whose grounds are extensive and include an incredible glen-type garden and a ridge walk overlooking the entire countryside, plus a fine museum and tea shop with lots of delicious choices. Altogether a memorable, perfect stay!

Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2016
Dear Eleanore

Thank you for your kind review.

We are really glad you enjoyed your stay at Marlowe Cottage.

We hope we can welcome you back on the future.

Kind Regards

Peter & Anne
Marlowe Cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_SI6...
Wollongong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delightful surprise”
Reviewed 2 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

From the moment we arrived at Marlowe Cottage we felt very welcome. Peter and Anne had left refreshments for our arrival that were very much appreciated. The house itself is very well appointed and we had all the necessities for comfortable holidaying provided. As a base for travelling to various locations for sightseeing, the house again was ideal. Dealing with Peter and Anne over the past few months has been a pleasure and we would highly recommend a stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2016
Hi Steve & Jennifer

Thank you for your kind review.

We hope we can welcome back to Marlowe Cottage again in the future.

Kind Regards

Peter & Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing