We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safari On The ranch”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Miranda
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Caiman Ecological Refuge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2017

Friends and I spent four nights in the quaint Baiazinha lodge (12 double rooms). It was my second visit. We were greeted by Raisa our hostess cum safari guide.  She teamed up with Guarana, a local cowboy, guide/tracker and driver.  We felt more like guests than tourists. The lodge is self-contained with cooks, waiters and room maids, all very dedicated to our comfort.  Rooms and bathrooms are spacious but basic.  A reasonably speedy Internet connection compensated for the absence of mobile phone. The deck swimming pool offers relaxation after morning safari.  The lodge is located on a beautiful lake covered with water lily and home to capybaras, alligators and birds. Fazenda Caiman is a large ranch (55 000 he, plus a 9 000 he reservation area) which tends to some 33 000 heads of cattle. Thanks to Raisa and Guarana who expertly led our safaris, we spotted the main denizens of the Pantanal marshes and swamps: elusive jaguar and ocelot as well as peccary, giant anteater, Capuchin monkey, capybara, alligator, Pantanal fox etc.  The Pantanal is a bird watchers' paradise and we saw many Hyacinth Macaws, and all kinds of storks. Guarana entertained us with stories on "the life on the ranch".  We also went out with Oncasafari NGO to spot jaguar. We were invited to a local BBQ and a lasso contest.
It was a memorable experience.  However, I would suggest that, to maximize wildlife sighting, Caiman organizes, like in Africa, very early morning and late evening safaris when mammals are more easily spotted.  

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cariocaleblon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaimanLodge, Marketing and sales manager at Caiman Ecological Refuge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Dear guest,

We appreciate your precious comments.

We will consider your suggestions to maximize wildlife sighting.

We are very pleased with your satisfaction.

With our best regards. Sincerely,

Jullane Rosa
Marketing and sales manager
Caiman Ecological Refuge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

We were lucky enough to spend 4 nights here and had an amazing experience.
We stayed at Bainzinha which is very peaceful with a beautiful vista and relaxing pool deck.
The food is typical of the area. There was plenty off it and it was all a great standard. Be sure to ask for the speciality chocolate pudding. Only complaint was that it had 2 many calories!
We were looked after by Val who was a very knowledgeable guide who spoke great English. We saw a whole array of birds and animals, including a jaguar.
Can't recommend enough!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gerry6461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaimanLodge, Marketing and sales manager at Caiman Ecological Refuge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words.

Glad to know you enjoyed the chocolate pudding even having some many calories! haha

Your comments motivate us to continue offering the best experience possible!

We wish you all the best.

Kind regards,

Juliane Rosa
Caiman Ecological Refuge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017

I'm amazed that some people gave Caiman Ecological Lodge only three stars. The accommodations are spectacular. The food was the best we had in ten days in the Pantanal. We saw tons of birds, including many hyacinth macaws, as well as three jaguars, two ocelots, several giant anteaters, three kinds of deer, many armadillos, etc. etc. It was so wonderful that I found out who owns it and sent him a thank-you note. Also, the management is really devoted to saving and sustaining wildlife -- particularly the macaws and jaguars, on whose behalf they're engaged in serious conservation efforts. This was the third of three eco-lodges we stayed in in the Pantanal. The others were terrific, but this was above and beyond.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dennisfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaimanLodge, Marketing and Sales manager at Caiman Ecological Refuge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Dear guest,

We thank you very much for your comments.

It is very gratifying to receive such satisfactory feedback.

Thank you for choosing Caiman Lodge.

Best wishes,

Juliane Rosa
Marketing and Sales Manager
Caiman Ecological Refuge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016

Spent 5 nights in the Baiazinha Lodge in October, reserved through Brazil Nature Tours. It was still dry season and didn't see a mosquito during the stay. Came back to the room after Day 1 tour to find a bat flying around; picked it up with a towel and released it outdoors. Lodge was very comfortable, food was excellent. I told them in advance about a food allergy and at every meal there was an entree made especially for me--service I would never have expected in such a remote location. Guides are young biologists, each paired with a driver expert at spotting wildlife. Two tours per day, one leaving at 7am and the other at 5pm. When we saw few animals on one 5pm tour, the guide took us out again after dinner. Reserved for 5 days to increase the chance of seeing a jaguar. Wound up seeing jaguars on both Day 1 and Day 2--so the remainder of the tour was a bit anticlimactic. Had visited the southern Pantanal 10 years ago--saw more wildlife this trip. 10 years ago trip included piranha fishing, holding a caiman by the tail, holding an armadillo and horseback riding. CER has a strict no messing with animals policy (an appropriate policy) and no longer offers horseback tours due to accidents that have occurred. All of the tours for 5 days were in safari vehicles of various shapes and sizes. Interspersing a boat tour and a hike would have been a welcome addition. Added a half day tour with Onçafari Project during the stay (you are meant to reserve in advance). Very interesting to learn how the project works. Recommend using sunblock for a daytime Onçafari tour, vehicle was without cover and easy to burn. In addition to jaguars, we saw ocelots, anteaters, a tapir, agouti, coatis, capybara, white lipped peccaries and many, many birds. If you bring binoculars, choose small and portable. Inexpensive new digital cameras come with 40x zoom, allow for great pictures of animals at a distance. Internet only worked from the dining;central room of the lodge, would have been nice in the room. Overall, a wonderful experience I would recommend to everyone

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Travleeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaimanLodge, Marketing and Sales Manager at Caiman Ecological Refuge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your comments. This encourage us to keep offering our services always looking for improvements.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for choosing Caiman Lodge for your visit to the Pantanal.

We wish you all the best. Sincerely,

Juliane Rosa
Marketing and Sales Manager
Caiman Ecological Refuge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile

Flocks of Egrets flew in across the lagoon at sunset to a huge tree, decorating it like snow as we sipped drinks on the viewing platform. The capybaras hunted fish and in the far distance occasional deer showed from the viewing tower behind the lodge. A jaguar walked past our car on the night drive and we watched it swimming and hunting caimans. We paddled canoes past the caimans in a huge lake. We walked past groups of storks, photoed kingfishers and macaws as monkeys played in the trees and toucans flew over. Bring your binoculars and leave your 9-5 stress behind. The rooms are comfortable and clean, the food was varied and good considering there were only 4 guests. The guides George and Rafael were knowledgable, keen and skilled at spotting rare bird species. A four hour drive along some bumpy roads from the airport might put off some. The focus of the 150000 acre cattle farming ranch has been projects on the jaguar and hyacinth macaw, and also conservation of the whole ecosystem. This wetland destination will appeal to those who love birds, nature and conservation.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank asclepios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miranda
City Center
Hotel Querencia
Hotel Querencia
#1 of 1 in Miranda
12 reviews
Fazenda Baia Grande
#5 of 24 in Miranda
99 reviews
Pantanal Ranch Meia Lua
#4 of 24 in Miranda
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pousada Aguape
#1 of 20 in Aquidauana
156 reviews
Hotel Aguas Do Pantanal
#2 of 3 in Miranda
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caiman Ecological Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caiman Ecological Refuge

Address: Estancia Caiman S/N | Zona Rural – Miranda, Miranda, State of Mato Grosso do Sul 79380-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Mato Grosso do Sul > Miranda
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Miranda
Price Range: $1,753 - $2,883 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Caiman Ecological Refuge 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Caiman Ecological Refuge Hotel Campo Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing