We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, not great.”
Review of Tilal Liwa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tilal Liwa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Madinat Zayed
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good, not great.”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We thought the Tilal Liwa Hotel would be a fun family (2 adults, 2 young kids) weekend escape to spend a couple of days catching up with friends (also 2 adults and 2 young kids), but overall we were disappointed with our weekend experience.
I was most disappointed in our room. The hotel is a U shape, some rooms face in towards the pool and garden and others face the dunes. We had a room which a had floor to ceiling, wall to wall window which looked onto gravel, skip bins, a lot of rubbish and yes sand dunes. The window didn't open so we had no fresh air. On our first night the hotel held a private function at the end of the pool area. All night (4pm-12pm) we had catering staff and men walking past our window, we had no privacy and needed to close the blinds. With 2 young children I was unable to leave the room when they need to sleep etc and I was very frustrated I was stuck in a room with the blinds shut or open feeling like a gold fish in a bowl.
We asked 3 times if we could pay for a room upgrade and we were told the Hotel was fully booked. This was not the case on the first night, but it was fully booked on our second night. However the hotel was not flexible enough to change our room for 1 night.
Because of the isolation of the rooms we were unable to put the kids to bed and have a chat with our friends. A garden room would be the perfect option for a family.
The food was fine, free kite flying for kids was good, quad bikes were fun and the camel farm was interesting.

Room Tip: If traveling with children a ground floor garden room is a must. Rooms that face on the sand dunes d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kodibax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilalliwahotel, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your time taken to share your feedback of your last visit to Tilal Liwa Hotel.

I apologize for the less than positive experience with the room. Actually our Tilal rooms overlooking the desert don't have an open window as a security handle for our guest's safety. Since these rooms are overlooking the open desert, we can't afford to leave it open- as per the civil defense instructions.

Our Hotel has several room categories which varied in price. Unfortunately we were fully booked that weekend that my colleagues couldn't offer the higher room category.

Looking forward for welcoming you soon again in Tilal Liwa Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Ayman Ashor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    523
    443
    141
    51
    23
See reviews for
500
402
20
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Stayed one night whilst touring the area. Frankly speaking, there is not much to do in the area bar dessert activities & camel racing & it seems that most guests stay just a day or two.
The property was nice, clean & well decorated. Check in was efficient & staff courteous. The ambience suits the hotel well. There is just one restaurant & one bar which are a little expensive but of good quality.

The infinity pool overlooking the red sand dunes is very nice & the other facilities were in good condition & well run. The dessert views & activities are good, particularly if you have not had a dessert experience before.

All in all, an enjoyable stay in a nice hotel in a unique location.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gulf-Neil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilalliwahotel, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your recent visit to Tilal Liwa Hotel and the time taken to share your feedback.

We're delighted that you've enjoyed your stay with us and looking forward for welcoming you soon again to Tilal Liwa Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Ayman Ashor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed 2 nights in this nice hotel. It is a quite a drive from Mezaira'a and Moreeb dune but we knew about the distance and would recommend it to explore this beautiful area. The service was good, staff friendly, food good. The views of the desert are nothing compared to what you can see if you drive towards Arada or Moreeb.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kybtur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilalliwahotel, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your stay with us. It was our pleasure having you as our guest.

We're so delighted with your kind note and treat your comments seriously as it is helps us improving our services where needed.

Looking forward to welcome you soon again in Tilal Liwa Hotel.

Kind regards,
Ayman Ashor
General Manager
Tilal Liwa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed here for a couple of days and enjoyed it overall.

A good place to relax and unwind but there is very little to do apart from spending time at the pool (not very spacious and quite crowded) and go on quads in the desert. We were expecting some spectacular desert views from the rooms or at least from the hotel grounds, but the sand is pretty flat all around the property and the colour is not as red and beautiful as in many other places in the UAE. The dunes are higher and redder around Liwa, but despite the name this hotel is actually about an hour away, in Madinat Zayed.

We enjoyed the rooms and the bathroom in particular, very nicely appointed, brand new and with all amenities - nice bathrobes and wide TV channel selection.

Unfortunately the food at the hotel restaurants was pretty ordinary and not much variety. Being trapped in the middle of nowhere, guests have nowhere else to go. Breakfast on the other hand was quite abundant and there was a good variety of food.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ardenlangdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilalliwahotel, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your stay with us. It was our pleasure having you as our guest.

We're so delighted with your kind note and treat your comments seriously as it is helps us improving our services where needed.

Looking forward to welcome you soon again in Tilal Liwa Hotel.

Kind regards,
Ayman Ashor
General Manager
Tilal Liwa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed here for the weekend just gone, and had an amazing time.

This is the place that you want to come just to get out of the City, it’s a good drive from Dubai takes at least 3 hours, but is worth it.

The service from the moment we checked in at reception to when we checked out was beyond excellent.

Highly recommended for a quick break - also we used our living social voucher, and were not made to feel any less adequate than full paying guests. There was full buffet service for breakfast, lunch and dinner with great variety.
will most definitely be coming again - Thank you to all the team.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FarrahDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilalliwahotel, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your stay with us. It was our pleasure having you as our guest.

We're so delighted with your kind note and treat your comments seriously as it is helps us improving our services where needed.

Looking forward to welcome you soon again in Tilal Liwa Hotel.

Kind regards,
Ayman Ashor
General Manager
Tilal Liwa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tilal Liwa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tilal Liwa Hotel

Property: Tilal Liwa Hotel
Address: Madinat Zayed - Al Gharbia, Madinat Zayed 112723, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Madinat Zayed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Madinat Zayed
Price range (per night): $71 - $248
Hotel Class:4 star — Tilal Liwa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tilal Liwa Hotel is a 4 star hotel. A stunningly secluded Desert Hideaway perched at the edge of the majestic Rub Al Khali desert, with breathtaking views of some of the highest dunes in the world. Immerse yourself in an authentically Arabian “Oasis of Hospitality,” where tantalizing restaurants, an infinity outdoor pool, and a full range of luxury amenities offer lush accompaniment to the surrounding desert beauty. Whether you are embarking on an exhilarating Desert Safari, discovering the raditional sights of Al Gharbiya – Camel farm, dates plantation, Heritage Fortress, or simply escaping to solitude for a few days,our captivating four-star UAE hotel resort guarantees an unforgettable Arabian hospitality experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotelopia and Cancelon so you can book your Tilal Liwa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing