We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
andrea2359
Asia

Great stay, except for the cockroach infestation

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 June 2022
There was a cockroach infestation in my room (first floor with pool access). The staff offered to deep clean it but I requested for a change of room to a higher floor in a different block instead.
The new room was perfect and very clean, and I had a very pleasant stay thereafter. Rooms are big and the beds are very comfortable. Breakfast was great (I loved the aglio olio, but it can be very spicy for some). This hotel is located very near the pier, but noise from the boats were minimal, which is an additional huge plus point for a beachfront accommodation at Railay.
Depending on which block you are staying, the wifi strength varies, and you may hear music near the dining area.
Date of stay: June 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$93
  • Vio.com
    AU$99
  • Agoda.com
    AU$84
  • Priceline
    AU$91
0.1 km from Avatar Railay Krabi
Pool
Restaurant
AU$70
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$58
  • Agoda.com
    AU$54
  • Expedia.com
    AU$68
0.4 km from Avatar Railay Krabi
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$122
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$139
  • Agoda.com
    AU$112
  • Expedia.com
    AU$177
0.4 km from Avatar Railay Krabi
Free Wifi
Pool
Sea VIew Bungalow
AU$31
  • Priceline
    AU$30
  • Agoda.com
    AU$27
  • Expedia.com
    AU$44
0.4 km from Avatar Railay Krabi
Free Wifi
AU$88
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$82
  • Agoda.com
    AU$76
  • Vio.com
    AU$84
0.8 km from Avatar Railay Krabi
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$37
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$37
  • Agoda.com
    AU$37
0.3 km from Avatar Railay Krabi
Front
AU$17
Fully refundable
Earn Trip Coins after your stay
  • Expedia.com
    AU$18
  • Hotels.com
    AU$15
1.3 km from Avatar Railay Krabi
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
AU$33
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$74
  • Agoda.com
2.3 km from Avatar Railay Krabi
Free Wifi
AU$242
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    AU$59
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$32
  • StayForLong
0.2 km from Avatar Railay Krabi
Pool
Restaurant
AU$621
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$656
  • Expedia.com
    AU$642
  • Hotels.com
    AU$626
0.4 km from Avatar Railay Krabi
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
View more hotels in Railay Beach
Reviews (728)
Filter reviews
728 results
Traveller rating
394
204
70
29
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
394
204
70
29
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool access beach bag minute walk fresh fruit pier railay monkeys thailand daybed pros boats
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 728 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2022 via mobile

This lovely looking resort is quite unique in the area so we gave the higher prices restaraunt a try.. the manager/host was lovely and charming , made our order after one hour the first meal arrived my boys burger with a cheese slice on , he was happy enough .. my wife said her food was targeted towards tourist a little bland and overpriced .. my food wow sirloin steak medium rare , it was never a sirloin steak and was overdone dry with uncooked vegetables .. ive read really good reviews so not sure if it's a new chef but the food and service overall was very bad.. if was by far the most expensive and poorest meal we had on railay , went for a treat and felt tricked

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank 906iaind
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 March 2022

I loved Avatar, and had the perfect stay. The room had a porch with a daybed that you could step straight into the pool from. The room was perfectly clean, good air-con and comfortable space. There's often monkeys around the area so be careful with food... But the staff were friendly and helpful, and most nights there was a singer out in the bar area.

The Restaurant was pretty poor, so i wouldn't recommend eating here. But there's lots of great restaurants a short walk away.

All in all it was a great stay, and if i'm ever in Railay again i'd 100% stay here!

Date of stay: February 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nstnl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 January 2022 via mobile

Of all the places I have stayed in Thailand this place is the worst. The most unfriendly place and the service is terrible. Although the room was nice we found dirty sheets in a basket …. Our coffee items were never replaced for the 5 days we stayed… even our used coffee mugs and glasses were never replaced.. basically sat on the table the whole time. The pool was dirty and never seen anyone cleaning. The service in the restaurant was terrible (breakfast had hardly any food and what was there was cold) the waitresses were more involved on their phones than dealing with customers. The front desk staff were useless when we asked for direction or recommendations. Spend your money elsewhere in Railay as we met many friends staying elsewhere and they all had nothing good to say about their properties. Also it stated it was an adults only resort but pool was full of kids.

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Travelbug6766
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 December 2021 via mobile

Much like the most recent review of avatar - AVOID!!

The room we had was lovely, my partner very kindly reserved a lovely suite with a private pool however the loveliness ended there.
Whilst the room itself was good, there was a window that was broken and couldn’t be shut letting in mosquitoes and flies throughout the day and night.

The issues really began to show when the following morning after arriving we got up for sunrise and went to breakfast early. There was already NO FOOD. This became a theme throughout the 4 night stay turning dining into a competitive sport every morning. The food that was then placed in the buffet trays was cold (once every 20 minutes and ran out after 5).

We appreciate everyone is getting back into the swing of tourism after the last two years however, being made to feel resented is fairly inexcusable for a hotel. Often when asking politely for more food we either received a noise of acknowledgement, an exasperated stare, ignored or even lied to. The fact the kitchen staff and waitresses were actually spending more time chatting to neighbours or eating in the street only exacerbate the issue.

Sadly the maid service doesn’t come until late in the afternoon leaving you a bit in the lurches on when to vacant the premises. It is also important to note that the hotel does not or will not support you to arrange transfer to onward destinations.

All in all for the sheer cost of the hotel it was throughly disappointing. Railay is lovely but spend your money somewhere that will appreciate it like Ko Lanta or where you’ll get better value for an expensive stay!!

Room tip: Probably stay elsewhere or definitely eat elsewhere!!
Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Getaway39853355700
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 November 2021

Disgusting place!
I booked here three nights for my wife and I and I had to leave the hotel after the first night! I definitely recommend for everyone to avoid this place. We arrived to the hotel and staff was unhelpful, the answer for every question was: "I do not know that". Not friendly at all. The email replies or messages took several days and sometimes never came.
The outside of the hotel was dirty and unkempt. The room was disgusting. There were hairs everywhere from other guests, the sink still had toothpaste from previous guests, it was dark and generally not well clean. Then the worst came when I had to kill several cockroaches on the same day.
The next morning the breakfast was poor and everything was dirty, dust everywhere and for your own sake, do not look inside the kitchen, filthy! Also we saw the laundry room as it had the door opened and the same thing, dirty dirty dirty!
When I told all this concerns to the receptionist the answer was: "I can not do anything for you, if you have a problem contact Booking.com". I left the hotel and they refused to give me the money back for the following two nights.
I contact booking.com after this and explained the situation and they helped me getting the two following nights the money back.
I definitely can say this "hotel" is disgusting and a big waste of your money!

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews