We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Kiwi hospitality at its best”
other travellers have booked this property
Karetu Downs Farm Stay 4 bedroom Farm Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Karetu Downs Farm Stay 4 bedroom Farm Cottage
Emma with lamb Guest shearing the sheep
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Karetu Downs Farm Stay 4 bedroom Farm Cottage
Emma with lamb
Guest shearing the sheep
Children grain feeding the sheep
Happy girls staying at Karetu Downs cottage
Queen room Karetu Downs cottage
Queen room Karetu Downs cottage
Karetu Downs Cottage kitchen
View form the hills at Karetu Downs
Mountain biking the hills
Campervans welcome
Swimming at the river
Kevin the calf
Guest bottle feeding the lamb
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Guest house -
4 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Hawarden, Canterbury Region, South Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
johnaitch...
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Kiwi hospitality at its best”
Reviewed 4 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We stayed B&B in the homestead, which was akin to staying with family such was the relaxed and friendly manner of Karen and Bruce who shared their table with us as if we were indeed part of the family. Our accommodation could not be faulted; neither could the attention to detail. A bonus was the garden which was to host the local garden club the day we left. This is a place for adults to experience rural New Zealand and Kiwi hospitality at its best, and for children to enjoy adventures.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The hosts
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne R
1 review
“Beautiful location and very accommodating hosts”
Reviewed 24 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Spacious 4 bed cottage on beautiful farm by Waipara river. Perfect for family gatherings or large groups of friends. We have stayed twice in recent months and it will now be a frequent holiday spot for us. The hosts Karen and Bruce are very welcoming and go out of their way to make your stay as fun and easy as possible. Kids can feed farm animals twice a day and adults can borrow bikes, 4 wheel drive etc. Beautiful river 5 mins walk for fishing and swimming. Very relaxing area with beautiful scenery.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah R
Nelson, Nelson, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AWESOME PLACE TO STAY :-)”
Reviewed 23 November 2014 for a stay in April 2014

When we stayed at your place we had such a great time so thankyou so much.

I still remember going out looking for rabbits the nite we got there and it was raining lol. Hope our son didnt leave too many carcasis behind?

Going out on the bikes the next day was great as you have so many places to go and we all had lots of fun. Please say a huge thanks to Bruce for the loan of the other bike. It made the ride more enjoyable.

I couldnt believe how big the mushrooms were and I dont eat them lol.

Hope you have had lots of bookings since we stayed as its such a lovely place to get away from it all?

Once again thanks

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lou S
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Perfect farmstay for families”
Reviewed 14 November 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We had a wonderful time at Karetu Downs. Karen and Bruce were wonderful hosts - introducing our young children to all the animals. They were very friendly and helpful and welcoming. Nothing was a problem. Plenty to do and lots walks and bike rides all on the doorstep.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Nov 2014
Thanks guys we enjoyed showing the kids the pet lambs, Kevin the calf and the Kune Kune pigs Ginger pig and Wilby and I know they had fun feeding them. So pleased you enjoyed mountain biking the hill country too. It was a pleasure meeting everyone and we look forward to seeing you all again soon. Karen & Bruce
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Reviewed 31 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing