We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 110
USD 106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Camino Real Tikal(Santa Elena)
USD 145
USD 102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Quinta Maya(Santa Elena)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Del Patio(Santa Elena)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Maximos Petit Hotel(Santa Elena)
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Nakum Hotel(Santa Elena)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Tayasal(Santa Elena)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (298)
Filter reviews
298 results
Traveller rating
193
64
21
11
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
193
64
21
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshowler monkeyslake viewfrancis ford coppolarainforest casitatwo nightsturtle inncoppola winesmayan ruinssign a waiverflores airportlake petencoppola resortsdining areadirt roadspecial thanksvisit tikalshell phone
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 298 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

My family of 4 stayed here for two days with arranged tours at Yaxha and Tikal. The prices I was quoted through the hotel for tours were significantly higher than the tour provider we selected, so I can't speak to tours arranged through the hotel. Either way Tikal is not to be missed and we really enjoyed the sunset at Yaxha.

As far as accommodations go, we have lived in Guatemala for almost three years and traveled extensively through the country, and this hotel was our best experience so far. The location is difficult to get to, but frankly that is par for the course in Guatemala - there is normally either traffic to contend with on good roads in urban areas or bad roads to contend with in more rural areas. We arrived in the nighttime from Yaxha without issue - I have read recent reviews that say the road was recently paved, which certainly may be the case as we didn't feel it was too rough of a ride. Compared to the roads accessing Yaxha and Tikal, it was a cake walk.

The rooms and views really cannot be beat - I think even the pictures on the website can't do it justice. The rooms were outstandingly appointed (we had a lakeview suite, required for 4 people) with very comfortable beds, plenty of extra seating inside, spacious bathrooms, and a beautiful terrace with two hammocks overlooking the lake. A/C and fans kept us comfortable, and there is a basic minibar with drinks included if you need. You should be ready to climb a significant number of stairs to get to and from your room to the restaurant and the pool, but we just found it to be good exercise and part of the price you pay for such fantastic views.

Lake Peten Itza itself is a hidden gem - we had never heard of it in three years living in Guatemala. It is odd to see a lake that is so large and undeveloped anywhere in the world - literally there is just wilderness and hills on the far side of the lake from where the hotel sits. We took a canoe trip the second day and ran into one boat fishing and one boat that was trailing an inner tube with some kids on it, but otherwise the lake was ours. There were guests from the hotel at the pier enjoying the water in tubes, on paddle boards, and some just swimming - I hadn't checked water quality and we were content to swim in the hotel pool anyway. The hotel pool is small but perfect for the size of the place - even our kids who are used to much larger pools remained entertained for the relatively short amount of time we were there.

Really the only complaint we had was that the food was so so. We've gotten used to this in Guatemala but at a hotel such as this you would hope that the cuisine could be improved. It focuses on local fare, which is not bad but tends to be bland, and when it offers more "continental" (read "American") options they just kind of miss the mark. I had the lomito steak one night and it was as tough of a steak as I have ever had in a restaurant. The chicken sandwich I got for lunch had French's mustard (or the equivalent). The french toast the kids ordered was made with cream cheese and what looked like Wonder bread - everyone that tasted it wondered why why why would you mess with regular, eggy french toast?

Lastly, I'll just mention that while this is more a hotel for adults if you are staying for more than a few days, we felt there was plenty to keep everyone entertained for our stay. There is a "family room" above the restaurant with games and puzzles and books for the kids. The pool and the options on the lake provide plenty of opportunity to cool off in the water, and just lounging on the terrace was fantastically refreshing. From talking to other guests, most people do local tours, so the hotel can be pretty quiet if you stay for the day - we had the pool to ourselves mostly on the one day we had off, and the hotel was at max capacity. But of course if you are there and you don't do the tours, you are missing out....so plan the tours and come back to this great oasis to relax when you are done. It's worth both the cost and the travel time, and frankly I'm not sure there are many better options in all of Guatemala, much less in the department of Peten.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joshua M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony P, General Manager at La Lancha Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018

Dear Joshua, thank you for your review on La Lancha and for your recommendations on the food. I will definitely look into this.

On the other hand, thank you for pointing out that La Lancha is truly a special place that stands out among many hotels in the entire Guatemala and Peten region.

We look forward to a future visit.

All the best,

Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

We just spent 3 nights on a family trip to the Peten staying at La Lancha. The hotel is one of those amazing gems you get to experience when traveling off the beaten track. The resort is small and all the staff knew us by our names. Rooms are beautiful, filled with local furnishings and art. The views from the room verandas and the hotel dining area over Lake Peten are breathtaking. And it was a real treat to jump off the dock and take a swim in the crystal clear waters of the lake. The food at the restaurant was delicious, with a nice continental breakfast and dinner highlighted by fresh grilled fish from the lake (not to mention your choice of Coppola vineyard wines). The hotel also offers a great range of excursions to places like Tikal and Yaxha ruins as well as to ziplining and sky bridge walks at the private Ixpanjahul Park. This is a truly wonderful place to escape for a few days (no TV but that makes it even better). And the photos posted are true. Paradise.

Room Tip: The Lakeview suites offer a bedroom, 1 1/2 baths and a living room that includes a sitting area and a queen size bed. Great for a family.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DW123418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony P, General Manager at La Lancha Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018

Great review!!! Thank you.

Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

My wife and I just returned from a week long trip to Guatemala. From the very moment you first drive up to La Lancha you know you're someplace special. The property is both visually stunning and immaculate and our lake view suite was superb. The staff's attentiveness and service was the best we experienced amongst the three hotels we had the opportunity to stay in during our trip. The food was excellent as well.

The road to La Lancha was being resurfaced during our stay. Our tikal tour guide (Carlos Vivar -- maybe the best tour guide we've ever had anywhere period) mentioned that the new surface cut the drive time down from a ~1 hour to perhaps ~10-15 minutes.

With the new discoveries at Tikal and Guatemala's general tourism upswing, I'll be curious to see how the area develops. Hopefully the mesmerizing views, sense of isolation and overall charm of La Lancha is able to be preserved. We very much enjoyed Lake Petén Itzá and found it to be far more relaxing that Lake Atitlán (although it's hard to top Lake Atitlán's sense of adventure!)

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony P, General Manager at La Lancha Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018

Thank you very much Alex for an assume review. I'd love to send you updates in the years to come about the future of the area around Tikal due to its popularity.
We will continue to keep La Lancha as is as best as possible as peacefulness and stunning views of property is what keeps us as a special destination.

Look forward to a future visit.

Best,

Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

Out of the three places we stayed in Guatemala (all very well reviewed), La Lancha was by far our favorite! It had local decorative touches and was so well integrated into the hilly landscape, but had all modern amenities (a/c, fan, hair dryer, mini bar and mini fridge, accepts credit cards, even a funicular (little tram) to help you get back up from the lake as it is so steep!) and so many thoughtful touches (they have sunscreen at the pool, yoga mats everywhere, local corn flour cookies in your room that were magically refilled every time you got back to your room). The best part is the SERVICE -- they have a lot of staff for a small lodge so you are well-serviced, and everyone was incredibly friendly and knew who we were -- even proactively came up to us to discuss our departure arrangements. Also, after checking that it was available, they let us stay in our room for several hours after the official check-out time as we didn't need to leave for the airport till late afternoon! Also, our room was tidied up and the bed made every time we came back in, even if we just dipped out for 30 mins for breakfast -- truly exceptional attention and service! The only downsides are that it is a little remote (from the nearest town it's about a 20-30 min further drive around the lake, and the last stretch is unpaved) and that the restaurant ($20-29 for dinner entrees) and the transportation to/from the airport were a little on the pricy side ($60 + 12% tax), but still in the range of reasonable for this level of hotel (in other words, if you are able to afford the hotel, you are also able to pay the incidentals prices). Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Wenli C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

Excellent accommodations, great service and tranquil jungle setting on the shore of Lake Pete Itza'. The food was great, the staff very professional and the accommodations were splendid. Tikal is about a 45 minute drive. Thank you very much "Santos" for the Ginger Tea :).

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews