We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning ..beautiful ..better than the online...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
3 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Sennen, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Travel715...
Evesham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning ..beautiful ..better than the online photos”
Reviewed 7 September 2018 for a stay in April 2018

WOW .one of.the most beautiful , peaceful and truly perfect places we have chosen as a holiday home. If you are looking for a place to completely relax , within walking distance of one of the best beaches in the UK ..then choose this. The cottage is beautiful ..the setting is beautiful , the service provided is fantastic and if you can find something wrong with this holiday , then the problem is yours not the location or the accommodation. Will be returning again and again and recommending to everyone I know.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thrapston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 Nov 2013
Thank you for your comments.
We are very sorry you had some problems whilst staying with us. We wanted to assure you that we do advertise our cottages in Vellandreath Valley as not being suitable for those with restricted mobility and that wheel chair access is not recommended, neither are standard push chairs due to the proximity of the sand dunes.
However all terrain buggies are usable in the valley and there is a sand free track and plenty of grass to navigate them on easily. As we are on the coast and right by the beach there is obviously going to be sloping areas, hills and sand which can sometimes be awkward. As parents we understand the difficulty of babies and beaches !

No push chair will work particularly well on a beach and to install pavements to accommodate them would diminish our guests holiday experience and ruin the environment.

We have had 100's of guests who have overcome these natural issues and have had no problem but we do appreciate the difficulty you had in this instance as a new mum. We generally use papooses with our own babies over the sand and all terrain buggies on the grass / tracks.

Whilst we respect your point of view with regards to your statement that Castaways is not suitable for children of all ages as parents ourselves we would have to disagree and think the 1000's of guest we have had over the last 40 years who keep coming back would disagree too. At present we have a family staying with no less than 6 babies and they are having a fantastic time!

We did have the most amazing hot weather last summer (2013) and a very long heat wave which we appreciate not everyone enjoyed although it did make for superb beach weather. We do offer lush gardens complimenting our cottages and these of course can attract the odd bug or fly and if one leaves windows open at night or in the evening flies will be attracted to the lights and get into the property. Thankfully we generally don't suffer from mosquitoes! We have noted your comments and are installing a ceiling fan in the event that we have that sort of amazing sub-tropical weather again to cool down the cottage and keep those pesky bugs at bay.

We are so sorry there was a problem with the hot water supply. This had nothing to do with any shared water tank or the neighbours getting to the shower first - it was due to an electrical fault with the immersion heater. We attended to this as soon as we were made aware of it and the problem has been fixed but we are truly sorry for the inconvenience this caused you.

We are surprised you describe Castaways as tiny as we feel it is spacious and offers very good proportions resulting in very comfortable accommodation presented to a high standard. Many of our guests agree and have testified to this in their reviews. The photographs on our adverts and website clearly illustrate what we offer. We do have larger properties on offer which cater for more people if required (obviously at a higher price) but castaways was your choice. Once again we do respect your point of view and appreciate that you are not used to spending your hoildays in this country or Cornwall for that matter.

As for value for money many of Castaways neighbouring properties rent for £3,000 - £4,000 per week and are booked up years in advance for high summer so given your weeks stay cost £1300 we would suggest that you received good value for money in comparison to the market average. However we do appreciate that perhaps you are more used to spending your holidays abroad as you stated.

We wish you well and would love to see you again in the Valley should you ever decide to return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and standard of accommodation
Liked least: Car park could do with being larger and WiFi connection difficult
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 Nov 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon. Best wishes, from all of us in Vellandreath Valley, Sennen.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing