We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you cant find anything good in the midst of the desert”
Review of Tilal Liwa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tilal Liwa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Madinat Zayed
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“you cant find anything good in the midst of the desert”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

A lovely & unique experience in staying here.You can spend days enjoying in the Swimming Pool with a great view of the desert .Very neat & clean hotel.Staff are very good and highly cooperative.If you are lucky enough you can see the Camel Race ,the racing field is very near to the Hotel..

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Poorajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashor75, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Greeting from Tilal Liwa Hotel.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Tilal Liwa Hotel. We highly appreciate all your feedback and we will act accordingly as your opinion is very important to us.

Please note that you can enjoy, during the winter months, daily camel practicing from nearby. The Hotel organizes nice Safari trips with Camel farm visits, dune bashing and Camel Race visits to allow you enjoying this unique wild life.

We are delighted to know that you appreciate our smiling front desk personnel, fast check-in & check-out, and the delicious food we are serving.

Once again, thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you back at Tilal Liwa Hotel to touch the improved services yourself.

Kind Regards,
Ayman Ashor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    517
    436
    139
    51
    23
See reviews for
492
397
20
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012 via mobile

The hotel was a great 4 star. Spent days swimming in the pool. Service was good, food was good. The BBQ was very tasty.

Got to say, the pictures of the pool are 100% accurate.

Room was great, clean, quite and very comfortable.

We'd go back in a moment.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark987155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashor75, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Greeting from Tilal Liwa Hotel.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Tilal Liwa Hotel. We highly appreciate all your feedback and we will act accordingly as your opinion is very important to us.

We are delighted to know that you appreciate our smiling front desk personnel, fast check-in & check-out, and the delicious food we are serving.

Once again, thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you back at Tilal Liwa Hotel to touch the improved services yourself.

Kind Regards,
Ayman Ashor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We went for a weekend getaway on the occasions of Liwa Date festival. The hotel is middle of nowhere, in the middle of the desert which we enjoyed with rough summer hot weather. Staffs were very good, well behaved & helpful. Hotel is clean, Moroccan style lightnings were catchy. We booked through online with residents discount & upgraded without any charge to pool view room, which has some kinda outdoor balcony & easy access to the pool. Check in & check out took very few mins,added to welcome drink.The pool is not quite big but the infinity style staring to rough desert should give a different feelings. Buffet Breakfast was included in our package, it was basic but quite impressive. I especially liked the idea the way they give a personal kettle for tea,coffee & milk as I am so addicted with caffeine. We had quiet peaceful time & relaxed through the stay. We would surely come back if they always have lucrative offers for residents. We also had previous very good experience with Danat Al Ain. Keep it up :)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farzana I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashor75, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Greeting from Tilal Liwa Hotel.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Tilal Liwa Hotel. We highly appreciate all your feedback and we will act accordingly as your opinion is very important to us.

We are delighted to know that you appreciate our smiling front desk personnel, fast check-in & check-out, and the delicious food we are serving.

Once again, thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you back at Tilal Liwa Hotel to touch the improved services yourself.

Kind Regards,
Ayman Ashor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Very nice hotel, polite and helpful staff. Standard rooms very comfortable and reasonable size; very clean throughout; in both my rooms read on........ Nice pool although not quite as big as you expect from the clever photography above. Good gym, very good food although you are limited to a single restaurant, that said the buffet choice was excellent. Nice bar and pool bar area, the latter can get very busy. This hotel is in the middle of nowhere so do not think about going out for a meal unles you want a 120km round trip to Liwa! It serves a camel racetrack and thus gets very busy when there is an event on (so I am informed by the locals). Top tip, try not to have a room with an connecting door (unless you need one) as the noise from the other room comes through. I could hear the couple next door talking quite clearly and their TV. I requested a room change and the staff were most helpful and did not hesitate to make the change; they found me one while I was at dinner, moved my belongings across too. For one night this was a most enjoyable experience and I would return.

Room Tip: Rooms away from pool bar area are quieter and see not above regarding rooms with connecting doors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashor75, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Greeting from Tilal Liwa Hotel.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Tilal Liwa Hotel. We highly appreciate all your feedback and we will act accordingly as your opinion is very important to us.

Kindly be informed that we are improving our menus and make sure to have a wide selection of choices to meet all our guests’ preferences.

Also would like to inform you that Tilal Liwa Hotel is only 10 minutes from Madinat Zayed and Liwa City & Oasis are just ½ hour driving from the Hotel.

Once again, thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you back at Tilal Liwa Hotel to touch the improved services yourself.

Kind Regards,
Ayman Ashor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We have bought our offer through one of the deal sites and basicly we just wanted to have a decent one night stay. Once your drive from Dubai, it takes you to reach the hotel between 2,5 hrs to 3 hrs. But the location map they provide you on the reservations process works very well, and you can easily reach the hotel without any missing exit or delay. The lady working on the reservations, Meryl, was very professional, holding our room, replying in a very professional manner & nice approach. On the other hand to reach to the reservations was a bit difficult, couple of times, nobody replied as the operator mentioned that all the lines were engaged. (might be). By the way just to inform in advance, the hotel is literally in the middle of nowhere - which you expect, it is just in the middle of a desert - which is not bad, and interesting actually. Once we reach the hotel, we did not wait much on the reception, they have provided a proper info and gave us a room immediately but did not like to room view at all, as it was looking to the road, and was on the ground floor, so requested a room change. While we were waiting for the room change, we realized that the A/C in the room was not working properly. Then they have changed our room, and it was a better room than we expect. They were giving the turndown service and it was nice.

At that evening I have realized that I forgot my hair brush and wanted to buy a brush. Oncewe went it to the shop ( giftshop) they call Essentials, they have said that they do not have any hair brush to sell. ( You have to buy whatever you need to buy from the hotel cause the city center is at least 20 minutes away from the resort/ desert.) Then the bell guy who is also handling the shop told us that he will send somebody from the housekeeping to provide us a hair bursh and approximately nobody came to our room. After 2 hrs I have called the operator and asked for it they said that they are sending a staff from housekeeping, then the following 5-10 minutes nobody came as well, and I needed to call for the second time to remind. Finally a guy came with a comb, which was fine.

Again , the next morning I wanted to buy home ladies sanitary product, and they have said that they have finished that. I really did not understand, what kind of essentials they are selling on that shop - the handmade postcards,frames ? Of course both are important. On the other hand, if you are having a shop called Essentials, not outsourced and handled by the hotel staff itself- why you do not think about your guests and increase the offered product line there?

As there is not much to do on the resort, we spent our time dining, hanging around the pool, and watching tv in the room. One small detail; even if it was mentioned on the tv channel list, there was no National Geographic on the TV channels. Once we went down to the pool area and the desert side on the back, we had a look to the snack bar just walking in/out basicly, which they are showing the Euro cup matches. It was looking really untidy. Even if a staff was inside, and cleaning the glass/ cutlery, he did not bother himself to just correct the cushion which was laying on the couch, which I understand from here that the staff does not take the ownership of this place as they can easily leave the area as it is while they have guests around.

Again once more, at the evening we just went to the poolside, the small lounges next to the pool, they were looking really untidy as well. Even if when I wanted to look out of the empty windows from the lounge are on the right, I was a little t-shirt was down there, within the bushes. Most probably flew there with the wind, and nobody realized. On the other hand, once we wanted to ask couple of questions regarding the usage of kites, bikes, etc we went down to Health Club as we have been informed from the reception like this, and once we were asking questions about it( we found out that from the poolside, which is fine) we realized that the English of the Health Club receptionist was very pool as well.

Just one good comment, the food that we ate was really delicious, seafood grill was cooked perfectly, and it was same for the hi - tea as well, the cookies and snacks were delicious. Really appreciate for the chefs they did. Even if we had a discount, I can admit that the normal menu prices were not expensive at all.

I can reallly admit that we were not happy with the service quality provided besides, the smiling front desk personnel, fast check in & out process, receptive operator and the chefs. For a long time period I was thinking about to get a tripadvisor account, to appreciate the good service we got through various places, but this time, the experience we had unfortunately made this quicker. Just wanted to share my feedback, as hopefully the management will communicate those with the team. Will I suggest this place to any of my friends? No. Will I come back? No.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poseyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Greeting from Tilal Liwa Hotel.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Tilal Liwa Hotel. We highly appreciate all your feedback and we will act accordingly as your opinion is very important to us.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience occurred during your stay. Your comments have been brought out to the attention of the concerned persons and ensuring that such issues will not occur again in the future.

Regarding the less positive experienced you encountered while you are waiting for the hair brush from the Housekeeping personnel, please be informed that the department head has been informed and rest assured that corrective action will be taken. The A/C problem has been rectified by our Engineering team. We will ensure that your suggestion for our Gift Shop will be prioritized to put more variety of items to reflects its name “Essentials”.

Kindly note that we offer some limited rooms to the social websites on last minute basis (such as Cobone & Living Social). Those rates are promotional rates. We offer a certain number of rooms for those rates, once the rooms are booked, we can only accept the normal bookings not the discounted. Those sites are based on first call, first take.

We are delighted to know that you appreciates our smiling front desk personnel, fast check-in & check-out, and the delicious food we are serving.


Once again, thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you back at Tilal Liwa Hotel to touch the improved services yourself.

Kind Regards,
Ayman Ashor

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tilal Liwa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tilal Liwa Hotel

Property: Tilal Liwa Hotel
Address: Madinat Zayed - Al Gharbia, Madinat Zayed 112723, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Madinat Zayed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Madinat Zayed
Price range (per night): $72 - $237
Hotel Class:4 star — Tilal Liwa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tilal Liwa Hotel is a 4 star hotel. A stunningly secluded Desert Hideaway perched at the edge of the majestic Rub Al Khali desert, with breathtaking views of some of the highest dunes in the world. Immerse yourself in an authentically Arabian “Oasis of Hospitality,” where tantalizing restaurants, an infinity outdoor pool, and a full range of luxury amenities offer lush accompaniment to the surrounding desert beauty. Whether you are embarking on an exhilarating Desert Safari, discovering the raditional sights of Al Gharbiya – Camel farm, dates plantation, Heritage Fortress, or simply escaping to solitude for a few days,our captivating four-star UAE hotel resort guarantees an unforgettable Arabian hospitality experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotelopia and Cancelon so you can book your Tilal Liwa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing