We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
AU$135
Breakfast included
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Steve S
Terrigal, Australia

Great spot - resort not bad either

Review of Sand Sea Resort
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 31 Aug 2012
Sand and Sea is no Taj. But it is more than reasonable. The rooms are clean and spacious with the things you'll need, without being luxurious. It has the TV, a/c, nice bed, safe, the usual things. The shower was a disappointment, poor fittings and drainage.
That said, the rest of the hotel is better. It's perfectly placed with a lovely view of the main beach drag and all the action in the water. From the beachside restaurant you can watch the longtail boats pickup and deliver tourists or watch the sun go down: not all the way, because it sets behind an island dead ahead. However, you can walk around to another beach, past the performing macaques (monkeys), and find a picture perfect sunset: beautiful Railay!
Breakfast is very good, but I found lunch and dinner service not up to scratch, certainly not a patch on the food, service and friendliness of other beach restaurants a few metres away. Sand and Sea doesn't serve alcohol, which did not influence my views. We were there in May 2011.
Date of stay: September 2011
Room Tip: The rooms go hundreds of metres back into the interior, so request a room close to the restaurant...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$99
  • Priceline
    AU$91
  • Vio.com
    AU$84
  • Expedia.com
    AU$88
0.1 km from Sand Sea Resort
Pool
Restaurant
Sea VIew Bungalow
Tripadvisor
AU$43
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
0.6 km from Sand Sea Resort
Free Wifi
Tripadvisor
AU$33
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from Sand Sea Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
Tripadvisor
AU$657
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Sand Sea Resort
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
0.2 km from Sand Sea Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$115
  • Hotels.com
0.4 km from Sand Sea Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$128
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Sand Sea Resort
Pool
Beachfront
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$69
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from Sand Sea Resort
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
  • ZenHotels.com
0.4 km from Sand Sea Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$92
  • Hotels.com
0.4 km from Sand Sea Resort
Pool
Restaurant
View more hotels in Railay Beach
Reviews (3,174)
Filter reviews
3,174 results
Traveller rating
898
1,273
570
224
209
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
898
1,273
570
224
209
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tropical villa grand deluxe building west side no alcohol walking street east railay egg station phra nang beach krabi airport beautiful beach min walk long tail beach front rock climbing amazing location your luggage low season
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,525 - 1,530 of 3,174 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Visiting Railay is a must , one of my top places to visit in Thailand . Friends had visited before us and said to stay on the west side of the island , we did at the sand sea resort but was booked up for our last night so we booked into sunrise tropical on the east side and I wished we stayed here for all the time we spent at Railay it was wonderful . We booked into the Tropical villa which was massive ,such a wonderful villa. Nice and quite. The gardens so well looked after. Swimming pool ideal ,only a few minutes walk to the west side beach ,amazing clear water and loads of space to swim and sunbathe , not forgetting the wonderful sunsets. We had breakfast included all you could want . Friendly staff. Resurants and bars few minutes walk away, must try the fish. Relaxing visit for all ,family's with little ones,couples or groups perfect place to stay .

Room tip: Tropical villa
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Polly0170
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 August 2012

The resort is lovely; the rooms (villas) we stayed in were superb. Big and well equipped.
We took two units with connecting door for 5 people family A bit expensive but gave us a lot of space, and we could not find a family room in Railay
The bathroom was not fully functioning but room service has fixed in after two days.
The location is excellent - less than 10 minutes from the west beaches. the east beach is a lovely scene for photographs but not for bathing. The swimming pool is a really nice place to end the day when returning from the sea. The included Breakfast was a very nice and rich buffet.
Their transportation to and from the airport worked very well.

So - The infrastructure is great.
The down sides were that the reception desk wasn't very helpful.
There was no Internet on Room - and we could not get answer why?
They tried to charge me 200 BAT for a dirty (legs cleaning) towel. Eventually they gave up.
The tourist information desk was not helpful at all.

To conclude – This is a very charming place to stay if one is not too picky about a friendly staff and fully functioning gear….

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hagai K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 August 2012

This was our most pleasant stay in Thailand. The bungalow was absolutely lovely and it was huge. The rest of the hotel was also nice.. The pool was mediocre but that shouldn't really impact your trip too much especially if you're there for the beach or rock climbing. The breakfast was also decent. They had an egg station and also lots of cereal options options and fruit. I'd definitely stay there again b

Date of stay: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charchar99
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Sand and Sea is a great location. The rooms are nice and clean. The breakfast buffet is great as is the rest of the days menu! The staff are friendly. This is a good place to go with families and kids!
The pick up service is convenient if it is your first time there.

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 August 2012 via mobile

One month in to my travels round thailand and this could be the first time tripadvisor has let me down :s we booked for 5 nights but left after 2 (save money) . Even thou this hotel only faults on a couple of issues it the most overhype and overrated hotel I have stop in on my travels and the price is a joke. we stopped in there cheapest room which set us back 1800b a night and was only a little better then a bedsit. The room could of been nicer if I was not for lots of little issues like broken window, water stains on walls, balcouny door not fully close and tv not working.  The hotel outside the room was not too bad apart from 2 major issues. Building work is going on, noisey, annoying and should of been told about before. Breakfast !!!! Wow, they put it out the night . . . Not good If you don't like ants with your fruit and toast. Also because the building work theres a lot of stagnant water with leads to lots of flys in the morning :s I mean lots. I would not eat there and my partner took hers to our room. In the end we move to a hotel round the corner for the same rooms and so on for 600b a night. When I come back to Raileybeech, will not be going back to sunrise :( 

Date of stay: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lhardy18
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews