We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blind Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
A Rover's Rest Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Blind Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 September 2015

A well hidden gem slightly off the main road but easy to find. We loved the atmosphere of a true home away from home with all the amenities plus some we didn’t expect. Our suite was the “heart of the Home” complete with a heart shaped hot tub and a private entry. The suite was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The attention to detail by owner is outstanding and couldn’t have been more accommodating. Kimberly, the owner/ manager made absolutely sure we had every need looked after. Breakfasts were a delight, well thought out and expertly prepared.
The home has the main floor dedicated to guests and accessible any time to most suites. TV, movies, coffee, tea snacks, it’s all there including a large deck and an outdoor hot tub. The yard and garden are like a storybook.
In summary, this is a professionally managed, highly acclaimed B&B that is a cut above most and is an unforgettable experience. Well worth the money…….
Will recommend this one to friends and family.

Room Tip: Try the "Heart of the Home" room.....romantic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARRBB, Owner at A Rover's Rest Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

Wow Keith - where is this hidden gem :) How fortunate you got to stay in the "Heart of the Home" suite with the big red heart shaped tub. Your comments of the experience you received and the property you enjoyed make us very happy. This is why we do this and why we strive to ensure every guest takes home memories of their trip in the Shuswap.
We look forward to seeing you back again with friends and family. Kimberly and David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2015

My wife and I stayed for 4 days at Rover's Rest B&B during the Salmon Arm Roots & Blues music festival. The rustic Blind Bay location offers a serene setting close to the lakeside (~ 1km) with easy access to a variety of activities year round. Anyone thinking of opening a B&B should make a point of staying at Rover's for tips on how to deliver a high quality accommodation & hospitality experience. Kimberley and David have a penchant for detail for both the big and the little things (like a flashlight for each of us to navigate to the bathroom). The breakfasts are always different and exceptional utilizing local ingredients. The food is truly special and is served at the appointed time. We really appreciated this because the other guests dined with us and we had some great conversations with them. Our unit (To The Point) was very private and quiet with direct outside access. The bed was wonderful with lots of extra linen and towels. A rack of brochures got us up to speed quickly. There is a large common room inside and hot tub outside. Rover's is surrounded by natural forested area but also features an internal landscaped area which creates a very pleasant setting. We enjoyed the music festival immensely and would come again for next year. We would definitely check first to see if Rover's has a room!

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARRBB, Owner at A Rover's Rest Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2016

Wow !! Thanks Blaine - you really struck a chord with your comments. We love to hear about guests experiences as we strive to meet everyone's needs. We look forward to hosting you for the next Roots and Blues festival. Kimberly and David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2015

We recently stayed at A Rover's Rest in the To The Point Suite, after discovering the B&B on the web. The property is absolutely stunning and Kimberley and David, our hosts, couldn't have been any more helpful. We will definitely be repeat customers, the next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARRBB, Owner at A Rover's Rest Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2016

Thanks Brenda. We enjoy chatting with guests and sharing things to do in our part of the Shuswap. See you next time, David and Kimberly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2015

I stayed at The Rover's Rest after a car accident on the way to a camping trip in Blind Bay. Despite my physical symptoms and the unfortunate circumstances, staying at The Rover's Rest was a joy and I feel fortunate to have found it. The property is beautiful with a relaxing deck and a hot tub. My room had a private garden which was quiet and relaxing. My bed was really comfortable and the room had absolutely everything I needed, down to the last detail. Kim and David have really thought of everything to make your stay comfortable. Additionally, Kim and David are the most gracious and welcoming hosts. I highly, highly recommend this property for anyone looking for a safe, comfortable, relaxing place to stay near Blind Bay.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheryljm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARRBB, Owner at A Rover's Rest Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2016

Thank you cheryljim for your kind comments. We are pleased you enjoyed recuperating on our property and relaxing in the hot tub. Hope things are better for you now and we look forward to your return trip. David and Kimberly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2014

WE stayed at the Bed And Breakfast while visiting the Salmon Run in Adams River. Can`t say enough about the experience. Different award winning breakfast every morning Kimberly went above and beyond to provide a winning experience. The surrounding were beautiful and the room was awesome, fireplace and all. Loved it and will return when in the area again. Thanks for a great time.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank August44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARRBB, Owner at A Rover's Rest Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2016

AAHHH !! the Salmon Run - an amazing experience. We enjoyed serving you our fabulous breakfasts and we look forward to your return when the salmon are back to the spawning grounds. We appreciate your comments. Kimberly and David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to A Rover's Rest Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Rover's Rest Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2660 Balmoral Rd | Shuswap Lake, Blind Bay, British Columbia V0E 1H1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Blind Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Blind Bay
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Rover’s Rest Bed & Breakfast is “A Romantic Hideaway at Shuswap Lake”. Our secluded Blind Bay log home is located on Shuswap Lake, near Sorrento & Salmon Arm, British Columbia. Halfway between Calgary, Alberta & Vancouver, BC, only 2 km North off the Trans-Canada Highway on Balmoral Road in Blind Bay, South Shuswap area, in the North Okanagan region. About five and half hours drive from Seattle, WA. Major Credit Cards are accepted. We are a proud member of the British Columbia Bed & Breakfast Innkeepers Guild and we are the only B&B inspected and approved, in the South Shuswap. A Rover's Rest Bed & Breakfast offers 3 suites all with private entry, ensuite bath, hairdryer, robes & slippers, in suite heat & A/C control, Satellite TV with DVD, and free high speed Wi-Fi. There are numerous additional amenities in each suite and throughout the property. The Heart of the Home suite is our honeymoon suite with king bed, a loveseat in front of a seasonal fireplace, red heart shaped jetted tub, and private dining area make it great for those moments when you want to share romantic time with your partner. This suite also has deck access that can be used to sneak out to the outdoor hot tub for private time. The To the Point suite with a queen bed, and a semi-private garden area with seating for your enjoyment. You always feel free to come and go as you like. The From the Brush suite provides a queen bed and a twin bed, great for three guests; offering a couch, dinette, and kitchenette. This suite is great for extended stays. The secluded outdoor hot tub is a great place to relax & enjoy a glass of wine from one of our local wineries. As well, there is a large deck with a swing and furniture for those moments when you want to just enjoy the sun with a good book. The Beverage Centre is where you will find hot and cold drinks. Dishes, cutlery, guest refrigerator, microwave, and almost everything you need for use with our BBQ. The Sunroom is where you will be served our full hot breakfast, different each day. Come dine with the hummingbirds and the deer! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing