We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
77
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
77
3
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2015 via mobile

We spent two nights here and couldn't have chosen a more perfect place. David and Sandra are wonderful hosts and make you feel at home straight away. The accommodation is of a very high standard and is faultless. The gardens are beautiful and a wonderful place to sit and soak up the tranquility and beauty of the surroundings. The breakfast is superb, a perfect start to the day. We can't recommend High Dalby House highly enough.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lpritchard7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra W, Owner at High Dalby House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2015

A great review - thank you. We are glad you find our standards at the level we hope you would find. Our gardens are looking great at the moment - and it will not be long before the folks in New England should come and see the Autumn colours that can be found here!
Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2015

My partner and I spent 2 nights here , just a little treat to ourselves. This was our first visit and really couldn't fault it in any way from the minute we arrived. After being shown to our room we were given a complimentary glass of cava and cake on the terrace. The gardens are beautiful and lovely to have a stroll around. The room and bathroom were spotlessly clean and very well equipped, with complimentary toiletries and hostess tray. The bath robes and slippers were appreciated as the bathroom was separate , but this did not cause any problems , a lovely luxury bathroom , nice bubbly soak and at last relaxed . David and Sandra were the perfect hosts .. I would recommend to anyone ..

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marisa_shaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra W, Owner at High Dalby House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2015

Thanks for your kind remarks and great review. As you have said it is very relaxing here - I only wish I had time to do it!
Hope to see you both again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2015

Stayed for just 1 night, lovely helpful welcome from David, enjoyed the cakes and tea in the conservatory, thank you for booking a table for dinner at The Fox and Rabbit.
Our room (Rievaulx) was beautiful with king size bed, great views over garden and lake and a private luxury bathroom about 1 metre away. The breakfast was excellent, very tasty and the warm croissants were perfect. David & Sandra are excellent hosts, who provide thoughtful extra touches, which stand out from many establishments.
Highly recommend to anyone, such a beautiful house in a great location.

Room Tip: some rooms ensuite, some have private bathrooms, all amazing
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra W, Owner at High Dalby House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2015

Thanks for your fantastic review and helping to spread our message!
Delighted you enjoyed your stay and I hope it will not be long before we are welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2015

Stayed here with my partner for 2 nights in June 2015. We were upgraded to the cottage which was beautiful and very comfortable. Greeted with bucks fizz and cake by David which was a lovely added touch. Cottage was beautifully decorated, clean and had all necessary amenities. Breakfasts were great with a superb selection of food to enjoy. Owners were very helpful in suggesting activities for us to enjoy whilst in the local area. Overall, very very impressed- would highly recommend! Will stay again- Thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra W, Owner at High Dalby House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2015

Thanks for your wonderful review. We usually only let our cottages for self catering but sometimes let them to give our guests that extra bit of room and privacy and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay.
We hope it will not be long before we see you up here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2015 via mobile

Visited this weekend for a well earned break from it all and to just relax and unwind without the kids and the dog. Ideal place to do so. Very warm welcome given from the moment we pulled up, room was fantastic and the attention to detail across the whole hotel was fantastic. A real credit to David and Sandra the owners and brilliant hosts.

We will most certainly visit again. A thoroughly enjoyable weekend. Added bonus being the peace and quiet of no mobile reception!!

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra W, Owner at High Dalby House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2015

Delighted you enjoyed your stay and found everything to your liking. The lack of a mobile signal in the forest is seen to be a relief by most of our guests.... but of course, we do have the internet and a payphone for those desperate to contact the outside world.
Thanks for your kind words and we hope to see you again soon..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews