We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Break for lunch

Pulled here at the end of the road and made sandwiches for lunch. Great view out over the inlet... read more

Reviewed 14 November 2017
Bruce_M94
,
Dunedin, New Zealand
via mobile
Bemused

I was staying in a private holiday rental in the area, and I thought I would follow the signs to... read more

Reviewed 2 July 2017
Crystalline4u
,
Traralgon, Australia
Read all 28 reviews
  
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
11
14
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
14
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great spot caretaker sites noel cottage boat birds
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2015 via mobile

My husband and I stay at Shallow Inlet Caravan Park often. We both love the area, caravan park, beach (with the most magnificent sun sets), wildlife and the freindliness of the owners and other campers.
There is definitely a family atmosphere, (where you can bring your four legged family members as well), with well kept amenities. We have been there through peak times as well as off peak, and enjoyed the atmosphere every time.
The owners go out of their way at Easter with a huge easter egg hunt for all the children, their excited and happy faces say it all!! This is done totally at the Park owners expense! We have found the owners very aproachable and willing to help with any problem.
We always have a wonderful and relaxing time and after many different caravan parks, have found one that we love and visit often.

6  Thank Anneliese H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2015

As you drive in, this place looks like a scene from the film Deliverance and staying there makes you feel like one of the characters. The word "shoddy" best describes the park grounds, facilities and management. To pitch a tent on a plot smaller than my nature strip set me back over $50 a night. This included the use of a grubby camp kitchen which has a coin-stealing bbq (the only one) in the middle of it ensuring everything else was covered in a layer of grease. The showers worked but were generally manky and weren't cleaned at anytime during our stay. The park is surrounded by bushland and you might hear some wildlife if the people on the next site aren't holding a party with music until 4am while the management do nothing about it. The manager can always be found in front of the television in the camp kitchen swilling beer and making plenty of racket himself late into the night. I'd advise against any questions about refunds as these will be answered by laughter in your face. Other, positive, reviews here are referring to the Bear Gully Camping Grounds, a far superior choice. I give this place one star, and this only for its close proximity to Wilson's Prom. This place ruined our trip to Gippsland, is a rip off and should be avoided like the plague.

Date of experience: January 2015
17  Thank Thrymur H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2015

Beautiful campgrounds. $15 per caravan per night. Unpowered sites. Gorgeous, large, secluded and leafy sites. No showers. Only facilities are Eco-toilets, that are scrupulously cleaned everyday. They even smell quite pleasant. A couple of minutes walk to the glorious beach. Would get 5 stars if it wasn't for the super-grumpy caretaker - Noel. Nothing made him smile and when one of our group missed the 11am departure time, he was downright rude. Our party of family included toddlers to teenagers and adults and everyone loved this park. Get another job though Noel. You don't love your work.

Date of experience: January 2015
3  Thank Belushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2014

This was an interesting beach, a huge area at low tide, we walked for miles but still did nit reach the opening to the sea,Thousands of small soldier crabs were running everywhere.

Date of experience: October 2014
2  Thank Rob V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Fantastic bush camping experience. Back to nature, the area is amazing, fishing is fabulous, walking along the beach almost by yourself, views of the prom, sunsets, fresh air, bird watching, native animals everywhere, kangaroos and wombats can be seen on the beach! The facilities are primitive, no power, no showers, and only Eco toilet facilities. Worth a visit if your into nature.

Date of experience: April 2014
10  Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews