We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Destination B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tudor Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Frampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2017

As previous reviewers have said, this is an exceptional place to stay, run by an exceptional host, Louise. The room and bed were excellent and the welcome tea, breakfast, evening meal and even the biscuits for tea and coffee in the room (all completely home baked/cooked) were perfectly done.

We've stayed in quite a few B&Bs over the years and have a lot more to come during the current 6 week UK trip but I doubt we'll stay in one better.

To properly appreciate Frampton take the short walk past the church turning left over the River Frome through cottages and fields back to the B&B over another bridge. There is more to the village than just the strip along the through-road. Another excellent suggestion by Louise.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LongPaddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2017

We've spent 2 nights in this wonderful Tudor cottage and we cannot fault anything. We were welcomed by Louise who is an attentive a brilliant host, nothing is too much trouble. We stayed in the Tudor Room with it's stunning four poster bed, which was so comfortable and the room was so beautifully decorated in the style of the Tudor cottage, everything was clean and spotless and the hospitality tray was so well stocked with lovely coffees and teas as well as homemade cookies and sweets. The bathroom was clean and tidy with wonderful toiletries available.

Louise (our host) helped out with recommendations to go for food in the evening as we didn't arrive until 7:00pm. The following morning we had the most amazing breakfast, with lots of fresh fruit, poached pears, homemade muesli, a cooked breakfast with local ingredients that was cooked to perfection, as well as wonderful homemade toast with homemade jams (even the tomato and brown sauce were made by Louise!!).

I would 100% recommend this wonderful B&B to anyone, especially couples who want a treat. The downside is that we had to leave this lovely place. We look forward to going back soon.

Thank you Louise for your wonderful hospitality and sharing your lovely home.

Frampton is a lovely place but you need to have a car to explore as there isn't anything in the village, but that was fine with us as we wanted a base to explore.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank atravellerBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouiseC6, Owner at Tudor Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Thank you so much for your generous and kind review. Even from the moment of booking you were considerate and thoughtful guests and I certainly hope to be able to welcome you back before too long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017

Once you've established a beautiful property with lovely furnishings and decor and made sure it's spotlessly clean (all boxes ticked by Tudor Cottage) then it's the little details that mark out a fantastic B&B from the rest. Louise has undoubtedly covered all those 'little details'.

For starters, Louise is the perfect host - very warm and welcoming but not at all intrusive.

The breakfast choice was fabulous - including home made granola (delicious) and muesli, fresh fruit platter, poached fruits, fresh juice, a choice of cooked dishes and Louise's lovely toasted homemade bread (I just wish I'd had room for more!).

Tea/coffee tray in the room is the best I've seen - selection of nice Clipper teas (including peppermint) proper coffee, fresh milk, homemade biscuits. All nicely presented (e.g. little jar of brown sugar cubes rather than paper sachets of sugar - little details).

We also had an evening meal during our stay. Having looked at the reviews here on TripAdvisor, we thought we might be missing out if we didn't! We were not disappointed, it was first class. And Louise gave us directions for the perfect scenic after dinner walk round Frampton to round the evening off (aka walking off dinner after over indulging!).

If you like a B&B with a little bit of luxury and excellent food, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank divebabe31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017

This historic cottage lies on what appears a busy road and has a petrol station/vehicle repair shop as a neighbour but inside the cottage their presence is not felt in any way. Frampton seemed to have little to recommend it being a simple collection of houses. Louise is a terrific host, friendly and attentive and her food/cooking is a highlight. The room we (a couple) occupied was, as to be expected, not large but quiet and comfortable. The cost of the room is, perhaps, quite a bit above average but when your breakfast is as superb as the one served here (Louise makes all the condiments, cereal mixes, jams etc herself) and the cottage is full of antiques and curios of great interest then the value is evident. I would say this is highly suitable place for couples but not so for the immobile or for young children. A charming place and host and a standard of B&B that few can match.

Room Tip: Explain your needs and Louise will pick the best room for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RockyRoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouiseC6, Owner at Tudor Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2017

Thank you very much for your kind and thoughtful review. I am so sorry that during your brief stay you missed the best of Frampton. Over the ancient Sandways Bridge which straddles the crystal clear River Frome we have beautiful and tranquil parkland with pretty houses, bridleways and far reaching footpaths. If you ever return to this lovely area I shall be delighted to show you as it is only a few minutes' stroll from Tudor Cottage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017

We spent three nights in this beautiful home and were so thoroughly spoiled by Louise who puts so much care and thought into looking after her guests. The beds are extremely comfortable and the breakfasts superb. If you want spoiling this is the B&B for you

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank jimgle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tudor Cottage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Address: 9 Dorchester Road, Frampton, Dorchester DT2 9NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester > Frampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Frampton
Price Range: AU$183 - AU$196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful thatched Tudor cottage with ancient architectural features offers comfort and style. Delicious home cooked evening meals by arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tudor Cottage Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing