We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Isabel S

The restaurant - terrible

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 Apr 2023
THE RESTAURANT was absolutely shocking, I might as well have made my own pizza with a pitta base…. The chips were undercooked and the pizza was absoltley disgusting. I had the chicken and basil “chef recommended” and the chicken was incredibly spicy (not stated) and a complete dissapointment. A thin crispy base (might as well have been a tortilla chip) and the tomato sauce was lumpy, and more like bolognaise…. DEFINENTLY NOT “fine” CUISINE AS STATED!!!
Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$105
  • Expedia.com
    AU$103
  • Vio.com
    AU$97
  • Hotels.com
    AU$113
0.1 km from Avatar Railay Krabi
Pool
Restaurant
AU$134
  • Hotels.com
    AU$184
  • Vio.com
    AU$108
  • Priceline
    AU$112
0.4 km from Avatar Railay Krabi
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$187
  • Expedia.com
    AU$216
  • Agoda.com
    AU$162
  • Hotels.com
    AU$213
0.4 km from Avatar Railay Krabi
Free Wifi
Pool
Sea VIew Bungalow
AU$30
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$30
  • Trip.com
    AU$28
  • Expedia.com
    AU$44
0.4 km from Avatar Railay Krabi
Free Wifi
AU$132
  • StayForLong
  • Vio.com
    AU$118
  • Agoda.com
    AU$122
0.8 km from Avatar Railay Krabi
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$35
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$35
  • Agoda.com
    AU$35
0.3 km from Avatar Railay Krabi
Front
AU$18
Fully refundable
Earn Trip Coins after your stay
  • Expedia.com
    AU$18
  • Hotels.com
    AU$18
1.3 km from Avatar Railay Krabi
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
AU$32
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$56
  • Agoda.com
    AU$56
2.3 km from Avatar Railay Krabi
Free Wifi
AU$211
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    AU$43
  • Vio.com
    AU$37
  • StayForLong
0.2 km from Avatar Railay Krabi
Pool
Restaurant
AU$910
  • Expedia.com
    AU$956
  • Hotels.com
    AU$977
  • StayForLong
    AU$980
0.4 km from Avatar Railay Krabi
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
View more hotels in Railay Beach
Reviews (728)
Filter reviews
728 results
Traveller rating
394
204
70
29
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
394
204
70
29
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool access beach bag minute walk fresh fruit pier railay monkeys thailand daybed pros boats
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 728 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2023 via mobile

The rooms are ok, nice. We booked with the pool view and it was worth it. However, they advertise they have WiFi, but it does not work in the rooms. You can connect by the restaurant and if your room is close to the restaurant you will have WiFi. For me, I need to work during the stay and not having WiFi is a terrible experience 😣

Room tip: If you plan to work during your stay, please note there is no WiFi in the room.
Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jakubbS6176AK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 February 2023 via mobile

Our 3rd stay at avatar and my favourite personally . We stayed last jan and was v quiet (due to covid) as whole of railay was , we saw plenty of macaques back then but this year was madness as they’ve certainly taken over . We stayed in pool access room and had visitors every day , was hilarious and kept us entertained for hours! I know it’s not everyone’s cup of tea but it’s not every day u experience these fascinating animals at close hand . The rooms are great and staff so helpful . And swimming with monkeys is included in the reasonable price which includes pretty good breakfast . Highly recommend if of course u like monkeys🤣🤣

Room tip: Book in advance in high season . Don’t stay if monkeys terrify you .
Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Marksss1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 February 2023

poor service with only one of staff working. if you asked for extra towels you will lose BF voucher next day, no bottles water for quests in regular room but only suite. I won't go back here again for sure. You can find similar service for less money with a fews minute walk

Date of stay: February 2023
1  Thank Ply R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 January 2023

We were fairly disappointed with Avatar Railay, but I'm not sure that there were better places to stay nearby for a comparable price. When I checked the mattress, there were so many crumbs and so much debris on the mattress, paired with dim lighting, that I worried about the cleanliness elsewhere in the room. We also did not enjoy the breakfast and it was difficult to find staff at times. That said, the location was good, and we enjoyed the spaciousness of the room. We also really really appreciated the beach bag, towels, and umbrella.

Date of stay: December 2022
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank G3320JBdaras
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 July 2022

The Avatar is a beautiful property that is photo worthy in and of itself. The staff are very friendly and welcoming and the rooms are a real bargain with spacious balconies overlooking a lovely pool area. The breakfast includes salad, fried eggs, chicken sausage, a Thai inspired rice or noodle, fresh fruit and usually a traditional Thai dish eg curry, krapow etc. Biggest pros would be value for money and beautiful atmosphere and the biggest con would be that the wifi is a bit unreliable. If you require wifi I would definitely get a Thai sim card, importantly before you reach Railay as they are unavailable, and use it as a hotspot for your laptop.

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank montash32
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews