We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property and laudable effort by the owners”

Butterfly Conservatory Of Goa
Ranked #7 of 23 things to do in Ponda
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A conservation project by an ordinary couple attracts a lot of visitors inspired by their efforts to transform a barren hillslope into a forest. The Butterfly is used only as a catalyst . Breeding butterflies need endemic plants , clean air and humus rich soil . Caterpillars attract lot of insect predators hence the cycle is complete. Visitors get to see the free flying butterflies only between September to December , but are more attracted to this place to interact with wildlife artist Yashodan , see his paintings , his unique rooftop garden house with rainwater tanks and the many tiny surprises that the conservatory has to offer.
Reviewed 6 June 2017 via mobile

Went there yesterday while driving into Goa from Dharwad. Bit tricky to find the place in spite of using google maps but was assisted by the owner promptly. It is a man made cultivation on the slope of small hill with exotic plants to attract butterflies. It is not enclosed space but delicately created to attract the butterflies. Probably was not the right time to visit in this season but still was definitely worth the time spent. A mini rainforest with streams and pools (where one can get fish pedicure done) gives a feeling of walking in a rainforest and has a hint of mystery to it . Vijay was our guide who walked us around the property informing about the butterflies and plants which were seen, did a good job. Also on display is a rooftop garden maintained by the owners nearby which is also worth a look. Altogether worth a visit even if you don't encounter too many butterflies. Great efforts by owners for creating this wonderful garden instead of putting a villa there. One can spend about an hour there in tranquility. Best time is during winters when the flowering season is at its peak.

Thank Sunil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2017

The conservatory is good for nature lovers. It has many species of butterflies alongwith a few birds and rabbits. The place, which was a barren piece of land, has been developed into a lush green habitat for butterflies by the owner over a period of 6 years, which is commendable. you need to carry the best of your lenses if you are interested in photography. Over all it is a good place to spend about an hour.
The only cons I see is the distance from Goa city centre (Panjim). It is approximately 30 Kms from Panjim which takes approximately an hours' drive.

2  Thank Vipul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2017 via mobile

Having read reviews we decided to visit. We didn't manage to visit in the morning. Our fault. This is the best time to see the butterflies. It's a very beautiful place set into the hillside. You do need to be able to walk up hill to access it. Really knowledgeable and pleasant gentleman showed us around. He was honest right from the outset that at 3pm we were unlikely to see many butterflies.
We really enjoyed our visit and for the fee of 100 ruppes was good value. He took us onto the grass roof. It was amazing. Such a clever idea.my friend said, afterwards. They should offer special visits to sit on the balcony and experience the dawn chorus for an extra charge.

Thank Beverley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017

Visited with just one other group at the location and hence made the trip worthwhile. A couple with some helping hands have transformed a patch of forest into a conservatory with a few birds , fishes and butterflies.
Guide gave us good informative tour around the short trail into the conservatory. Only gripe I had was that i could not see a lot of butterflies. Though saw some gold fishes and had a fish foot massage.
Good activity if you like to be in touch with nature.

Thank Bhargav_Kapadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2016

Went with high expectations but were completely disappointed after travelling 2 hrs from Calangute. its a small private garden where you see 3 varieties of butterfly. for that they charge you 100 INR per person. Can completely be avoided.

2  Thank Srinivas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heblekars, Owner at Butterfly Conservatory Of Goa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2016

While "not enough butterflies" is a common complaint , we are surprised this time because currently every morning we have atleast 20 to 25 species of butterflies being spotted. People with patience ( and cameras ) have clicked even upto 47 species in the time zone of 9 am to 12 noon. Unless you have come in late in the afternoon towards closing times and have breezed in and out of the park in 15 minutes.
We do not how your expectations were raised so high , since we have constantly stressed on the fact that this is a conservation effort with butterflies just a starting point. People come to see the unique garden -on- roof house & the rainwater harvesting experiment. How that water gets utilised to create a patch with endemic plants that attract birds and butterflies , the conserved 74 hectares of forest beyond it . They come to see the wildlife art paintings and interact with us.
Had you read all the reviews , especially the poorly rated ones which echo your sentiments exactly and our responses to them , you might have not had such raised expectations and spared yourself a trip of 2 hours.
Butterflies follow their own schedules of feeding and breeding . No amount of our efforts or intentions can change that . If you wish that they be available for your amusement as per your convenience , please visit a zoo instead .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Butterfly Conservatory Of Goa also viewed

Ponda, North Goa District
 
Ponda, North Goa District
 

Been to Butterfly Conservatory Of Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing