We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super location, shame about the service.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sand Sea Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sand Sea Resort
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Railay Beach
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Super location, shame about the service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

We stayed at sand sea for 4 nights. We had the junior cottage suite-definitely worth getting this for the huge TV and jacuzzi bath.
The room was spotless and location right on the beach-lovely.
The cons: indifferent, uninterested staff and a pantomime check out procedure. Also, a slightly odd smell around the chalets in the resort was offputting.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaktoubX171223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    592
    279
    94
    101
See reviews for
256
721
58
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

After reading some not so favourable reviews of this resort we didn't have such high expectations but was pleasantly surprised that it was better than we expected.

Pros
- on the gorgeous stretch of Railey West, perfect for sunbathing, reading and resting with ALOT of greenery

Cons
- Average service and massage (convenience shop workers find it hard to crack a smile, some difficulty in the staff understanding or speaking english)
- We experienced 1 power cut one evening and woke up to no water supply the next morning, HOWEVER they were rectified within 10 mins and it was due to the construction next door , which is slightly noisy so best to get a room more closer to the reception
- had a BIG issue with the MOSQUITOES! my husband was severely bitten and what was worrying was all the still water being kept (in front of the rooms and pond) which could be a breeding ground. Recommend to ask the cleaners to change it or empty it out if possible!
- housekeeping doesn't seem to understand much
- breakfast was average and amenties only in OK condition.


Overall we got a great deal on the price for the hotel since it was low peak season, and the weather was perfect throughout so we were happy with our stay in this resort. If we had paid PEAK season prices, then wouldnt think it would be worth the value.

Dining tip : if you are looking for cheaper meals (all of Railey is way overpriced), take a stroll to Railey East...more backpacker scene, smaller restaurants..The Last Bar food and cocktails are good!

Room Tip: Since consturction is going on at the back, get a room closer to the reception area, pool area. Nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nush_Pop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

My friends and I booked at this place because we figured if we were going to stay at Railay, we might as well stay on the West beach. Also, it was one of the nicer places that was in our price range. We had rather low expectations after reading some of the other reviews.

When we arrived, we were dropped off in the water in front of the hotel with our heavy bags. As Railay is only accessible by water, this is just part of the fun. We stayed in one of the bungalows and it suited us just fine. The breakfast was good, lots to choose from. I can't remember bugs being an issue for us, just a few mosquitos at times, but what do you expect when you are staying at a gorgeous beach surrounded by jungle?

The scenery was just breathtaking, and you could eat dinner at the hotel while watching the sunset. We were there at high season and it was not overcrowded in the least. The food was fine, the service was okay, and I can't say it was worse than the service we had received anywhere else throughout our trip.

The pool was great, especially after a day in the sun at the beach. You could lounge in the pool and still enjoy the view of the beach and cliffs, or use the Wifi in that area. The biggest downside for me was that this resort does not serve alcohol, but as we did not pay for all inclusive, it made no difference really.

Sidenote: if you are into snorkelling, I would recommend that instead of doing an organized trip/tour, get a small group of people together, pitch in some cash and hire a longtail boat for a day. Ask the driver to take you to all the beaches of the surrounding islands, we did that for about 15$ a person (there was only four of us) for a full day and it was just unreal. At times we were the only people on some of these gorgeous beaches.

Sadly we were only in Railay for three nights, but it was the best times we spent in Thailand (we had spent the first three nights in Phuket, which was altogether unfortunate).

All in all, although our expectations were low before we arrived, and we LOVED Sand Sea, LOVED Railay Beach, and would all go back and stay in the same place, because to us, the location couldn't get any better!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NEWS_2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

This was the most expensive of the 6 places we stayed at during our 3 weeks of travel in Thailand but we received the WORST service, food ETC ETC. The reception staff are quite happy to watch new arrivals navigate rain, high tide, bags and children but are unable to get up and assist them. Breakfast is poor with ants in the juice, chipped coffee cups, broken saucers etc and during the day restaurant staff can be seen resting there heads on the tables...after the first lunch meal with disinterested staff and 'fake Fanta' we never ate another meal there ! The restaurant has a lovely view except you can't see anything through the dirty blinds ! if you attempt to relax in your room be prepared for : noise from building renovations, mosquito bites and smell of sewerage which even woke one at night. Towels in the rooms are stained and floor mats are old and frayed !The beach and views are stunning - this is obviously what keeps this resort going but rather pay more elsewhere and enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Railay Beach hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

great value for the location! I stayed in an air conditioned bungalow which was spacious clean and peaceful setting. sipping coffee overlooking west railay beach each morning was bliss.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MEG331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Railay Beach
0.3 km away
Sunrise Tropical Resort
Sunrise Tropical Resort
#2 of 13 in Railay Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
0.2 km away
Railay Village Resort
Railay Village Resort
#4 of 13 in Railay Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
1.7 km away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 106 in Ao Nang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
10.7 km away
Beyond Resort Krabi
Beyond Resort Krabi
#7 of 12 in Nong Thale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
0.1 km away
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
#9 of 13 in Railay Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Sea Resort

Property: Sand Sea Resort
Address: 39 Moo 2, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Railay Beach
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Railay Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Railay Beach
#5 Spa Hotel in Railay Beach
Price range (per night): $51 - $219
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sand Sea Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With it's stunning views across majestic limestone outcrops, golden sands and the beautiful clear, turquoise waters of the Andaman Sea it's easy to see why Railay Beach is regarded as one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. And with our choice of private, luxurious bungalows and suites you can be sure your stay at the Sand Sea Resort will be a holiday you'll never forget. Experience for yourself the beautiful smiles of Asian hospitality whilst you dine at our beachside restaurant where we offer a choice of the very finest Thai cuisine, famed throughout the world, or alternatively choose from our wide section of delicious Chinese and Western dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Hotels.com so you can book your Sand Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Sea Hotel Railay Beach
Sand Sea Krabi
Sand Sea Resort Railay Beach, Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing