We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2010

We stayed in the Serena Amboseli for two nights at the beginning of a 14-day Safari. The hotel is situated at the fot of Mt. Kilimanjaro. Unfortunately the mountain, when not covered by mountains in the first place, is not visible from within the hotel grounds. One always needs to get in the park itself to see it. We were lucky enough to see the mountain after a two day wait. Amazing !!
The hotel grounds are a real breeding ground for monkeys. You will find them everywhere. They're cute however and, as long as you keep rooms closed, not much of a nuisance.
The staff is very helpfull and friendly wether room stewarts or waiters. The lodge is clean and well kept. Rooms and bathrooms are spacious and comfortable with a turn down service in the evening.
The restaurant is a bit dark and rather full (lots of tables on a small space give a bit of a cramped feeling). The food however is tastefull and at all times there's a show cooking theme.
In the evening the lodge has a comfortable terrace outside inviting you to have a nightcap. There is local dance and music and, in our case, even an elephant deciding to walk by.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antwerpengl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (744)
There are newer reviews for Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

521 - 525 of 744 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2010

Checkin – Our reservation was in order. Checkin was prompt and smooth.
We arrived at Amboseli from Tsavo West National Park. Practically the entire 150 odd kms of the journey was on very bumpy, dusty non paved dirt roads. We were glad to be received at the hotel with a wet Towel and we gladly wiped off the layers of dust of our faces and hair. A cold refreshing drink of Passion Fruit juice was another great touch.

There are some rather aggressive monkeys all around the property, so be especially mindful of these. The hotel employs Maasai people in their traditional garb, armed with slingshots that, from time to time, drive away the monkeys. But overall, I would say the monkeys are winning. It does not help that some hotel guests feed them and this encourages their behavior. I saw people seated on outside tables had their muffins stolen from right in front of them by monkeys. They also have taken a liking for the little packets of sugar that are used for Coffee/Tea if left out.

Rooms – Well appointed rooms, clean and practical. To have running water and hot water around the clock in the middle of the jungle is luxury indeed! No TV in the room, but then who comes to an African Jungle lodge to watch TV? In the evenings for their ‘turn down’ service they would put the Mosquito nets out and put on an electric mosquito killer. Although at the time we were there (early August) there was practically no mosquitoes. We had rooms 2 & 3 which are located very close to the main entrance and restaurants. However, practically all other rooms were past our rooms. So there was the constant noise of suitcases being dragged on the walkway outside with people checking in and out, plus the noise from people using the swimming pool close by. So if you want a quiet room, make sure you ask for one that is farther away.

We did have problems with the supply of water from time to time. One time my wife got started in the shower and within 2 minutes the water stopped. I called the Front Desk to complain about no water. They said they would send someone out to the room to check it out. I told them that my wife was standing naked in the shower, and asked them to send water and not a person to check her out.

Restaurant-They assign you a table for the duration of your stay which is a nice feature. The service is superior and the staff is very alert and receptive to needs. Always have a good spread to suit most tastes. Excellent variety of fresh fruit and juices. The service level at the restaurant remained good regardless of whether the place was completely full or empty which is quite a feat to pull off.

Coffee/Tea – They have a separate Coffee/Tea station that is open pretty much all day. This is a rather nice feature indeed. Excellent coffee & tea, but then Kenya is known for this. Watch out that the monkeys dont grab your sugar packets.

Safari Drives – One really needs to be unlucky to not spot game at Amboseli. Being a relatively small area (as far as game parks in Kenya are concerned) and most of the land being completely flat one can see for miles. Amboseli is home to 2500 Elephants and they are everywhere. We got treated to the sight of about 8 Lions including a couple of cubs walking right across the road where our Landcruiser was parked. We were treated to some very rare glimpses of Elephants in action with their families and babies. Apart from this, got to see plenty of Wildebeest, Zebra, Giraffes, Hyena, Flamingo, various antelopes.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kumarcheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed nearly every aspect of our stay at the Sarena Safari Lodge at Amboseli. The Lodge is one of the few right in the middle of the game park. Your Safari starts as soon as you board the Land Cruiser from the airstrip as the route runs past the swamp with its huge variety of bird life. The hotel buildings themselves are designed to resemble a Masi village which sits comfortably in its environment.; the style extends down to the murals of birds and animals in the bedrooms and restaurant. From the terrace you can watch the herds of animals moving slowly across the park. Our bedroom looked out onto an area where Vervet monkeys played. However, most guests are there to get closer to the animals on the twice daily game drives, which are extremely well-organised in small groups by the hotel. Our driver was enthusiastic and knowledgeable, helping us to take some memorable photographs. The service is informal and friendly; staff are very keen for you to be aware of and use the hotel facilities. With most people staying only 2 or 3 nights there is quite a turnover of clients and this churn was most noticeable in the restaurant where we sat at several different tables and were served by a change in procession of waiters and waitresses. Our package included an evening barbecue at the edge of the hotel grounds with floodlights and out into the park (although we didn't see anything). As it was the quiet season there were not many of us and we felt the whole experience was an extravagant use of staff and materials. However, the hotel was a first-class base from which to see the fascinating wildlife of Amboseli.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mylespetheter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2010

This was our first day or the safari trip and it was really a pleasure realxing stay. The food was excelent and service was also excelnt. I cant think of any thing negetive.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayshah51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

The Location is great, especially since there was a lioness who had given birth to three cubs inside the Lodge premises! Makes you wonder about the security, but goes to show how in-the-middle-of-the-action you get to be!

The rooms are spartan but comfortable. The staff try their best to save you from the mosquitoes. It's not the best of the Serena lot but it is a wonderful place to stay. As all the Serena Hotels, they are very accommodating - be it with packed lunches or vegetarian food.

I'd say stick to the Serena Lodges for your Safaris - they are great Value for Money!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MumbaiCentral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amboseli National Park
13.0 km away
Sentrim Amboseli
Sentrim Amboseli
#1 of 1 in Amboseli Eco-system
371 reviews
4.5 km away
Ol Tukai Lodge
Ol Tukai Lodge
#1 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
788 reviews
12.5 km away
Kibo Safari Camp
Kibo Safari Camp
#1 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 km away
Tortilis Camp
Tortilis Camp
#3 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
338 reviews
15.7 km away
AA Lodge Amboseli
AA Lodge Amboseli
#3 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
117 reviews
29.1 km away
Amboseli Sopa Lodge
Amboseli Sopa Lodge
#7 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Amboseli National Park

Been to Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge

Address: Amboseli National Park, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Amboseli Eco-system > Amboseli National Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Amboseli National Park
Price Range: $411 - $640 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the shadow of Mount Kilimanjaro, Africa's highest Mountain; beside a copse of giant Acacia trees and gently flowing natural spring. In the clean, crisp air of an Amboseli dawn, the snowcapped peaks of Mount Kilimanjaro shimmering in the southern sky, you can sit atop a volcanic throne in the middle of the Masai plains and see the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au and Cancelon so you can book your Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amboseli Serena Safari Hotel Amboseli National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing