We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Les Patis - lovely base in a beautiful region of...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Les Chenes

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Vimoutiers, Orne, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jan D
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Les Patis - lovely base in a beautiful region of Normandy”
Reviewed 20 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Our holiday at Les Patis in gite Les Bambus with our adult daughter and her partner in mid-July was both relaxing and historic. Our property was spacious with a lovely large main sitting, dining, kitchen room where we all came together each evening to eat. Having both a bathroom and an ensuite was perfect. Eating breakfast whilst watching the lake for the jumping fish, heron and kingfishers was idyllic. The facilities kept us all entertained - tennis, ping-pong, rowing and cycling but the hot tub was the main draw for the twentysomethings! A beautiful pool area framed by the extensive garden and pressoir was our favourite spot. We ventured into the local area and were surprised by the WWII history literally on the doorstep. The amazing location of the museum in Mont Ormel meant we could all empathise with the terrible realities and consequences of the battle in the Falaise Pocket. We journeyed further afield to Bayeux which took a little longer than we had anticipated but it is a stunning town and the tapestry is a must. This was followed by a visit to Arromanches to appreciate the scale and ingenuity of the Mulberry harbours. Vimoutiers itself is a compact town with excellent boulangerie and supermarkets. However, a big thank you to Tony and Pat for being such relaxed and welcoming hosts. Having only taken over Les Patis relatively recently, they are working wonders - no hidden 'extras' and Jess the dog is just gorgeous. Hope to be back again,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful location
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela M
Ross - on - Wye
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The ideal venue for those appreciating peace and quiet in beautiful surroundings.”
Reviewed 29 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

I stayed here with my daughter, her partner and their 2 year old. Whilst toddlers require supervision because of different levels in the property it was just perfect for what we required. Everything is designed to be as natural and traditional as possible. Piping hot water on demand, comfortable beds, plenty of space and a genuinely relaxed atmosphere.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Not having enough hanging space or hook on the bedroom and bathroom door!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gonkie
Hertford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing long weekend”
Reviewed 17 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We (4 adults) drove over for three nights from England, and could not have been happier with our choice of accommodation. Debs and her team ( thanks again to Nick for all his fabulous recommendations!) did absolutely everything to make our trip enjoyable. The house, situated on the lake, was spacious and comfortable. Sitting out on the balcony in the evening, eating cheese and drinking wine while watching the wild life, was an amazing end to each day. The town is a 20 min walk away, with everything you could need (try the squid from the fish shop - best we've ever eaten!). The pool at the property is huge and perfectly located for all day sunshine. We also managed a trip to Honfleur which was only an hours drive away. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MauriceSw...
Wigan
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Delighted as return visitors”
Reviewed 26 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

This was our second visit to Les Patis and we have stayed in two different properties. We are very regular travellers to France. One has to understand at the outset that the setting is rural and in the countryside and, strangely, mice may exist here (obviously not in the Huntingdonshire countryside) and the grass may grow - but this is rural, gite-style, France, not the manicured gardens and bedding plants of the home counties (see previous review).
We had a great time - again. Les Bambous is spacious and well-equipped, the welcome is warm and friendly. Any reasonable request is provided for. Excellent local walking and cheese, cider and Calvados - what more could one want - oh, beer was OK too. The village of Camembert within walking distance and Livarot a short drive - put the cheese in the roof-box on the way home, it is particularly pungent but unparalleled taste.
We played golf at Pont l'Eveque (St Julien), Clecy and Houlgate - all excellent -and drank Calvados at Pere Magloire. Superb local restaurant at Le Camembertiere where the chef and his daughter entertained us with singing and squeeze-box, guitar and accordian late into the evening. Local village of Vimoutiers supplies every need.
So, from busy lives, take a chill-pill, a book and a glass - tolerate the field mouse, tickle the trout, smell the wildflowers, and, after dinner, with a glass and a slice of Livarot, have conversation (and leave your TV/DVD and MP4 at home - see previous review, where they belong), and listen to the wise owl - he knows a good place when he sees one.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting.
Liked least: The staircase - so I destroyed it.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen9027
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“It may have been nice once, but it isn't now!”
Reviewed 13 February 2013 for a stay in September 2012
6
people found this review helpful

We stayed for a fortnight last September and were very disappointed by the property itself and the gardens.
The location of the four properties is very pleasant but the gardens are very unkempt and overgrown and the fishing lake needs the banks cleared. Cutting the grass and the bushes back would have made a difference.
The communal indoor areas were damp smelling and did have considerable amounts of mouse droppings. The pressoir is a fantastic thing but I didn't like the grubby appearance of the sofas or the smell, so wouldn't have felt comfortable using them. I also would not use the utility room because of the mouse droppings.
We were disappointed that clean sheets were not provided unless we paid extra, luckily we had two bedrooms so moved to the second bedroom for our second week.
The very worst thing was the cold and the damp smell that you notice as you open the front door of Les Bambous and go inside. The property is spacious but the extra charge for heating was, we felt, extortionate. We borrowed two paraffin heaters from the owner which took the chill off the property but made it smell even worse.The windows were dirty inside and out and the heaters caused condensation. I would not think that these heaters would be appropriate for use with children.
We took our own radio, ipod and TV/DVD as there isn't anything in the property.
The owner offered us a different property for the second week of our stay but we refused as we knew that the oven door was broken in the other property and we would still have had to buy firewood.
I appreciate the owner had a broken ankle at the time of our stay, but the grounds were so unkempt and overgrown, this hadn't happened in a few weeks. The bamboo needed attention as did the Japanese water garden.and you could barely get near the river it was so overgrown.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Fishing lake
Liked least: The fact that everything came with an extra charge- heating, clean sheets, wifi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing